Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for basics
This covers most of the core elements of the AS syllabus in a concise and accessible style. As AQA differs from most syllabus it's the only revision book that's really relevant and it does include a lot questions. However as the syllabus changed this year these are old style questions. Also not all the answers are given (my teacher says this is how they save paper) and...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Emma Cochrane

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a physic teacher's perspective
I have been teaching A level Physics AQA syllabus A for many years. This book is, as far as I know, the only one 'endorsed' by AQA for the revised course that started in 2007. I have bought a personal copy but we still issue our students with Advanced Physics for You by Keith Johnson et al. Why? Well, of course, education is big business and textbooks make money -...
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by Exponential Decay


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a physic teacher's perspective, 10 Sept. 2009
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
I have been teaching A level Physics AQA syllabus A for many years. This book is, as far as I know, the only one 'endorsed' by AQA for the revised course that started in 2007. I have bought a personal copy but we still issue our students with Advanced Physics for You by Keith Johnson et al. Why? Well, of course, education is big business and textbooks make money - especially if you have to buy 2 - one for AS one for A2. You are spending substantially more than on 1 copy of Johnson, the printface is less inviting to read and less colour is used. You may think this a minor point, but uninviting textbooks are read less often. Some of the theory content has been swapped between AS and A2 but it is all in Johnson, just not in the new sequence. As the previous reviewer stated, this has fewer past paper questions than Johnson. The main advantage of this book is the extensive treatment of the practical (Unit 3) which is the most substantial change from the old course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for basics, 10 April 2010
By 
Emma Cochrane (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
This covers most of the core elements of the AS syllabus in a concise and accessible style. As AQA differs from most syllabus it's the only revision book that's really relevant and it does include a lot questions. However as the syllabus changed this year these are old style questions. Also not all the answers are given (my teacher says this is how they save paper) and even when they are the numbers for calculations are rounded up more than they would be in a exam. Also, some of the additional information is only available online at a site you have to pay for called Kerboodle - if your school doesn't pay for this be warned - it's expensive (I haven't used it as I can't afford it). In summary: great if you want to revise the basics and get your head around the syllabus, but for practicing past papers you're best off going to the AQA site and looking at the papers and mark schemes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK but embarrasing mistakes for a book endorsed by AQA, 6 May 2011
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
This book covers all the main points in some detail but the claim that it tells you that it is written by the experta, checked by the examiners and approved by AQA looks very silly when you consider the sheer volume of errors in the book. These range from them saying that an electron is positively charged, stating the quark structure of a proton to be udd not uud and getting Beta plus and Beta minus decays the wrong way round. They may sound small but in any textbook and particularly a physics one where details such as these are so important there really should not be any mistakes that could lose you marks in an exam, particularly one endorsed by the exam board. In addition to this it uses large blocks of prose to make points that would be more understandable if they were presented in a more concise manner, rather than hidden in a cacophany of largely irrelevant text. The past exam questions would be very useful, if they actually included some answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide to AQA AS Physics A, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
William Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
This textbook excellently explains all the concepts required for Unit 1 and 2 AQA AS Physics. As the book is endorsed by AQA you can be sure that all the topics in the 'Particles, quantum phenomena and electricity' and 'Mechanics, materials and waves' units are covered. Also at the end of the book there is a really good chapter explaining the theory behind the ISA paper. At the end of each section there are a set of 'Examination-style questions' which includes questions like the ones you will face in the exam. Also, the glossary is also an excellent resource for definitions. However, throughout the wording can be a bit inaccessible at points with students having to decipher lengthy paragraphs. Therefore I would recommend anyone studying AS Physics to also purchase the AS-Level Physics AQA A Revision Guide as it explains the basics very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY wordy, 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
I bought this book as it is the syllabus that I am currently studying at school, but from the begining I found this book very hard to really get into and understand; you kind of have to read it two or three times to really understand what it is saying. There are far too many words to try and revise from this book, and I definately wouldn't recomend it to anyone who is trying to get a supplementary book to study from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 8 Sept. 2008
By 
p (london,uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
this book is ok, i suppose it is the only choice if u r doing the aqa
syllabus, only a few bad points, first few chapters there are practically no worked examples, at the end of each chapter there are
some summary questions with the answers at the back of the book,
sometimes i dont know how on earth did they arrive at that answer because
they dont have worked examples to help u,i had to ask teacher to explain how they got the answers.

Its only the last few units, they have some worked examples.
Also they put examination style questions, but no answers for that too,
so u dont know if you are right or wrong unless u get the teacher
to explain to u

this book is a little thin, should have more worked examples and
calculations to practise on, then it would be perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible book for exam, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
I bought this because it was a requirement for my AS level course. Why the teachers felt this book would be good enough to learn from, i'll never know. Its very wordy and poorly structued/written. It will give you information on how to do a calculation, and instead of then giving you a relatively basic question to reinforce your understanding, it will instead give you an exam style question which cannot be attempted without further assistance. For this reason, this book alone in regards to studying physics is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusion, 4 Jan. 2013
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
Some pages you don't have clue what happening. It's a real struggle you have to really sit there for a about 30 mins to understand what the page is trying to explain... especially the sections to do with radians and waves. Once you have learnt it yourself, you feel you could have explained it better than this book has.

It should be easy to understand not just for mathematical geniuses but for everyone. It needs to accessible for everyone, but it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A book designed for Physics Teachers, not Physics Students, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
I actually had been offered this book from school and had chosen to buy it from them. I expected this book to be excellent seeing as it is, "endorsed by AQA" and was being offered to me by the school. What I did find out in the end was that the explanations are poorly written.

For example, when they talk about Specific Charge on the first page, they fail to explain how to calculate it properly. As well as this, some of the answers in the book at the back are not correct.

I have had to go back to my science teachers numerous times for them to explain the calculations to me. Sometimes, even they couldn't figure out how to do some of the summary questions.

However, as you progress further into the book, some of the explanations become more detailed and learning information from the book becomes easier, but there are still issues with the book. Another example of where the book isn't useful, is the fact that there are no answers to the Examination-Style Questions.

Overall, this book is more useful to a teacher who needs guidance on what topics to teach to students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 29 Jan. 2010
This review is from: AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book (Paperback)
This book is only half decent, there are quite a few mistakes throughout; some are grammar, others are incorrect equations - not very useful when trying to revise if the equations are wrong! The exam style questions however are very useful and all the pages are well laid out so the book isn't too confusing.
For these reasons, only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book
AQA Physics A AS: Student's Book by J Breithaupt (Paperback - 25 Mar. 2008)
£24.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews