Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any avid fan of this period in history
Could not put down the book once I began reading -- just looked on amazon and found it is part 1 of a trilogy -- need to read the other two parts ...the ending is a decent cliffhanger!
Published 7 months ago by Jo Varma

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better fiction books about this period out there
One of the lesser books available on that period in Roman history. Characters hardly believable, quite a few facts questionable. Have read a couple of books by Ludlow set in post-war Britain (Frederick Troy series) which are a goodly cut above this.
The Pillars of Rome compares poorly with his other work. There are better fiction books about this period out there,...
Published 1 month ago by Carlo Kergenmayer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any avid fan of this period in history, 29 April 2014
By 
Jo Varma (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pillars of Rome (Republic) (Paperback)
Could not put down the book once I began reading -- just looked on amazon and found it is part 1 of a trilogy -- need to read the other two parts ...the ending is a decent cliffhanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There are better fiction books about this period out there, 14 Nov 2014
One of the lesser books available on that period in Roman history. Characters hardly believable, quite a few facts questionable. Have read a couple of books by Ludlow set in post-war Britain (Frederick Troy series) which are a goodly cut above this.
The Pillars of Rome compares poorly with his other work. There are better fiction books about this period out there, such as Steven Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa or Lindsey Davies' Didius Falco series, both whodunnits with a very solid historical background and great fun to read besides.
Am going to avoid the rest of Ludlow's Rome books... but certainly not his other work! Hence the 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thepillarsofrome jack ludlow, 3 May 2011
This review is from: The Pillars of Rome (Republic) (Paperback)
could not put it down when only half way through i order the second book in series so i would not have to wait to finish the story so its all go to finish i will be looking for more from this writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All as described and delivered promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Pillars of Rome, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of Roman politics drags on a bit I have not finished it yet
I may give it up and call it a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pillars of Rome (Republic)
The Pillars of Rome (Republic) by Jack Ludlow (Paperback - 1 Nov 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews