Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for 11+ practice
Non-Verbal Reasoning are the tests that are all shapes and symbols, and you have to spot what the connection is between the shapes and therefore what the next symbol in the pattern is, or which is the odd one out, or which is the missing one in pairs or symbols.

To do these you need to consider shape, position, angle, number, shading, and size. This book has a...
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by Belinda L

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good guide
A good guide for those studying to take their eleven plus exam. My daughter found it easy & helpfull to use.
Published 16 months ago by martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for 11+ practice, 3 Jun 2009
By 
Belinda L (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Non-Verbal Reasoning are the tests that are all shapes and symbols, and you have to spot what the connection is between the shapes and therefore what the next symbol in the pattern is, or which is the odd one out, or which is the missing one in pairs or symbols.

To do these you need to consider shape, position, angle, number, shading, and size. This book has a set of practice papers that cover all these techniques - and the answers -

There are 45 different 'chapters' - each chapter is either one or two pages, and clearly explains the idea, so chapter 25 is 'sequences' and continues to chapter 30. Each of the 5 explains one type of solution such as repeating patterns, shape, position, etc. and then describes a technique to spot it and how to find the answer. There are then a number of practice questions for that type of 'puzzle'

However in different parts of the country the 11+ has slightly different papers, so check what sort your area does. However I believe this book is a great starter point, just get your child to do say 15 mins every day and before you know it they will begin to get the idea, working through the book.

I expect you will also look at 'How to do verbal reasoning' which is the same type of thing except using words and letters. In all these books you write directly into the book which is great as there is no need for loose bits of paper. - however do remove the answers from the back and put them somewhere safe, as they are very tempting for little eyes!

I highly recommend this book and think that it is essential if you child is going to sit this type of exam.

Good luck and get those pencils sharpened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars compared with stephen curran....., 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
ive given it a high rating but i really could not get my head around this book because the examples were not clear enough or thorough. there were many places where i became stuck and even asked someone else to teach my 9 year old daughter. luckily through amazon i came to know of stephen currans books and im glad i got his non verbal reasoning because although he has two books to cover plus a textbook his was not so confusing. and his books were clear enough to enable me to teach my daughter. he clearly explains why shapes are layered and what the layers are. he gives us names of shapes which bond doesnt do and through repetition we get to learn the names by heart and trust me it DOES help to the names of shapes. in conclusion i think stephen currans books are much better. i'm on his second book and once we have worked through it then i will go back to bond because by then i will have a better understanding and then we will go through the questions of both bond and stephen curran. on the flip side i would say bonds 'verbal' reasoning books are better than stephen currans. bond explains things clearly in laymans terms and the overall style and layout is better with bond. im sure bond explained non verbal in their usual clear cut way but looking at the hundreds of shapes in that book really threw me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't be without it, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Very good. Covers everything you need to help your child practice for the 11 plus. Takes the stress out of worrying what to cover as I found I couldn't get a difinitive answer from the school on the areas cover. Problem solved with this book !! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good practice for 11+ exams, but NOT a standalone solution., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Kitty (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Good revision material for my daughter's 11+ exams. She is working through this now and is finding it taxing but not too hard and as such it is helping her build her confidence up so she will be ready.

This is not a stand alone solution and you would need this product along with several others to give a comprehensive overview depending on the requirements of the exams in your area (some schools do Maths/English and others do Maths/NVR etc).

I would recommend this product to other Amazon shoppers.
We wanted to give her as much practice as possible of different papers / questioning styles so purchased a range. This is one of the ones I would definitely recommend as it offers a range of questions and highlights areas where your child can improve so you can assist with areas they are finding tricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful set of papers, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
A useful set of non verbal reasoning papers in a very clear and easy to use format. Good value pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Seller, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Great stuff, Great Price & excellent service. 5 Stars all the way. Keep up the good work. Will do more business in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non-verbal reasoning made easy., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Have used it previously and found it to be extremely useful in explaining the basics of non-verbal reasoning. The text is easy to follow and the examples give pupils experience in tackling different types of non-verbal reasoning questions. A must for anyone preparing pupils for the 11+ exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
A good guide for those studying to take their eleven plus exam. My daughter found it easy & helpfull to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition (Paperback)
Daughters improving with each day. She feels more confident and loves marking her work to check her own progress. A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition
Bond How to do 11+ Non-Verbal Reasoning New Edition by Alison Primrose (Paperback - 8 Aug 2007)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews