Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book...
I use this book for my A-Level and I can say this book, whilst being useful, isn't completely in-line with the spec and has quite a lot of errors with formulae and other un-needed information. The book itself isn't bad at explaining the A-level content, but doesn't explicitly tell you what you need to know, and isn't the best at preparing you for your A-level Physics...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by A

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books out there
Despite my teacher's best advice, I still went ahead and bought this textbook as its the official AQA one for a start! To be fair, this book does contain some good explanations and diagrams to help with the more difficult topics in the course, but that is where the good points stop. There is a lot of unneccessary stuff in here. For some chapters there are 3 real world...
Published 10 months ago by Matthew Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books out there, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Despite my teacher's best advice, I still went ahead and bought this textbook as its the official AQA one for a start! To be fair, this book does contain some good explanations and diagrams to help with the more difficult topics in the course, but that is where the good points stop. There is a lot of unneccessary stuff in here. For some chapters there are 3 real world topics that do not teach you any of the essential physics that you will be tested on - it is like they are just trying to bulk up the book. Secondly, IT IS INCOMPLETE. There is nothing in here to teach you the option topics, which is absurd as they are one of your exams! I would 100% recommend getting the CGP "A2 Physics AQA Student Book" (it is nothing like the GCSE ones that are full of awful and pointless jokes) or the two books from Collins Education (there are seperate books for Unit 4 and Unit 5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor standards set by AQA, but the only book 'endorsed' by this course and used by my center. :(, 22 April 2012
By 
NVR (Bucks, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Grammatical errors such as "...where m is the of liquid..." (should say mass between the and of) has crept into this book, as has mistakes in the answers at the back for the summary questions. My tutor agreed that they are incorrect. This kind of standard is unacceptable in a course such as this, where the actual standard for pupils writing the exams are relatively higher.

Additionally, there is no section for the optional modules of the course, which are required to be known for the exam. How can AQA endorse a book for their course, if it does not contain all the modules in its course?

I'd advise using more than this book as revision material for the course. Maybe online resources, or another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, maybe a bit too detailed but also incomplete, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Dr. Keith A. Moseley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
This book is the AQA exam board's approved support text for the A2 section of its A level physics course. It is written by one of the stalwarts of physics textbook writing in the UK. As such it is very detailed and solidly mathematical as well as thoroughly descriptive. Formulae and algebra leap out of every page alongside solid sections of text. Not surprising, since A2 courses are meant to be more advanced in this respect than the preceding AS courses. However, the author's joy of deriving one formula from another can tend to take over a bit and a lot of this material is rarely directly tested in the actual exam papers.

The AQA A2 course consists of two examined units (4 and 5) and an Investigative Skills Assignment or ISA (unit 6T/X), which is an experiment followed by the test paper. The book covers the whole of unit 4, offers advice for unit 6 and covers the core of unit 5. However, unit 5 has topics, namely Astrophysics, Applied Physics, Medical Physics and 'Turning Points'(i.e. famous experiments/discoveries). None of these are covered in the book and materials have to be downloaded from a Nelson Thornes website called 'Kerboodle'.....and it isn't free. Having shelled out the thick end of [...] for this book it may come as a shock to discover that it is incomplete. To be fair, Kerboodle offers a lot more than just the topics as it has support materials for the whole book. It can also be argued that, as students only need to choose one topic for the exam, three quarters of the topic materials will be dead weight. Nevertheless, it feels unsatisfactory to have a book which is truncated this way.

Few books as technical as this one get away with errors and this book, unlike the companion AS textbook, has quite a few niggly typos which can cause a bit of damage, such as formulae and nuclear equations with bits missing or incorrectly placed. On request, a colleague got photocopies of several pages with handwritten corrections, from Nelson Thornes....but we're still spotting more and it is annoying that we had to extract the errata sheets rather than them being spontaneously offered. However, readers must not panic too much as tens of pages can go by without a single problem.

A decent textbook, aligned to the AQA course. I reserve a higher number of stars for truly great A level textbooks like Advanced Physics (Advanced Science)...but that tome is now touching [...]. Textbooks are really pricey thesdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nelson Thornes AQA Physics, no more than a revision supplement, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Through my A-Level course I have had both the AS and A2 versions of this book and neither have satisfied me.

They are both usable but anything other than well written. Text is written in long hand english, which tends to waffle and make little sense. I found myself reading paragraph upon paragraph over and over. The ACTUAL exam-style questions have no answers and the summary question answers follow no consistent form.

This could go on . . .

Overall, I quote my teacher when I say "A wealth of textbooks is invaluable". So, if you're buying this book; to avoid misunderstanding purchase the CGP and Letts revision guides too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars worrying omissions, 22 May 2010
By 
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
This textbook covers most of the course in sufficient detail, but bizarrely does not cover the optional topics that make up part of the A2 exam. This is a serious flaw, made all the more inexplicable by the fact that this is the official course textbook recommended by AQA. As a result, I am finding my revision rather difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book came to my attention because a student reported ..., 5 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
This book came to my attention because a student reported the following painfully elementary error in it: "line of force or field line: a line followed by a small mass in a gravitational field (or a small positively charged object in an electric field or a free North Pole in a magnetic field) acted on by no other forces than the force due to the field." This is on p. 263 of the 2008 edition. Wow. If this is typical in a government-approved book, then it doesn't say much for the state of science education in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book..., 11 Mar 2010
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
I use this book for my A-Level and I can say this book, whilst being useful, isn't completely in-line with the spec and has quite a lot of errors with formulae and other un-needed information. The book itself isn't bad at explaining the A-level content, but doesn't explicitly tell you what you need to know, and isn't the best at preparing you for your A-level Physics. However I can say the book is still good at doing it's job and has proven very useful for my A-level Physics, and I'm unaware of another book for this spec, so in that respect, it's a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't include optional modules, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
Had to buy this for my course, good book with helpful comments and practise summary questions which are beneficial, however, the book does NOT include the optional modules provided by AQA. You need to either purchase another book based on the selected optional module or look it up on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useless in places, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
The notes are okay if not a little too detailed in places. The problem is it has questions which require written answers every 2 pages and it doesn't give the answers in the back.. It only has answers to the numerical questions. Also there are 'Practice/Exam Style questions' at the end of each unit which also have no answers. (have to look online - student room).. Finally it doesn't have Unit 5 Section B notes and I tried looking on 'kerboodle' the website being used where 'notes and support materials are available' and shock horror it's completely dead end website. A very frustrating textbook to use for questions.. for notes it's okay (For unit 4 and 5A)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really unimpressive, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book (Paperback)
We got lent these by our school so I really can't complain. But I've personally found this book to be awful, too much unnecessary detail and not enough of what is actually going to help you in the exam.

This is the only time I can actually safely say the CGP books are better. I've also ordered the Collins book in the hope that may be better again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book
AQA Physics A A2: Student's Book by J Breithaupt (Paperback - 21 Nov 2008)
£25.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews