Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for AQA A2 Biology
A worry for all book buyers, this book is the correct book for the AQA A2 Biology exam and exactly the same one as was in my school.

There doesn't seem much point in reviewing this book, because, quite frankly, if your are doing the AQA exam, you simply have no choice in the matter. I would strongly discourage buying any other book without reading this one. The...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by ashkgbo

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places but has its flaws.
First and foremost, I have recently completed A2 Biology and used this book throughout the course.

This book is officially endorsed by AQA for their new Biology specification. As the specification is new, there is limited literature available and this book seemed like a logical starting point because of its endorsement by the examination board. It contains a...
Published on 17 Sep 2010 by Shep


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for AQA A2 Biology, 20 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
A worry for all book buyers, this book is the correct book for the AQA A2 Biology exam and exactly the same one as was in my school.

There doesn't seem much point in reviewing this book, because, quite frankly, if your are doing the AQA exam, you simply have no choice in the matter. I would strongly discourage buying any other book without reading this one. The questions and syllabusss featured in this book are exactly what will appear in the exam. This is very important when it comes to specific figures such as in the PCR (polymerase chain reaction) temperatures as well as correct terminology of enzymes and processes (e.g. the exact sequence, and enzymes, involved in the transcription and translation of DNA).

The book doesn't come with the answers for the exam style questions but my teacher had this so it wasn't a problem. However there is a whole plethora of questions on virtually every page which do have answers in the back of the book. In my case i found these questions tedious but it was worth the effort doing some of the more tricky questions as revision.

All in all the book is essential if you are doing this exam. I used this book exclusively to both study and revise from and i managed to get an A* overall this June. Of course people are different and hard work is key, but without this book I struggle to see how anyone will be able to achieve a high grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places but has its flaws., 17 Sep 2010
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
First and foremost, I have recently completed A2 Biology and used this book throughout the course.

This book is officially endorsed by AQA for their new Biology specification. As the specification is new, there is limited literature available and this book seemed like a logical starting point because of its endorsement by the examination board. It contains a vast amount of information about each topic and contains bullet points at the start of each chapter addressing the learning objectives from the specification; in addition, the book contains a large number of summary questions and examination-style questions at the end of each topic.

However, the book has a couple of fundamental flaws:

1. Too much information. If you want brief, quick-fire points then look elsewhere. There is a lot of waffle that won't necessarily be tested in the exam (this was confirmed by an AQA examiner in a talk we received).
2. No answers to the examination-style questions. In my opinion, there's no point doing questions that you can't check whether you're right or not. If you want the answers to these, you're going to have to seek them out yourself by siphoning through past AQA exam papers.

Overall, the book is comprehensive and contains all of the information (perhaps too much) required for you to succeed but it could be vastly improved by incorporating the answers to the mock exam questions within the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars biology revision, 4 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. S. Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter and she said "it has everything in it i need, thanks dad".Hopefully she passes her exam with flying colours.Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
R. M. Archer (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
No problems whatsoever, book is really clear, well laid out as its split into Unit 4 and 5 so nothing is muddled. Great purchase which is going to help LOADS for my exams coming up. Definately worth buying :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Highly recommended: besides the fact it's the 'official' textbook for AQA, its clearly laid out with flawless science and very good diagrams for complex matters such as respiration and photosynthesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Used copy barely legible, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Although I have no problem with the book itself, this used "good" condition copy was covered in layered highlighter pen and underlining to the point that I could barely read the text in places. There were also spillages inside the book in a couple of places. As this was only £5 cheaper than a brand new copy, I expected a lot more and had to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A2 Biology, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Graham Paine "totallyuntamed" (Coventry, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
AQA A2 Biology Student's book: Student's BookContains all the material needed for this specification. Spread-based layout incorporating summary questions, applications with answers provided and past examination questions. Links to AS given as are examiner tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
This book is essential if you want to pass your biology exams, it gives all the needed information. Also, in order to achieve great results , you need to do all the extra exercises this book contains, they helped me a lot to get high grades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gill, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Excellent for students issues at college in order of book bought the next issue for next year and other books required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AQA Biology A2, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Biology A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Recommended by teachers. Well written and illustrated. Easy to understand. A bit on the pricey side but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AQA Biology A2: Student's Book
AQA Biology A2: Student's Book by Susan Toole (Paperback - 21 Nov 2008)
£21.49
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews