Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent adventure
This book rounds off the story started in "The Language of Bees". I was glad I'd bought them both together, since I suspect I would have been very frustrated had I bought just the first, since it is very much a two-part story.

This book shows Russell and Holmes coming back together after being separated at the end of "The Language of Bees". There are, of...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Jessica Hale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in buzz
I waited for ten months for this to become available in paperback - to match nicely with my edition of "The Language of Bees", the first Mary Russell I read. In the intervening time I had read my way through all the other Mary Russel novels, with increasing delight. But a disappointment awaited me. This book is a necessary read for anyone who has read "The Language of...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by Mrs. S. Thorne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent adventure, 31 July 2011
This review is from: God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) (Paperback)
This book rounds off the story started in "The Language of Bees". I was glad I'd bought them both together, since I suspect I would have been very frustrated had I bought just the first, since it is very much a two-part story.

This book shows Russell and Holmes coming back together after being separated at the end of "The Language of Bees". There are, of course, airplane crashes, murder attempts, disguises, hidden messages and chases through the back streets of London first! I enjoyed spending more time with characters introduced in the first book - the pilot Javitz, Damien, and the charmingly precocious (maybe too much so?) Estrella. A new character is Robert Goodman - I found parts of his story a little thin, like he could have had his own book, but he was an enjoyable character to spend time with.

The one part of this book I didn't enjoy so much was the ending - it felt a little rushed, and since the Baddie from the first book is dispatched without much fanfare without another confrontation with our heroes, I would have liked a more well-rounded, satisfying, ending to this book. However, I can't say that it didn't tidy up most of the loose ends and laid a few tantalising clues for future plots without making me feel it was just setting up for another sequel. That is to say, this book concludes the story from "The Language of Bees", and sits well as a book in a series without feeling that the story is being left abruptly.

That being said, I do hope that the next book in the series allows us to spend some more time with Holmes and Russell together - I don't always feel that they're working in tandem in their partnership, let alone as a married couple. I want domesticity. Just a little bit, before the next mystery comes along!

A must-buy for any fans of the Mary Russell series, although I couldn't recommend this novel as a starting point for a new reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Green Man is here, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) (Paperback)
The God of the Hive follows on directly from events in The Language of Bees and is the 10th book to feature Mary Russell. Mary and Sherlock are separated again and on the run. At first assessment you think of Reichenbach, and there are certainly deliberate similarities but the suspense gets left behind too often. Laurie R. King chooses instead to tell a more character driven story, examining Russell's new relationship with the recently discovered granddaughter of Sherlock Holmes. It's easy to forget that the whole business began as a search for the girl's missing mother. King has covered similar ground to this in her Kate Martinelli detective series.
The die hard Sherlockian in me can't read the start of a chapter beginning with the words 'Chief Inspector Lestrade' without at least a slight twitch of my arm muscles (perhaps to punch the air) even if this Lestrade is a younger chip off the original block. A lengthy interlude in the wild woods of northern England takes up a large section of the book, including the introduction of a new character called Goodman. A man with a tortured history of war damaged psychosis, King fancies as an embodiment of the English folklore legend of The Green Man and a similar revisit to another of King's character experiments - see the Martinelli book To Play the Fool. It's this particular Holy Fool who is partly responsible for a funeral so bizarre it might not have looked out of place on an episode of The Prisoner.
The writing is as good as ever but with the plot, thin though it is, sidelined so often the experience isn't quite as compelling as usual. When the plot does finally emerge from the London fog with so few pages remaining I was beginning to think we were going to end as the last book ended with another 'TO BE CONTINUED'. Thankfully that doesn't happen and we are treated belatedly to a proper Reichenbach style finale in the shadow of Big Ben.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb entertainment, 5 July 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all this series are so much fun with sufficient nods at the conan doyle ethos and characters to make it credible and enjoyable ... she is the greatest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) (Paperback)
Another mysterious journey through the fictional (or real?) lives of Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russel. Lots of facts about life in that era and wonderfully portrayed characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Bond 007, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Lynne M Burke (Northwood, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The conclusion to The Language if Bees. This story reminded me of the James Bond books. It's fast moving and full of twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, another fantastic Russell and Holmes tale. Couldn't put it down.. ready for the next tale in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God of the Hive, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) (Paperback)
I've loved every one of these books, well written, clearly based not just on thorough research but by a love of the original subject matter. The idea behind these novels is innovative, could so easily have gone wrong but it never does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yummy, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this series of books i adore sherlock holmes in all of his recreations but this character is appealing and i like the fact that he is married and has a relationship. can't wait for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A continuation of "The Language of Bees," the ninth volume in the series, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Philip K. Jones (St. Clair Shores, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) (Paperback)
This is the tenth volume in the author's "Mary Russell" series. It is actually a continuation of the ninth novel in the series, "The language of Bees." Separating the two is quite difficult as `God...' takes up immediately where `Language...' leaves off and expands on the same events that began in the earlier publication.

In this novel, the adversary, whose thoughts and comments began appearing in `Language...', becomes distinct and reveals his aims. The British Government is in peril as hidden treasure and unlimited power tempt another Faust to his damnation. Mycroft is the immediate target of a schemer who has spent years perfecting his approach and preparing his tools. All that stands between him and access to undreamed of power are Sherlock and Mary and a few tag-ends of war refuse and `odds and sods.'

Mary pursues her task of preserving her husband's grandchild while fleeing the villain of the prior volume and stumbling into the villain of this volume. The distinction between the two only becomes apparent over time as she and Sherlock pursue their own agendas until Mycroft's funeral. Both, of course, are still wanted for unspecified crimes by Scotland Yard and are thrown onto their own resources as they rush back to London.

As is true for most of Laurie King's novels, the story is the journey and not the destination. The characters are lovingly drawn and polished until they shine. The reader never knows when one character will suddenly assume major proportions and another will fade away as if into a dream. The bright presence of Sherlock's granddaughter illuminates the dark days of this book as Mary encounters archetypes of British history. The Evil Wizard gives way to the Green Man and he, in turn, is replaced by the epitome of modern man, the organization.

The ending is inevitable, but not satisfying. At best, the future is delayed, but the mechanization of humanity that will manifest itself as Hitler's war machine lies just beyond sight. The halcyon days of respite from war and upheaval continue for a while, but dark armies gather in the wings and the mechanized forces of evil are testing their workings.

Reviewed by: Philip K. Jones, November, 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intelligent crime, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as any of the earlier Mary Russell books, which is saying a lot - they're all enjoyable reading for intelligent adults - which does not mean sexy. Interesting, intriguing - lots of 'in' words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10)
God of the Hive, The (Mary Russell Mystery 10) by Laurie R. King (Paperback - 6 Jun 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews