Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed, 9 July 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carpe Corpus is the 6th book in the Morganville Vampires series, and after what (I felt) was a slightly slow and lackluster 5th book, this is a return to form. We finally get a whole lot of answers and discover a lot about how the town or Morganville works, including the portals Claire learnt to use.

Carpe Corpus is set a few months after Lord Of Misrule (book 5) and Morganville is much the way it was left. Half destroyed by a tornado and the vampires under Bishop's rule, humans in the town are more scared and careful than ever. And as always, those behind the university walls are clueless, but at risk all the same. Claire is living with her parents again, trying to find a way to get Shane out of jail, while having to do Bishops bidding against her will.

I really enjoyed this book, and struggled to put it down. It moved along quickly with a lot of twists and turns, plenty of action and some good character development. Life has changed in Morganville and is set for more change. The ending was a really good conclusion to just about everything that's happened so far in the series. Not everything ended the way it was supposed to for certain characters though, and I like that. You couldn't have predicted the final outcome. I look forward to reading the next book (Fade Out, due in November in the States, unknown in the UK as I write this) to see how life will continue for Claire and her friends now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously cool!, 24 Aug 2009
After the horrible incidents of Lord of Misrule, Claire is the new evil minion of bishop. Though she hates her life, she really can't do anything since bishop has bonded her to him through strong( though she doesn't like to accept it) magic.
Claire has turned 17 yet, life only seems to go from bad to worse for her. She has to do all the dirty work of Bishop, her parents health is a big concern for her, her boyfriend Shayne is locked away in one of bishop's cellar, Amelia is no where to be found and all the vampires including Michael are now bishop's since he is in charge and of course, Eve hates Claire because of her 'evilness'.
Sometimes being 17 and the strongest vampires minion is just so wonderful, isn't it?
However, Claire soon starts to know that there is a big plan on work here and Myrnin isn't so bad after all...
After some shocking and terrible events Amelia comes, Shayne is freed from behind the bars yet, things are far from good.
Everything is changing and there's a war going on, for humans and vampires alike. Everyone Claire loves is in danger. How can she help Amelia when her family is threatened yet, if she doesn't risk it all then everyone may as well be dead.
Bishop is very cunning and someone they know is betraying them. The only question is will they know who it is before everything ends or is it Claire herself? Someone will die, but will it be someone she loves or someone she hates...
Carpe Corpus was one the best books in this series, Rachel Caine builds the tension throughout the book and when at last it is released there are consequences then as well! New characters are introduced and there are new fears in the town. Even though at times it may seem a little bit dragging, Carpe Corpus is totally engrossing. I look forward to reading Fade out and it will be interesting to know what other surprises this series hides!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 30 July 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Claire and her friends are divided over the recent events in Morganville. Shane's locked up with his father. Michael's working for the evil Bishop along with Claire - while Eve is furious with both of them.

Claire needs to believe the Myrnin has a plan, but she's not sure she can actually trust him.

Bishop is running the town and pushing it close to ruin. He doesn't care about any of the citizens. Claire realizes that Amelie hasn't gone into the shadows and disappeared. Instead, she's been working to move the townspeople out of danger and away from Morganville.

With the whole town gearing up for a fight, who will be left standing and what alliances will be broken/formed?

THE MORGANVILLE VAMPIRES series is a fast-paced, addicting read that draws readers in and never lets them go, and CARPE CORPUS is a great addition to the line.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is It Just Me Or Does Shane Play Damsel a Lot?, 3 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
Probably the best book next to Feast of Fools, as it's the only two where there is some kind of beginning- middile - & end/enivitable chilfhanger-that-if-you-do-not-have-the-next-book-close-to-you--you-will-become-more-then-a-"little"-aggressive-towards-both-Rachel Caine& The Morganville Series!!But bar all that... I can say that suprisingly after six books i am not yet tired of the Shane and Clare relationship. And that Clare is becoming more and more likeable as the series progresses, thankfully. That Bishop is as 2D as the south park charactors, he still has an ominous vibe that thankfully exudes some form of threat during most of the book.
Charactors. Eve has been good in this book, but tends to get a bit uncharactoristic in some scene and that just annoys me. Michael is small and slightly important, but i just couldn't seem to care for some reason; "He Evil!!! No?.. he's not? Oh, well... that's good, right? okay...". Shane seem to always be in these damsel-esq situations that just annoy me more then anything, but somehow he wins me back one way or another - this time it was a whole "situation" with his father that i won't say because that would be cruel to anyone who hasn't read it, but, i had actually predicted that outcome for Shane's dad, and actually was extremely disappointed with the lack of his dad towards the end - like she was just going to leave that for book seven. Ugh.
All in all, it's a four star book, that is worth any Morganville fan, that will entertain in more ways then it will irritate thankfully. For just under 400 pages, it's does somehow manage to slack off in the middle though... i don't know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a page turner not just for teens, 24 May 2010
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
bought the 1st in the series and read in one evening! it then continued to buy the rest and read them within hours! i really enjoyed the whole series, very easy reading but even at my grand age of 25 (no longer a teen) i really enjoyed them, perfect for evening reading when my son has gone to bed! I was quite sad when i finished the last book as I now have to find some other books to read ...... this book suits from young teens as its so easy to read and is very descriptive. i felt like i was in the book! its modern but interesting! there are some fab characters and storylines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as exciting as ever!, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Jo (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
The extremely strong and powerful vampire Mr Bishop has taken complete control of Morganville. Claire is forced to do his bidding because of a magical tattoo he has put on her, Michael has been bitten by him and is now under his control, Shane is locked up in prison with his Dad, and Eve wants nothing to do with Claire. Amelie has gone into hiding, and Myrnin has sided with Bishop. Things are pretty much screwed for Claire.

That is until she finds out that Amelie is gathering those who are still loyal to her underground, and that Myrnin and Michael are playing spies. With a plan in the works, moves are made - but on both sides. Bishop is not going to hand over control of Morganville without a fight, and plans to destroy all those who are against him, human and vamp alike. There's a race against the clock with predicting and outmanoeuvring the opponent to be getting on with, and Claire's ready to get her hands dirty.

I love Rachel Caine, and I love this series. And you know what? I LOVE Carpe Corpus!

Compared to the other novels in the series, there is a lot more build up to the action and fighting at the beginning of the book, but that doesn't make this book any less amazing. It's like a game of chess, but with a whole lot of thinking and planning before acting done, and it's just awesome seeing all the characters we come to love (and hate, in Oliver's case) trying to work together to come up with a way to defeat what seems the undefeatable, when there is very little power left in their hands.

When the action does kick in, though, it's a classic Morganville adrenalin fest! I won't spoil it for you, but plans can always go haywire, and when it comes to having no time to think but just act, anything can go wrong. You'll seriously be reading with bated breath trying to work out what the outcome will be! It's as exciting as ever!

Our favourite characters are back! Michael, Shane, Claire and Eve are downtrodden, but their personalities still shine through; Michael is still charming, Shane is still acts before he thinks, Claire is still practical, and Eve is still sarcastic. They're all just a little desperate too. And there is a development with some of these characters. I won't spoil it, but will say, Rachel; good job!

The one issue I have with this book is that a certain plot line was resolved at the very end of the book, almost like an afterthought. I'm probably wrong, but it just read like it was added in during revisions; a bit of drama at the end added to make it personal to Claire, and a scene inserted further on in the book, so Claire we knew certain characters. It wasn't necessarily badly written, it's just seemed a little odd to read when the main story of the book came to its end, and then there was this extra bit at the end of the book. It's probably the link to the next book in the series, just not as cliff-hanger-y. It was just a little weird. I still loved the book though!

As a bonus, UK readers get an short story in their copy of the book from Shane's point of view, about him buying a car. Pretty nifty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpe Corpus, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
Amelie is nowhere to be seen and Bishop is now in charge, with Shane and his dad in prison, and Eve angry at both Claire and Michael, who are Bishop's slaves, it is up to Myrnin to save them and Morganville. This is the first book in the series to not start straight after the last; it starts a few months after. This book changes everything in this series especially Claire and Shane's relationship. I love the ending because even though it is not really a cliff-hanger it leaves you eager to find out what something is. I would recommend this series to people who like Twilight or Vampire Academy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpe Corpus, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Miss R. Sims - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
Below is a list of all of the books in order that are in the series so far

Glass House
The Dead Girls' Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out
Kiss of Death
Ghost Town

Let me just begin by saying that I am a huge fan of this series and If you haven't started reading it, do so right now. I read the complete thing (books 1-9) in less than a week. It was that addicting. Anyways, like the other books, Ghost Town was beautifully written and included all of the elements that I love about this series. There is tons of mystery, excitement, romance and humor.I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical going into book 9, I mean usually by this point, a series starts to go off the deep end. Honestly, how far can you take the same set of characters? And how exactly do you follow up a villian like Bishop? But somehow Caine managed to keep things going strong, by pulling out all the stops. Tell me what is more frightening than having everyone you know and love forget you? Claire is as feisty and determined as ever. She, once again, gets herself in an undesirable predicament. As a punishment, she is forced to fix the machine that wipes the memories of those who leave Morganville. Well, of course, something goes wrong and people (and vampires) start loosing their memories. Those who are infected are taken back mentally to three years ago. Let's just say that chaos ensues. Soon, Claire has no choice but to try and fix the machine and she is forced to make some unlikely alliances along the way. There is plenty of excitement within the book, just like you would come to expect from this series. There are also a number of twists throughout the plot, I don't want to give too much away, but they certainly keep you on your toes. All of your favorite characters are back and ready for action, Eve, Michael, Shane, Mrynin, Amelie and Oliver are all featured throughout the book. I think what makes this series so great is the relationships between the characters. Not only are there great romantic relationships, but there are also a number of awesome friendships. I love the fab four - Claire, Shane, Eve and Michael; I just think they mesh well together. They always have each others back and each one of them would put themselves on the line for the other three. The connection these characters have is really a focus in this book - especially when people start loosing their memories. Caine really does a beautiful job showing how they all sort of gravitate towards each other. All in all, Ghost Town was a great addition to the series. Everything that you love about this series continues in book 9, including the sarcasm, humor, excitement, danger, romance and superb storytelling. I'll say it again, if you haven't read this series yet, you really, really, need to. It is never to late to dive into a series, in fact I prefer it because you don't have to wait as long to see what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carpe Corpus, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Jess (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
In the small town of Morganville hides a secret kept from the rest of the world. The fact that vampires and humans live together. Claire Danvers is just one of these unfortunate people who came to the town and discovered the secret and now is suffering the consequences.
The story picks up a few months after the last book (Lord of Misrule) left off. Claire has moved out of The Glass House and is living back with her parents. Her best friend Eve no longer trust her as Claire is now doing the bidding of the new master in Morganville - The Bishop. Behind the scenes Amelie is frantically trying to get her best soldiers together to kick The Bishop out of her town.
I really enjoyed reading this book because it uncovered lots of Morganville's secrets. It's fast paced and very suspenseful. Rachel Caine again has added another fantastic book to her series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 12 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six (Paperback)
I love the Morganville vampire series, I read the first six books in about nine days, I couldn't put them down. I cant wait to read Fade out.

I really liked Carpe corpus being set months after Lord of misrule because in those months things haven't been the same, the relationships between the friends have been seriously tested.
I love the suspence in this book, because just when you think it's all ok again...something else happens.
The thing I like about Rachel Caine with these books is that unlike Stephanie Meyer with The Twilight Saga (which may i just point out i love) she's not afraid to mix things up by killing off key characters. But who??

Read it and find out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six
Carpe Corpus: The Morganville Vampires Book Six by Rachel Caine (Paperback - 12 Oct 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews