Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good novel full of medieval sleuthing!
I really enjoyed the third book in Hildegard series by Cassandra Clark, if you haven't read the first two which are both excellent as well, then I thoroughly recommend reading them, especially before buying this one because you could become a little lost, as the author has nicely developed many long term plot lines and recurring characters throughout this series...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Clio

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting about medieval life, but a bit passionless
Cassandra Clark has created an interesting and very worthwhile character in Cistercian nun-sleuth, Hildegard of Meaux. In The Law of Angels she set Hildegard's sleuthing against the evocative backdrop of the ancient York's Passion Plays in the hot summer of 1385. With such a good set up and lots of loose ends to tie it should be a belter of a book, but unfortunately...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Rusmat Ahmed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good novel full of medieval sleuthing!, 15 Jun 2011
By 
I really enjoyed the third book in Hildegard series by Cassandra Clark, if you haven't read the first two which are both excellent as well, then I thoroughly recommend reading them, especially before buying this one because you could become a little lost, as the author has nicely developed many long term plot lines and recurring characters throughout this series.

In the Law of Angels, Hildegard become embroiled in several different mysteries after accepting a bonded maid into her little retreat from the violence and unrest of late fourteenth century England (described in pervious books). This results in the attack and destruction of her home by knights intent on revenge, prompting Hildegard and her companions to travel to York seeking answers and as the seemingly peaceful but turbulent city prepares for the celebrations of Corpus Christe, the danger towards Hildegard and her charges grows stronger. The mysteries which first glance seem to have nothing to do with one another intertwine slowly throughout the hot sticky summer of 1384 which eventually resulting in a satisfying conclusion whilst setting the scene nicely for book No.4.

Devoured in one sitting and now I can't wait for the fourth book, whenever it comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant evocation of a lost age!, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this latest instalment in the Abbess of Meaux series, in which the redoubtable Hildegard finds herself mixed up with all kinds of sinister shenanigans in the great medieval city of York during the festival of Corpus Christi. Things get pretty serious, and there are moments when you fear for the the heroine's life, but, resourceful as ever, she comes through triumphant, though still secretly love-lorn, at the end. If you know York, still a medieval walled city to this day, the book is tremendously evocative, but even if you don't, it brilliantly brings to life this rich and complex place at the height of its medieval splendour. I would recommend the book to lovers of historical and crime fiction alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tangled Web, 4 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
The author has chosen a great setting - York during the festival of Corpus Christi, when the guilds perform their mystery plays - and a time of political upheaval when Richard II (a weak king) has lost popularity and credibility, and John of Gaunt is ruthlessly plotting to placve his own son on the throne. The characters are caught up in the backwash of these political events. Hildegard, the heroine, is tangled in a web of deceit, and the reader is at various stages, led to distrust almost all the characters in the story. This makes for a fast moving story full of suspense and episodes of violent action. Once the scene was set in the first few chapters I could hardly put the book down.

This is first class story-telling. Yes, there are a few improbable bits, but hell, Ian Fleming could be criticised for that too, in his James Bond books.

Roll on volume 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the history and an action packed story, 27 Dec 2011
By 
K. Smith "bookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
This installment in the series seemed to take ages to come out so I'm very glad number 4 will arrive in only a few months. I really enjoyed this book, I found the historical details fascinating - how every day people lived, how hard it could be and the vast gulf between rich and poor, strong and weak - and a very stong story line as well with lots of action. In my opinion, the story line in this one was much stronger than the second book (though I enjoyed that as well).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good novel, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
I haven't finished this yet, but I'm enjoying this third edition so far. I would never have begun reading this if it were not for the purchase of the fourth at Barrow in Furness Abbey - which if I had know it was the fourth, I might not have brought it. However the author sets you in the scene of the uncertain times with a wealth of description and ability to capture the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars law of angels, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must for anyone who likes historical crimes.a great read.one that keeps you reading well into the night when you should really think about going to sleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Familiarity, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
I ordered this after being introduced to C Clarke via Hangman Blind. This initially appeared like a continuum. Familiarity undoubtedly heightened my attraction as school / teenage years were spent in the historic city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting about medieval life, but a bit passionless, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Rusmat Ahmed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
Cassandra Clark has created an interesting and very worthwhile character in Cistercian nun-sleuth, Hildegard of Meaux. In The Law of Angels she set Hildegard's sleuthing against the evocative backdrop of the ancient York's Passion Plays in the hot summer of 1385. With such a good set up and lots of loose ends to tie it should be a belter of a book, but unfortunately isn't.

For me the vital missing ingredient was Hildegard having convincing passion and emotion. The novel starts with a deliberately-set violent and shocking fire that set back a year of hard toil by Hildegard and fellow nuns. Hildegard and her flock immediately set off for safety in York. Being strong for those dependent on her is one thing, but the way such an act is mentally overcome (by hardly being mentioned) is very unconvincing and dissatisfying. Other violent scenes, such a coastal battle in North Yorkshire, are almost as equally quickly overcome by the unshakeable heroine.

You don't have to write a lot of words to get insight into people's psyche (viz. Hemingway/Andy McNab), but it would make Hildegard a true to life character, and make the characterisation merit the strong plot. Bernard Cornwell mixes character, plot and history devastatingly well, and remains the 5-star historical fiction author. If Clark can incorporate authentic emotions, her plots can challenge the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Behalf Of Peter Hyde, 18 April 2012
This review is from: The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery (Paperback)
The book maintains the high standard set in previous novels by this author. Clearly it shows how much research the author has undertaken. And excellent read, commended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery
The Law of Angels: An Abbess of Meaux Mystery by Cassandra Clark (Paperback - 26 Sep 2011)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews