Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete preparation tool for 11+
What isn't clear until you get this book home is how thorough a job has been done in putting it together.

You get four tests, you get a complete answer book, and you get every question explained so there are no excuses for not covering off the odd question that you as a parent can't spot how to solve.

Beyond this there are tips on exam technique, and...
Published on 22 Oct 2007 by Tony Jones

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars must try harder
Like the other reviewers, I was impressed by the detail behind the answers, which is missing from so many of the competitor products. I'm lucky that I find this type of test very easy, but when marking my children's papers over the years I've sometimes disagreed with the examiner's choice and would have wanted to know why they arrived at a particular answer and not one of...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by biro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete preparation tool for 11+, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
What isn't clear until you get this book home is how thorough a job has been done in putting it together.

You get four tests, you get a complete answer book, and you get every question explained so there are no excuses for not covering off the odd question that you as a parent can't spot how to solve.

Beyond this there are tips on exam technique, and there is also a chart allowing results to be converted to a score then compared to various percentage criteria so you can be unambiguously steered to preparation papers of the correct standard for your child, and have no illusions as to how far away from the standard required they are operating.

I have no hesitation in recommending this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars must try harder, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
Like the other reviewers, I was impressed by the detail behind the answers, which is missing from so many of the competitor products. I'm lucky that I find this type of test very easy, but when marking my children's papers over the years I've sometimes disagreed with the examiner's choice and would have wanted to know why they arrived at a particular answer and not one of the other options. Here I can see exactly why Andrew Baines has decided a particular design is the one that he feels a child should have chosen, but unfortunately that clarity just shows that frequently he hasn't thought the potential answers through sufficiently or on occasions he is just wrong. Like many NVR examiners his choice of the 'correct' odd one out frequently appears to be subjective or ill-conceived, because he has not excluded other equally valid choices. Sometimes there are better/more objective reasons to choose one of the other options, but in all those cases the odd one out should stand out clearly as the only reasonable choice. And then there are the times when his answer is patently wrong, such as one in test 4 where his answer describes a rectangle having two diagonal lines of symmetry. Mistakes and ambiguities like this are sprinkled throughout the tests at a rate of what I'd guess was about 5%. That can seriously affect your marking of the child's test as you have to decide for example whether to give them a mark for their choice out of what might have been three options for odd one out or pattern progression that each have logical merit. Having said that, I think the format of the pack is very good and the tests are well set out. I just wish Mr Baines had run the tests past a skilled colleague or two in order to see the potential alternatives on some of his questions and for them to have edited out the mistakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for young mind as well as old one too!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Q. Diep "honest reply" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
My 10 years old daughter was preparing for her entry exam for a secondary school placement and was required to do a Non-Verbal test. As I was not sure of the type of test paper that she would be doing I bought this book in the hope that it would help.
What could I say, it was fantastic! What was inside the folder was exactly what she had done in the exam.
You get 4 test sheets, separate answer sheet with clear explanation, step by step, of how the answers were achieved. Even those who has never done Non-Verbal before, like myself, will be able to do it with ease.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sharpening Tool for Young MInds, 21 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
Although this is an 11+ set of papers I bought them for my ten year old to see how she faired. I followed the instructions to the letter and let her do one under exam conditions, only giving her the allotted time. She did quite well getting just under the suggested pass mark of 85%. I then let her do the others in her own time and she was soon scoring 90% and getting 100% in some sections. She loves doing them and they are absolutely great for building a kids confidence. Although they are an IQ test, with practice I understand scores can be increased by 15%. I have already purchased additional papers for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for 11+ prep, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
I bought these multiple choice test papers for my son who was preparing for his 11+ exam. It is recommended to all parents who are doing the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Prep Book, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
The quality was as expected. It suited the purpose for which we bought it. I would happily recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value pack, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
A good value pack of non verbal reasoning papers for assisting you in preparing your child for the 11+ exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and Fast Delivery, 8 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
This book is for anyone who is in the process of getting ready for the psychological service bureau exams for nursing. This book has helped me alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
This test papers are so right in preparing my son for his exam. I personally like the marking scheme especially the explanations aspect of it, really like it, and wold definetly recomend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. X. Goddard "Xen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 (Paperback)
Good item. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1
Bond 11+ Test Papers Non-Verbal Reasoning Multiple Choice Pack 1 by Andrew Baines (Paperback - 28 Jun 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews