Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2011
This is a very readable and useful book, suitable for most A Level students. It does lack depth, particularly in the case of economic theory, so students aiming for very high grades will need other materials to supplement this.

Also, there are quite a few errors, particularly in the 'summary' boxes, but also in some cases in the main text. These are sometimes issues which will be corrected by better proof-reading in the next edition, but they sometimes give the impression that the person who wrote the text boxes is not as good an economist as the person who wrote the main text......
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This book is really quite appalling so far as it poses to be a quality textbook for A-level Economics students.

As other reviewers have noted it does not contain in-depth explanations or analyses of the economic concepts that are central to the course. The diagrams, particularly the cost and revenue ones, are especially poor.

My main concern, however, is the layout and structure. The chapter layout is fine, providing an accurate summary of the AQA course content. The inter-chapter structure, however, is absolutely horrendous. There is no logical progression in the chapters, and certain pieces of information are mentioned at irrelevant moments, where they might have earlier or later been helpful. Altogether this makes actually reading the book a thoroughly stressful activity.

Useful for finding quick definitions and nothing more. AQA's endorsement is heavily misplaced.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
This textbook just covers the basics. Sometimes explanations were not written clearly, particularly in the Unit 4 half of the book. Although the latest edition was published in 2014, the content has not been updated since 2008 and so there is nothing on the recession or the Eurozone crisis, which is a fairly serious omission as exams expect you to be well informed on those contexts. Also, quantitative easing was added to the syllabus since then but this textbook has nothing on it, only the monetarist policies used in the 80s. I ended up supplementing these gaps in content with revision guides made by other publishers.

I'm surprised that AQA endorses this textbook. I definitely think there are better textbooks out there.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
The amount of waffle in this book is ridiculous. There are so many parts of this book which use words and words and words to explain a point which could potentially be explained in a couple of sentences. Personally I don't appreciate how the book is structured. Textbooks by OCR are structured a hell of a lot better. The book does contain a lot of detail, but I'm worried that some of it isn't needed. Unfortunately my Economics teachers aren't that good so I have to rely quite heavily on this book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
This is not the best book in the market, but I still highly recommend this book to others.
I had the AS economics one, and I got an A in AS because of this book.
The book is very great-value. It covers most of the A2 stuff.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
I recommend this book. It has sufficient detail to get you through. It covers the AQA syllabus; it is a superb resource to use in conjunction with Kerboodle and the AQA workbooks.

It is very straightforward as it breaks down some of the more difficult concepts using everyday diction in conjunction with subject specific vocabulary.

This book totally de-mystifies Economics, makes it less stuffy & opens it up to a wider clientele.

For those seeking higher grades it is not sufficient to rely on the book alone; but that goes for any A' Level student - additional reading & an army of current real world relevant examples is an absolute must!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
Bought this for college and its perfect, everything you need to know on the further units of Economics.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
This is a compact and clear book which is handy for revision
Underscores the core concepts well
Takes some useful case studies
Organised well to fit the syllabus
Right balance of notes and summaries
2 sides to each argument
Utterly readable
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
The outside of the text book noticeably damaged. Inside of book fine though. Possibly in somewhat worse condition than expected
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
got it the nxt day with the free super saver so impressed.
the book is great itself for studies and packaging was decent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse