Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hanging Wood
The Hanging Wood is Martin Edwards's 5th Lake District Mystery. I've enjoyed all of them and this is no exception. Historian Daniel Kind is carrying out research at St Herbert's Residential Library where Orla Payne works. She is obsessed by the disappearance of her brother Callum, twenty years earlier when he was a teenager and she was a child of seven. When her uncle...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by Margaret Freeman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a pot boiler
I was disappointed by this book. I have enjoyed the others in the series. Daniel and Hannah are two strong characters with lots more potential and the plots have been engaging. With this book I felt that the author had been asked to play up the attraction between Daniel and Hannah at the expense of the plot which was, quite frankly, both farfetched and derivative. The...
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by Mrs. K. A. P. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hanging Wood, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Margaret Freeman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Hanging Wood is Martin Edwards's 5th Lake District Mystery. I've enjoyed all of them and this is no exception. Historian Daniel Kind is carrying out research at St Herbert's Residential Library where Orla Payne works. She is obsessed by the disappearance of her brother Callum, twenty years earlier when he was a teenager and she was a child of seven. When her uncle was found dead in Hanging Wood, the police assumed he had committed suicide after killing Callum, even though his body was never found. Daniel encourages Orla to speak to DCI Hannah Scarlet, who heads the Cold Case Review Team at Cumbria Constabulary about her brother's disappearance. However, a drunken Orla fails to convince Hannah to reopen the case and it is only after Orla's death that the police decide to review Callum's disappearance. As Hannah tries to discover what happened to Callum, she begins to think their deaths are connected and were not accidental or suicide.

I really enjoyed this book, with its interesting characters and atmospheric Lake District setting. The Hanging Wood itself with its towering wych elms, rowan, ash and oak trees, and old paths obscured by grass, heather and brambles is not a pleasant place.

The case is intriguing and cleverly constructed. I thought I'd worked it out and I did, but only after several red herrings threw me off track for a while. I like the mix of cold and new cases, the sense of history and the characterisation - a most satisfying read.

I also like the sub-plot of Hannah and Daniel's relationship. Both of them are now living on their own, but Marc is still trying to patch things up with Hannah and Hannah is just not sure. I think for this strand of the novels it really does help to read the books in sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a pot boiler, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed by this book. I have enjoyed the others in the series. Daniel and Hannah are two strong characters with lots more potential and the plots have been engaging. With this book I felt that the author had been asked to play up the attraction between Daniel and Hannah at the expense of the plot which was, quite frankly, both farfetched and derivative. The only excitement came with the "will they/won't they" scenario acting as a sort of bait to keep us hanging in there. The books were strong enough without this device and this one would have been much better with a credible plot peopled by credible characters, letting Daniel and Hannah develop at their own pace.

Having got that gripe out of the way, it's an OK read on a wet day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Edwards, The Hanging Wood, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press (a free NetGalley review copy).

The fifth Lake District Mystery, featuring DI Hannah Scarlett and historian Daniel Kind - to be published soon in the UK.
"I must talk to Hannah Scarlett, it's a matter of life and death." This is how it all begins when Orla Payne calls the Cold Case Review Team of Cumbria Constabulary. Unfortunately she is so drunk that detective constable Linz Waller gives up understanding what she wants.
When Orla was a little girl, her teenage brother Callum went missing, and as his uncle committed suicide soon after, the police saw his death as an admission of guilt and closed the case. Orla never believed her Uncle Philip could hurt her brother, and even if he did, the body must be somewhere so she still wants closure of some kind. After her vain effort to get in touch with Hannah Scarlett, she goes to her father's farm and commits suicide in a corn silo, however, a drastic action which indicates she may have received new information about her brother.
Central to the setting is St Herbert's Residential Library where Daniel Kind is struggling to finish his latest book before deadline while all the beautiful women around him seem intent on taking his time. The library is also the place where Orla Payne worked, and so does the mysterious Aslan Sheik. Is the young man an idealist, or is there another reason why he chooses voluntary work among old books?
Followers of the series will know that Daniel has been single since Miranda left him, and now Hannah is also on her own as Marc moved out of their house a couple of months ago. Marc tries to make it up to her, but Hannah is not sure what she wants.
As usual, Martin Edwards offers a well-written story, an interesting setting and a fine cold-case mystery that captures your attention from the first chapter. And what happens between Hannah and Daniel - well, you'll have to read the book to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get better, 27 Aug 2011
I awaited the publication of Martin Edwards latest Lake District Mystery with patience and anticipation! Would I be able to (for once) solve the mystery before the final page? Would Hannah and Daniel "get together"? Indeed would I enjoy it as much as the previous four novels in the series? NO,READ THE BOOK, and YES.
If you are not familiar with the main characters in the series it really doesn't matter as the author manages to inform new readers of their backstory without detracting from the pace and plot of the latest mystery.
The Hanging Wood is a wood where Orla Payne's uncle killed himself after his nephew went missing.No body is found and everyone assumes that his uncle killed him. Orla has never believed that her uncle killed her brother, grief and the inability to get anyone to believe her have gradualy left Orla a bitter drunken adult who returns to her childhood village determined to find the truth.No one believes her not even Hannah and the cold case team.Where can Orla turn? What can she do?!! The dramatic fisrt chapter sets the tone and pace for the rest of the book (and answers these questions!)
I am not going to elaborate on the plot, but if you choose to read The Hanging Wood you will be treated to a story involving family rivalry, jealousy, and murder,where events from the past catch up with characters resulting in a truely gripping atmospheric mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Local Knowledge!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am enjoying this whole series, partly because I love the genre, and partly because I know some of the areas in the Lake District which are referred to. Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a good read, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Martin Edwards is a solicitor so that's something to hold against him. But he writes decent fiction about an area of the country that I love so that makes his books a bit of a "must read" as far as I am concerned. If you like the Lake District then I think he's done a really good job of capturing the "feel" of the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A BIG READ, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hanging Wood, The (Lake District Mystery) (Lake District Mysteries) (Paperback)
Very good story. It does take quite a bit of time to really get into the story, but once their they are good to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really love the series based in the lake district, the characters are so real and you get involved in them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SERIES, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Lori "Lori" (Campbeltown, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all Martin Edwards' books. The Lake District is a fine location and the characters are well-drawn and believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hanging Wood, The (Lake District Mystery) (Lake District Mysteries)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews