Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming romantic comedy
I see from the cover that one of Victoria Connelly's previous books has been filmed. I can easily imagine this one being snapped up by Hollywood. A witty, feel-good rom-com with a dizzy-but-delightful florist heroine who - refreshingly - cares more about her flowers and family than her footwear. The book takes the form of an extended road-trip, starting in the Lake...
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by Alba52

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A light read
A book with which to relax,an easy and uncomplicated read. It was an enjoyable reading experience , although somewhat bland.
Published 3 months ago by Margaret Anne Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming romantic comedy, 31 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Hardcover)
I see from the cover that one of Victoria Connelly's previous books has been filmed. I can easily imagine this one being snapped up by Hollywood. A witty, feel-good rom-com with a dizzy-but-delightful florist heroine who - refreshingly - cares more about her flowers and family than her footwear. The book takes the form of an extended road-trip, starting in the Lake District, during which Molly tries to give away the best part of her staggering lottery win. Why? Simply because she wants to share her good fortune and spread some happiness. On Molly's tail are her gruesome family (worthy of Roald Dahl) and a good-looking journalist (complete with unnervingly mature 10-year old daughter). Plot twists, laughs and romantic encounters come thick and fast, building up to a memorable dramatic climax in London - the "high spot" of the book.

A comedy that has more than a hint of fairy tale fantasy about it, but like all fairy tales, at its heart lies a battle between good and evil - in this case between generosity and greed. Connelly shows that "fun" doesn't have to mean "fluffy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Molly's Millions by Victoria Connelly, 29 Sep 2011
By 
jofromoz (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Paperback)
Molly's Millions

The delightful romp through the English countryside with Molly and her little dog was most enjoyable and a nice change from the usual chiclit on the bookshelves of today. Pure in innocence and fun, with a little bit of mystery and nail biting as Molly makes her way from county to county, doling out part of her 4.2million pound win on the lottery, to deserving and hard working people.
The young journalist in pursuit of a good story, with his little daughter in tow, is led a merry dance by our heroine and her dog, which ends with a huge finale in London. Her family is perplexed and anxious to catch her before all her winnings are given away. The reunion with her long lost mother is touching and sensitive and adds to the story of Molly's life and explains some of her little quirks.
A thoroughly enjoyable read, light and easy and full of laughs, I would recommend this to anyone who needs a spot of cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 15 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Paperback)
This book drew me in from the start. Loved following Molly around the country in her quest to offload her millions, whilst her scroogey family, and the ever persistent journalist,Tom, try to track her down. Could definitely see this being made into a film. Lots of laughs and romance, and incredibly well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Enjoyable Book, 27 Jun 2009
By 
D. Carr (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Paperback)
It's not only the cover of this book that makes you want to read this story, once you open it and start you'll be hooked and unable to put the book down.

When Molly Bailey wins 4.2 million in the lottery, she goes on a road trip with a difference accompanied only by her terrier pup, Fizz. Determined to evade being caught by Tom Mackenzie, a journalist intent on catching up with her in order to discover her motives behind her generousity, and her miserly family, desperate to stop her before she gives everything away, Molly has to use her wits if she is to stay one step ahead of them.

This book is fun, fast-paced and a perfect read, whether you're lying in the sun, or soaking in a bath. I loved every second of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good comedy, 17 July 2009
By 
S. Bruch "Shelbycat" (Llanelli) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Paperback)
This is a really quick feel-good read of a book. I enjoyed all of the characters, even though some were a little contrived. It might even be nice to catch up with them all in a few years time to see what they've all been up to. I have to say i did worry at the end that Molly had let the newspaper reports go to her head with the grand finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Kindle Edition)
A book I couldn't put down, a lovely storyline which kept good pace and interest throughout. An easy read, it has been filed under my 'chick lit' library, however there is a certain depth of feeling to the book which sweeps you along from beginning to end. I would recommend this for a cold winter night when you need a comfortable book to snuggle down with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cheer up read, 6 Jun 2009
By 
H. Zerfahs "heatherz27" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Paperback)
This is a great story to get into and end up feeling really good about the world - a wonderful change right now and you don't even have to be sat on the beach with a cocktail to feel a whole lot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant cheering read, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Kindle Edition)
Helen for [...]
I picked this up needing a little light relief after reading a more weighty tome and this was the perfect antidote!This story is chick lit at its best; a funny, romantic, well-paced ride through the English countryside with a bit of substance as well.
Molly Bailey is a lovely girl who has managed to stay lovely despite the un-loveliness of her family. She owns her own florist shop and has escaped the family home and all the scrimping, saving, penny pinching men who live there. Her brother Marty,(married to her friend Carolyn) is a chip off the old block however. Molly's mother, Cynthia, left when Molly was still a child and Molly still has many unanswered questions about what happened.

On a whim one day Molly buys a lottery ticket and Bingo(!) hits the jackpot coming away with 4.2 million. Despite Lottery advice to do nothing too quickly Molly knows that once the Bailey men discover the news about her win there will be no stopping them dividing it up and packing it off to the bank, never to be seen again. Molly wants none of this so she decides she is going to give it away, the only problem...to who?

So Molly begins her journey in her brilliant, bright yellow VW bug. She shuts up shop and leaves discovering good causes as she drives through England. She begins anonymously leaving donations with a calling card; a yellow sunshine daisy and having a wonderful time. She gets into some hilarious situations and meets fantastic people. But the fun really starts when those Bailey men find out what's happening and come after her. Molly is desperate to stay one step ahead and the ensuing chase around the country is fabulous.

In addition to all this Molly is also being chased by Tom, a journalist, and his 10 year old daughter Flora who is along for the ride. He is the reason her family discover she has the money and causes a fair bit of friction until Molly figures out how to use him to her advantage. He also provides the will they/won't they part of the story.

During all this there is depth too, Marty and Carolyn's rocky marriage is really put to the test, Marty learns some valuable life lessons about money (its too late for the older members of the family!!) and Molly does get to find out more about her mother and what happened long ago.

Verdict:The ending is great, literally the high point of the book. This is definitely a story I will re-read, it would be a brilliant cheering read if you were a bit down too. Very funny and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh's for a million, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Kindle Edition)
This is one book that I can honestly say I kept on having a laugh thoughout, which I do not often do. With Molly winning the lottery and going around the country to help other not so fortunate, her bizarre family to the journalist Tom and his 10 year old daughter the story went from one laugh to another . Well done Victoria Connelly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want it to end, 3 Feb 2012
By 
A. Shearwani "daisypwincess" (Southend, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Molly's Millions (Kindle Edition)
This book was quite slow to start, and the first few chapters I struggled to read it, and even considered giving up, but something stopped me and I'm glad...

All of a sudden it picked up pace, and I was hooked... Loved all the different characters we got to meet along the way, and I loved the sunshine Gerbera! It made me laugh at points, and made me cry! I got to the end and was gutted it was over, there was so much more I wanted to read about! There is definitely more than enough ammo for a sequel, maybe one based on Marty and Susannah, or maybe one based on Cynthia.... or maybe just Molly and Tom and Flora?

I loved the philanthropic nature of the book, I loved the romance, the fun, the tour of Britain (lovely!) and considering this book was 99p, I am delighted with it!

Off now to see what else this author (first I've heard of her), has written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molly's Millions
Molly's Millions by Victoria Connelly (Paperback - 15 Jun 2009)
5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews