Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me get through level 1 now hopefull level 2
The heliers motor vehicle fundermentals book 1, is one of the best studybooks i have ever used. It gives you detailed infomation on how vehicle components work and what they are for without getting too complicated and describes in such an easyway youd couldent belive you didnt understand it before. Now i have dyslexia and I used other study books that i didnt really...
Published on 13 Oct. 2010 by Jamie Newman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
I bought this book together with another book for my studies. Although
it does cover the material it is a bit confusing and very dry. However what annoyed me the most is that it does not follow the new qualifications. To be fair it is quite an old book so I hold my hands up for not checking, however I do think
this could be made clearer to would be purchasers...
Published on 16 Sept. 2010 by Wesley Musgrove


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me get through level 1 now hopefull level 2, 13 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
The heliers motor vehicle fundermentals book 1, is one of the best studybooks i have ever used. It gives you detailed infomation on how vehicle components work and what they are for without getting too complicated and describes in such an easyway youd couldent belive you didnt understand it before. Now i have dyslexia and I used other study books that i didnt really understand but the heliers book helped me so much that i proberly wouldent have passed Motor vehilces level 1 at college. the book gets straight to the point with an easy to use index and titled paragraphs id recommend this to anyone studying motor vehicle at college or even if you just want to learn somthing new and you dont realy need to know alot about cars to understand this book unlike any other books. Hope this helps guys & gals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, wouldn't be without it, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
The exams for any of the IMI qualifications in Britain are written to the material given in this book. ANY question you will encounter on the phase tests or the exams will have an exact answer in this book. The IMI is better than C&G awarding body on the basis that it forces research, it forces you to read this book and find and understand the answers for yourself and I am a better qualified level 2 mechanic because of it (still studying level 3).
This book is every aspiring mechanic and automotive engineer's bible. The English is not too complicated which can be an incredibly headache for people who just want to sit and read to catch up but end up with a book that had a sentence within a sentence that digresses mid-sentence.

Plenty of diagrams, cross sectional diagrams and references to the diagrams so you know what you're looking at and also that you know what you're reading if it is describing a difficult-to-explain-without-diagrams part/component or process.

Apart from the fact that it is Americanised: Britain and America have their own terminology regarding the subject, so it can be slightly confusing if you haven't got a lecturer to set you straight. Though I personally rarely encounter a problem.

I still flinch when I see the price but they are well worth the money. Every single one of them! Due to having to move across the country and nowhere local doing the IMI level 3 I am forced to do a C&G level 3 and this book is a lot more in depth than what my current awarding body asks for so I go into my exams very well prepared. If you are a mechanic wanting to increase your knowledge or a student/potential student then you should not be without this book! It leaves no stone unturned, no bolt un-torqued!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
I am currently studying level 3 Mechanical Repair (returning to college 15 years after doing level 2) so I bought Hillier's fundamentals to refresh my previous knowledge and as a study aid going forward, it is fulfilling both tasks nicely.

I would recommend this book to any student of Motor Vehicle Engineering regardless of the level they are studying. Or even as a reference book for someone who just dabbles on their own car at the weekend, or just wants a deeper insight into Motor Vehicle Engineering and Technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillier's fundementals of MVT 5th Edit book 2 Powertrain electronics, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
D. Maxwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 2 Powertrain Electronics: Powertrain Electronics Bk. 2

My husband has just PASSED the NTTA exam and between this book and Hilliers fundementals book 1, 5th edition and 4 th edition, He sailed through it!
Certainly the best educational books on the market!
And amazon uk- your so reliable!

Recommended a million %!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 2 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
This book was very helpful in the coruse im doing it covered the whole of the first year, hopefully some of the second year aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 24 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
A very good introduction to vehiscle Mechanics. Its overs many areas in straight forward English and slowly moves into a reference book for more experienced Mechanics.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will save you money at the garage, 13 April 2005
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Every car owner who is responsible for the maintenance of their vehicle should own this book.
Even if you never get your hands dirty, this book will provide the theory, which together with the practice from the relevant Haynes/other Workshop Manual for your car, will give you the knowledge so you can avoid being "taken for a ride" when you car goes in for repair or a service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Henderson (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
My daughter is doing a Motor Sports course at college. This was the book they were asking everyone, if possible, to get. It has been extremely helpful to her. She takes it with her almost everywhere. I have even had a look at it! Here is the best bit, Amazon is the cheapest place to buy this book, and delivery is very swift. Excellent all round book, not too tasking or difficult to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly gripping read from cover to cover, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
This is a very well written book, that clearly explains the... er... fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology.

It's actually interesting - you don't need to be training to be a car mechanic to find some sort of appeal. My sister used to ask my dad: "Dad, what's a carburettor?" My dad told her that it was a secret.

Fact is, a man should know these things. You spend a large amount of money on a car, you should get an idea of how it works. Otherwise mechanics can take advantage of you - if you don't know what a spark plug is, and does, you can be taken to the cleaners by a shady mechanic!

I am being serious here - this is a book that anyone who owns a car should have, and should understand. You don't have to learn everything, but it does teach you information that as a consumer you should know. It isn't light reading, but it is written well - far better than anything you would get from J.K. Rowling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basics but no modern terms/technology covered, 16 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. J. P. Atkinson "ethendras" (Warwick, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
I'm not studying mechanics (i would like to but haven't go the time/money) and bought this to learn more about the theory behind car mechanics as i'm interested in how cars work.

From reading pretty much all of it from cover to cover i've found this book fantastically useful. It's a good starting point and explains clearly through well written text (with accompanying black and white diagrams) the seperate components and working parts of a car. It often goes into good detail and thoroughly explains how mechanical components work.

That said it doesn't explain some of the more recent terms that you read about in the car mags (ie TG/Autocar Weekly) such as twin-clutch gearboxes, certain types of differential and other terms of interest.

It was interesting to read in Autocar the other week (11 March 09) that they recommended the (late) Jeff Daniels Modern Car Technology book over this to those looking to learn more about the working of cars. This book however is more difficult to find and i haven't read it yet to compare it with this.

I would still recommend this book to anyone however so please don't let me put you off! Buy it and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hilliers Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology 5th Edition Book 1: Bk. 1
£20.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews