Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensual ficticious biography
A beautifully crafted novel that uncovers the barely known, myth like first-lady of China, Jiang Chian - the wife of Chairman Mao through his period of power.
Looking through her eyes, this ficticious biography offers an insight on how she got her reputation as a hard faced lover of torture and war, it also offers a different view than any other Mao biography, essay...
Published on 17 Oct 2003 by Louise Johnson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Having read empress orchid, and really enjoying it, i decided to also read becoming madame mao, and was disappointed to find the writing style and story telling completely different. Although a fascinating story, i found that half way through the book, i wasn't too bothered about finishing it.

It's definitely worth a read if you want to learn more about the...
Published on 9 Jan 2007 by H. Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 9 Jan 2007
By 
H. Lawrence (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming Madame Mao (Paperback)
Having read empress orchid, and really enjoying it, i decided to also read becoming madame mao, and was disappointed to find the writing style and story telling completely different. Although a fascinating story, i found that half way through the book, i wasn't too bothered about finishing it.

It's definitely worth a read if you want to learn more about the history of china from a different perspective, but considering the life madame mao led, its made to sound much duller than it could have been written, even when following the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensual ficticious biography, 17 Oct 2003
This review is from: Becoming Madame Mao (Paperback)
A beautifully crafted novel that uncovers the barely known, myth like first-lady of China, Jiang Chian - the wife of Chairman Mao through his period of power.
Looking through her eyes, this ficticious biography offers an insight on how she got her reputation as a hard faced lover of torture and war, it also offers a different view than any other Mao biography, essay or book. To watch Madame Mao play her role through each act in her life is to follow Mao's success and her downfall.
A great idea for a novel is transformed into a spectacular biography. The story has a strong use of chinese poetry the whole way through it, giving a romantic and genuine feel to it.
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Becoming Madame Mao, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating insight into the woman who was married to Chairman Mao. The descriptions of her life, and her thoughts, both of herself and others was intriguing and very interesting. The book was beautifully written, and really drew in the reader. There were just enough hints of how this woman would turn out, but at the same time making one feel some sympathy for her. An excellent read for those interested in modern history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Carrie (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Although I alwasy enjoy books set in China, I don't really know much about Chinese recent history and so I didn't know whether this book was puporting to be "based" on Jiang Ching's life or not. However, I really enjoyed reading this book. I was gripped all the way through, which surprised me given how easy it is to dislike the titular character. In fact, even though the book is not written in sympathy with Jiang Ching and she does some terrible things, by the end it is hard not to feel sorry for her. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madam Mao, 26 Aug 2007
By 
M. Mukhtar "Moazma" (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming Madame Mao (Paperback)
Initially i thought this was based on the real life of Mao's third wife. However, after reading Mao's true story this story is more fiction based ad very different (i suppose Mao biography is more in depth and demonstrates every small detail). I still enjoyed reading this story, as i took it as a story and not as Mao's true story.

This is the story of Jiang Chang Mao wife who supported him and helped in his success. She only felt the need to do this when her marriage to Mao was coming towards the end. She her self went through many relationships to proof her worth to her last husband and to China. This is a story of a lady who went through many difficulties to reach her destination and become Mao's wife.

This is a great story that is worth reading. If you are genuinely into the Chinese culture then this is another book that is worth reading and capturing more of the culture through stories inspired by the history of China and its legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting historical fiction, 15 April 2014
This review is from: Becoming Madame Mao (Paperback)
The Mao era of communist China is a difficult one to get under the skin of, to understand exactly what was going on and what the people at the centre of policy and rule really thought. Anchee Min tries to do that with this book though, tackling Chairman Mao’s wife. The author delves into how Jiang Qing moved from acting and the stage to becoming a key and controversial figure who played a major role in the Cultural Revolution. There’s little dialogue and the narration switches between first and third person, which takes a little while to get used to. But, overall, Anchee Min’s portrayal of Madame Mao is interesting and believable – and since this is a novel rather than academic history, that’s the main thing she set out to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Becoming Madame Mao, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first this story swept me up but as soon as the main character meets Mao the pace slackers, the tale becomes far less interesting and the history patronising. Others may enjoy, it just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madam Mao, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming Madame Mao (Paperback)
Getting into these types of books now different culture and total way of life but enjoyed it . Will read more of the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book ..., 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Anchee Min books, but this is not my fave. The topic of the book is interesting but not at as fast a pace as I would have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really hard work, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't get along with the style of writing at all, flipping between the first and third person, and I simply couldn't engage with the title character at all. Gave up about half way through. I prefer to enjoy what I'm reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming Madame Mao
Becoming Madame Mao by ANCHEE MIN (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews