Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating characters, and wonderful descriptions.
Residing in the grandeur of Hollywell Manor in the village of Cranham is home for house-sitter Thea Osborne and her spanial Hepzibah for the next two weeks. Her tasks are not arduous, all the owner, Harriet Young, asks is that Thea keep a watchful on her geckoes, housed in the cellar. Oh! and to welcome seventy-year-old Donny Davis who lives in the former lodge for a...
Published on 3 July 2011 by Lizzie Hayes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid unless you like nosy, stupid, rude characters
This is the first book in this series I have read, and I will definitely not be reading more.

This is centred around the Cotswolds and the main, (and nearly only character), Thea. As such these two things need to be well written to make this book enjoyable. They aren't!
The Cotswolds are not described enough to give them life and character, so are just...
Published 10 months ago by J. Vance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid unless you like nosy, stupid, rude characters, 22 Jun 2013
By 
J. Vance "J. Vance" (G>B>) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) (Paperback)
This is the first book in this series I have read, and I will definitely not be reading more.

This is centred around the Cotswolds and the main, (and nearly only character), Thea. As such these two things need to be well written to make this book enjoyable. They aren't!
The Cotswolds are not described enough to give them life and character, so are just boring bits that are better skipped over - also they are not part of the plot, but random scenes encountered on random, unrelated walks Thea takes.
Thea is extremely unlike-able, and while a 'nasty character' can be enjoyable, Thea is not even nasty enough to be fun.
She is described as - so intelligent even the police come to her for help - yet a more silly, stupid person would be hard to imagine. She simply blunders along insulting everyone she comes into contact with, then apologising and being rude again. She judges people the second she meets them and presumes to tell others, including members of that persons family, that she knows then better and is more able to know what suits or not.
She 'house sits' and rummages in people's personal effects, using new items that she should not even have been looking at.
At first I thought from her behaviour she was about 19 or 20, and it took me half the book to discover this horrible person is a woman with a fully mature, grown up daughter.
The plot, such as it is, is the basic - man dies, who did it? Nothing more, and no points of interest. Even the solution leaves you wondering about just where it came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & Boring, 27 May 2011
I have read all the books in this series and this one by far is the most
disappointing.The plot such as it is seems to take a back seat to Thea
blundering about being rude and aggresive to almost everyone she meets.
The series seems to have lost focus especially since Thea's lover D.S.
Phil Hollis has been written out,the possible future relationship being
mooted with Drew Slocombe is rather distasteful considering his family
circumstances.It also doesn't seem in character for Thea to want to get
into this kind of affair given that she spends most of this book passing
judgement on the moral frailties of all the people she comes into contact
with.The plot is thin,more to do with assisted suicide than murder and
the denouement is both banal and rushed.It is just not up to the standard
of the earlier books it seems that the author has just run out of steam
with this protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating characters, and wonderful descriptions., 3 July 2011
Residing in the grandeur of Hollywell Manor in the village of Cranham is home for house-sitter Thea Osborne and her spanial Hepzibah for the next two weeks. Her tasks are not arduous, all the owner, Harriet Young, asks is that Thea keep a watchful on her geckoes, housed in the cellar. Oh! and to welcome seventy-year-old Donny Davis who lives in the former lodge for a daily cup of coffee and a chat. For once June looks to be dry and sunny, and Thea is all set for an enjoyable time.

When next day Donny walks up from the lodge for his coffee, she is delighted to find that he is an interesting man, clearly not well, but a good conversationalist and Thea, as she readily admits, is a nosy parker. Donny tells her that he is looked after by his daughter Jemima, who comes in daily. He has a lady friend Edwina Satterthwaite, but she is away visiting relatives at the moment. Donny's wife Janet, she learns is in a nursing home, visited only, she later learns, by his late daughter Cecilia's husband Toby, which she finds a little strange.

But as in all classic English villages unexpected death lurks, and Cranham is no exception. Unfortunately, Thea's reputation for being involved in murderous incidents has spread, and soon she in drawn into the darker side of Cranham.

The strength of this book lies in the fascinating characters, and the wonderful descriptions of the Cotswold countryside as Thea takes Hepzie for her daily walks. As in 'A Grave in the Cotswolds', Undertaker Drew Slocombe makes an appearance, as he is still pursuing a possible burial ground in Broad Camden, but as he tells Thea, his partner Maggs is against it, and his wife Karen cannot handle any major decisions since her injury which has so changed her personality.

This is an interesting book dealing with the pros and cons of a topical dilemma, and whilst the mystery is resolved, the ending leaves this reader hungry for the next instalment in this acclaimed series.
-----
Lizzie Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Dec 2011
This is the first of this series of books that I have read. I'm afraid that I did not like the lead character, Thea, at all. I could not find anything engaging about her, apart from the fact that she seems to like animals. She is rude and crass blundering over the feelings of the other characters in the book. She is also amazingly thick skinned - she does not come across as at all likeable. Regardless of the story - if you can't find anything good about the lead character then the rest of the book also tends to lack appeal. Having said this I will probably read another in the series to see if I still feel the same but I won't be champing at the bit to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deception in the cotswolds, 16 May 2011
I've read all the previous books but this one is very disappointing. The writer seems to be obsessed with issues of assisted suicide and the story never really goes anywhere. There is rather a sudden ending and nothing gets resolved. Altogether a disappointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) (Paperback)
Had to be repaired to work,pipe ends creased and stuck stopping flow...40psi how ???.
However cheap at 13 when Express offer at 30 I will accept to use as a low pressure spray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a reflective, thoughtful novel, gentle and persuasive, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) (Paperback)
This is the first novel of Rebecca Tope's that I've read. As someone who loves the Cotswolds, and visit it regularly, I found the story and the Cotswolds descriptions very enjoyable, and thought the author knows this area extremely well. I was a little baffled by the main character's full-time occupation - house-sitter in gracious Cotswolds properties - and wish I'd known such an occupation exists because it seems highly desirable! I liked Thea but found some of the other characters unpleasant. I was surprised at the assertion that Thea likes Jemima; this didn't make sense to me, for Jemima's behaviour throughout the novel is consistently rude, aggressive and offensive. However the story and some of its other characters gave me extra insights into the kind of people who may live in gracious properties in the Cotswolds!

I was intrigued by the way the author developed her theme of issues around the dying process and assisted suicide. I have researched the subject of natural burial grounds in the past, as well as our society's attitude to death and the dying process, and felt that Rebecca Tope's deliberations upon this subject, through Thea, were very sensitive and astute.

All in all, a reflective, thoughtful novel, gentle and persuasive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars My first Rebecca Tope novel - and my last, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) (Paperback)
Dull, dull, dull. I'd just finished reading a novel by the excellent American crime writer James Lee Burke and was looking for another crime novel to read on a long trip. This is possibly the worst book I've read in a long while. The characters are tiresome and the plot is monotonous and boring because of lack of variety and development. A humdrum, trivial and unexciting read - I'm going back to James Lee Burke post-haste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rebecca Tope's books - great, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Catherine Scanlon "ces" (milton keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) (Paperback)
Just to say how much I've been enjoying romping through Rebecca's books. A good enjoyable story/ read; also I notice female protagonists and discussion of topical, somewhat radical issues, such as the inclusion of an alternative burial service.
thanks, Rebecca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really love these books by Rebecca Tope. Easy reading, good who do it, without being gruesome. Good lead character. Very enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47e1f0c)

This product

Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09)
Deception in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mysteries 09) by Rebecca Tope (Paperback - 26 Mar 2012)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews