Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Writer
As with all her Mary Russel Books I was unable to put it down. So I ordered other in the series
Published 3 months ago by Cy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
There are a lot of homages to Sherlock Holmes, but King's books are particularly enjoyable and have been well received. 'O Jerusalem', though, lets the series down. To start with, Holmes and Russell are in the Holy Land on some mysterious mission. They don't know what it is: they are at the command of two mysterious Arabs and they follow them in growing confusion, as does...
Published 4 months ago by Tom Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Writer, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
As with all her Mary Russel Books I was unable to put it down. So I ordered other in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
I have read the first 5 in the Sherlock Holmes series and thought this one the best after the 1st one. Captures the spirit of the first book better than some of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 April 2014
By 
There are a lot of homages to Sherlock Holmes, but King's books are particularly enjoyable and have been well received. 'O Jerusalem', though, lets the series down. To start with, Holmes and Russell are in the Holy Land on some mysterious mission. They don't know what it is: they are at the command of two mysterious Arabs and they follow them in growing confusion, as does the reader. It should be King's chance to show off her knowledge of Palestine just after the Great War, but the descriptions are confused and confusing. When King describes places I've visited, I don't recognise them. Her geography is often vague and sometimes plain wrong. And the details let her down. The woman sitting over the coals of her hearth. Coal? In Palestine? The sound of the feathers as an owl passes overhead: owls which, as any ornithologist will tell you, have evolved a special arrangement of feathers so their prey can't hear them coming.

When we finally get to the real story, the action takes off and we are carried through the implausibilities in fine style, but it's too late. And this is a very modern Holmes: the sleuthing is mere showing off, the villain is unmasked by pantomime heroics and a reasonably high body count.

Not to be recommended, I'm afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar 2014
By 
K. J. Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
I have quite a few of Laurie R Kings books now and am encouraging my youngest daughter who loves detective stories and Holmes in particular to read. Informative as well as entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
A present for my sister and she loves the whole series of Laurie King books. Another 6 or so to go so will be buying more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning can be fun!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
It's fun to read a fiction book which is masquerading as a biographical novel. There's always a part of you that thinks it could be real and there's a lot of background information which tells you about the period and the location. The characters are vividly painted as are the settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extra info on the trip to Palestine, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Lynne M Burke (Northwood, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the Beekeepers Apprentice Mary and Sherlock spend time in Palestine. Here are the people they met and the adventure they had. Really interesting insight into life there in the 20s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock again, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Another really enjoyable work from Laurie R King. Please keep writing them! Her backgrounds are so well researched and the plots enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes)
O Jerusalem (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) by Laurie R. King (Paperback - 25 Jun 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews