Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someone else on the Mayle Trail
It seems as though there are ten-times as many books about people moving to France as there are French départements but Ruth Silvestre's is a cut above the many which peddle nothing but barely amusing stories about builders and the lasting effects of too much French hospitality. There's a warmth in this book, a genuine affection for her neighbours and their odd...
Published on 18 April 2003

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book full of sunshine
I read this book approx ten years ago and was struck by the triumph over adversity. For people contemplating buying in France I would suggest that this is a good book for possible enlightment.
Published on 6 May 2003 by L. J. Hardy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someone else on the Mayle Trail, 18 April 2003
By A Customer
It seems as though there are ten-times as many books about people moving to France as there are French départements but Ruth Silvestre's is a cut above the many which peddle nothing but barely amusing stories about builders and the lasting effects of too much French hospitality. There's a warmth in this book, a genuine affection for her neighbours and their odd ways, and a real sense of the history of the place. It may have been written about events which took place thirty years ago but the hidden treasures of France barely change and I look forward to reading the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you will want to read again, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the paperback version of this book many years ago and was so pleased to see it brought to kindle that I had to buy it and read it again. Second time around it didn't disappoint and I have read many similar books (some good, some not so) since my first read of A House in the Sunflowers.

This is the first book in The Sunflower Trilogy and tells the story of Ruth and her family finding Bel-Air de Grèzelongue in the Lot-et-Garonne and despite it being unloved and uninhabited for ten years, to them it was the perfect house in France. Their story is very different to many similar memoirs, mainly because they bought their holiday home in the 1970's. A time when there was no local expat network offering help and advice, just them and their French neighbours and the special friendship that grew over the years.

Ruth writes with fondness about the way their neighbours at the working farm down the lane did their best to welcome the strange newcomers and became good friends, including them in family celebrations, local events and inviting them to help with the harvests, all of which helped integrate them into the community. There was lots of work to do on the house, so their time spent on holidays in France was busy and sometimes stressful, but they were always happy to be back in their new French community.

Ruth generously shares their many new experiences and insights into the French culture in an engaging way. I read this book shortly after our move to France and I can't tell you how comforting it was to read it during our `settling in years'. I have read many move to France memoirs, before and after moving, but these three books by Ruth will always be very special to me. See also A Harvest of Sunflowers (The Sunflowers Trilogy) and Reflections of Sunflowers (The Sunflowers Trilogy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House in the Sunflowers (The Trilogy-Ruth Silvestre), 6 Nov 2010
By 
B. F. Orme "Adventurer" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HOUSE IN THE SUNFLOWERS (Sunflower Trilogy) (Paperback)
I bought the first book in the Trilogy based mainly on the 5* reviews. As soon as I was a few pages into it, I ordered the other two.

I asked myself initially how it would be possible for a person, specifically Ruth, to write three books based on every day happenings and to hold the attention of the reader.

She did and she did it superbly.

So many of the wonderful and unexpected experiences we have enjoyed in the four years we have lived here, and are continuing to enjoy, are so similar. Nothing sentimental about these books as some critics imply, they are based on fact and are real. Just wish that there was a 4th book in the offing. For those who genuinely want to feel happy and settled in La Belle France, these books provide the 'how to'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A house in the Sunflowers., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant story of setting up home in the heart of France. I cant wait to read the other books. You are transported into the the French countryside and partake of the meals shared with their farmer neighbours. Tales of the various harvests. Grape, potato and plum which the family took part in made me wish to be there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully easy read, 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is actually a sequel and continues the story of Ruth and her family's ownership of a second home in Lot-et-Garonne. The book covers a number of summers, with their gradual updating of the house, building a swimming pool, and many friends who visit. It's very easy read and leaves you with a positive attitude about aspects of French life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book full of sunshine, 6 May 2003
I read this book approx ten years ago and was struck by the triumph over adversity. For people contemplating buying in France I would suggest that this is a good book for possible enlightment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read but over too soon!, 15 April 2014
By 
D. A. Strachan (leicestershire G B) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a non French speaker I could not understand much of the French writing. I would have enjoyed it better if there had been translation included. Or maybe I just need to learn French!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A House in the Sunflowers, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable to read about the headaches of re-constructing a 'new' home in a foreign country. As I do not speak any French, it is at times rather annoying to have French thrown in - it seems to stint the flow of the story.

I would like to read the follow-up but not at the price offered. Maybe when it is on a special. I will certainly keep it in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rose tinted spectacles?!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Caz Of Cornwall (Launceston Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gastronomic account of life en France, almost too perfect in fact, but a pleasant read and escapism from the British winter of 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for all those who love the French way of life., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book because it showed how much more enjoyable life in France is if you become part of the community. A home in France is lovely but being able to speak to neighbours makes it a much better experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HOUSE IN THE SUNFLOWERS (Sunflower Trilogy)
HOUSE IN THE SUNFLOWERS (Sunflower Trilogy) by Ruth Silvestre (Paperback - 12 July 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews