Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Killing
This is my second Rebecca Tope novel and the best so far.Thea and her faithful hound go housesitting in the Cotswolds, not only looking after the property but a number of assorted animals too.The book has a wide range of characters and looks at Thea's relationships with them and the countryside.Its a tale of a shocking death,strained relationships,on & off Love and add to...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Hobo

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars murder mystery
I have read all the Cotswold mysteries so far featuring Thea Osbourne. I think I have to admit defeat now, the last one, Blood in the Cotswolds was a disappointment showing Thea's moody and unsympathetic side and this book is not much better. What has gone wrong with her relationship with Phil? I really don't care at all for anyone who bases their relationship on whether...
Published on 26 July 2010 by ruralbuyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Killing, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Hobo (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) (Paperback)
This is my second Rebecca Tope novel and the best so far.Thea and her faithful hound go housesitting in the Cotswolds, not only looking after the property but a number of assorted animals too.The book has a wide range of characters and looks at Thea's relationships with them and the countryside.Its a tale of a shocking death,strained relationships,on & off Love and add to that suspects thrown into the maelstrom of Thea's life, make for an absorbing crime thriller.I had it down to a couple of suspects and then if the author didn't go and throw a spanner in the works with a surprising ending.If you like crime novels with twists and turns then I can recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars murder mystery, 26 July 2010
By 
ruralbuyer (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) (Paperback)
I have read all the Cotswold mysteries so far featuring Thea Osbourne. I think I have to admit defeat now, the last one, Blood in the Cotswolds was a disappointment showing Thea's moody and unsympathetic side and this book is not much better. What has gone wrong with her relationship with Phil? I really don't care at all for anyone who bases their relationship on whether or not they are able to perform in the bedroom! How shallow of her and totally selfish, the man has slipped a disc for goodness sake and been in great pain! No, I really don't like her very much any more and probably will not be buying any more in the series, such a shame, but I will stick to the other Cotswold murder mystery series that I enjoy with a much more likeable and often humurous lady as the main character. Shame really, the Thea stories are good in themesleves, it's just Thea that I find it difficult to get on with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best, 30 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) (Paperback)
I didn't like this as much as the others in the series. The murder seemed to take second place to the emotional lives of the characters. (Not always a bad thing but didn't seem to work here) Some of the dialogue especially between Thea and her boyfriend seemed awkward and clunky.Thea has become more introspective and it doesn't make for cheery reading. Maybe just a blip along the way? Hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great mystery, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A darker theme than before, a twist and turn that took me completely to the wrong conclusion. A mixture of relationships and emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) (Paperback)
Very well written and up to Rebecca Topes usual standard. It always leaves you wondering " who done it" right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, 4 Mar 2014
By 
L. A. Aston (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) (Paperback)
I enjoy this series of books, but l really dislike the main character Thea, never before has there been such a selfish, self absorbed, feckless idiot, in spite of this l do enjoy the plot lines and generally the supporting cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok again, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
same, safe formula, not too challenging or frightening, but quite relaxing and comfortable. Follows the usual pattern, not much variation so couldn't read many of them consecutively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thea & Hepzie stories are reliably good fun and this is no different. Good story and great writing. Definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rebecca Tope novels, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Same as for the above. Very easy reading and her descriptions of the places are very good. Have downloaded more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoying this series, no swearing, or unnecessary violence - a good story just try her books I am sure you will want to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6)
Slaughter in the Cotswolds (Cotswold Mystery 6) by Rebecca Tope (Paperback - 22 Feb 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews