Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best A2 book out there by miles
I really don't understand the negative review of the UAE student for this book. I have used this text with my students since its launch, and it serves the purpose more than well. The other reviewer doesn't appear to understand the real aim of the book, that is to cover the most poular subsections of the syllabus without having to carry around all the chapters that would...
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by Psychology teacher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better Books Out There!
As an A Level psychology student using both the AS and A2 versions, i feel that i am eligible to comment.
There are so many other text books out there that would better equip studets with the knowledge needed to pass exams. Fair enough, the descriptions of subtopics are thorough. However, the commentary (evaluation) boxes, rather pretentiously, go all around the...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by Victoria


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best A2 book out there by miles, 8 Sep 2006
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
I really don't understand the negative review of the UAE student for this book. I have used this text with my students since its launch, and it serves the purpose more than well. The other reviewer doesn't appear to understand the real aim of the book, that is to cover the most poular subsections of the syllabus without having to carry around all the chapters that would never be used anyway. The two authors have put a great deal of thought into what they have (and haven't included), and students find this a tremendously accessible book. Theories and research studies are clear, colour coded and the AO2 material is given its own special place. The authors don't hide from providing extensive AO2 in difficult areas, and so should be applauded for that. Each topic is layed out in a double page spread. That approach takes a little getting used to if you are used (like most of us are) to the conventional running text of traditional textbooks, but is much, much better when you do. The book is just brilliant, it makes the process of teaching that much easier, because the material is so clear, and leaves the teacher with so much more time to talk about peripheral issues and exam performance. My students have never looked back since switching (from Eysenck's book) to this text. The grades have improved as well. Maybe that's due to my excellent teaching, but I have a sneaky feeling it's more due to this excellent book. Incidentally, just when I thought it couldn't get any better, the same authors have produced a pocket sized 'mini-companion' using the same material in abridged and very user friendly format. If you fail the A level after buying this book, I can only assume that you haven't yet taken it out of the bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textbook, 26 Dec 2006
By 
Chris (Selby, Nth Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
I'm mainly writing this review, to make the point that has not necessarily been made clear. This is the textbook version of this series for the A2 exams, 'The Exam Companion' equivalant is the book specifically for revision.

As a textbook, it depends what your needs are for the book. If you are buying one for your own personal use, you should find this very useful as it is written by the right people and not overly detailed like many textbooks out there. If, however, you are using it to compliment your classwork, all psychology textbooks use different studies etc. and this textbook (while probably contatining everything you need) is without a doubt concise.

To be clear this would not be suitable as a revision guide, but depending on your needs, could be a useful textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better Books Out There!, 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
As an A Level psychology student using both the AS and A2 versions, i feel that i am eligible to comment.
There are so many other text books out there that would better equip studets with the knowledge needed to pass exams. Fair enough, the descriptions of subtopics are thorough. However, the commentary (evaluation) boxes, rather pretentiously, go all around the houses, and do not explain evaluative points concisively.
The layout of the book is poor, and the use of a KEY to have to work out which sections are explaining what just makes the book altogether confusing.
This review has been written after having to copy out of the book for a day's lesson - so i know that my notes are definately not sufficient enough to revise for a single topic for my exam.
The Collins Psycology books for A and AS level are much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why people giving this low score - this book great, 15 Dec 2006
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
I see that 2 teachers are slating this book, but my whole class uses this book and is teacher recommended. Fair enougth people may not like the fact that it is very concise and doesnt elaborate too much. But i believe thuis is what makes a perfect a level book - just gives you the facts you need to do well in the exam, which thias book does. Its great for taking the notes you need. It has no unneccesary information, and doesnt waffle on about irrlevant stuff. A level is hard enough without a book that gives you an information overload and assumes you want to know everything about psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great as an extra, 6 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
Full of information, excellent insight into psychology. A great extra for my course. Sometimes I needed a bit more information on certain subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed!, 15 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
Basically this was the keep to my success in getting As in my A-level psychology exams. It was recommended by my teacher and was perfect. I recommend you check with ur own tutor if u intend to buy this seeing as specifications change over years and exam boards. I used this for AQA in 2008. But ive heard the exam papers and units are changing soonish. Nevertheless, all of these books tend to explain the main points easily and simply within the first few pages and then indulge into greater detail as it goes on. The books even have example past papers, both good and bad which helped vastly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 6 Feb 2009
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
Very useful book, easy to understand, different colours used make it easier to find the information you're looking for. However, I cannot compare it with other psychology textbooks, because this is the only one I am familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Snippets of studies rather than complete studies., 4 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
This book is terrible, which I am very shocked at as the first book was so good and was all I used to revise for AS. All you get is a few sentences describing a study and then another few sentences describing yet another study. The previous book would dedicate 2 pages to a study. This book only uses a couple of sentences to describe a complex study; this is ridiculous I don't understand why they did this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - great layout - exam advice - I PASSED!!!!!!, 15 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. M. G. Daniels (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
I used this book last year as part of a2 psychology and thought this book was the best of the lot (admittedly the eysenck one is pretty good also) but this one was just that bit better because it was more concise and was layed out in a way that meant the info was easier to remeber. When you go to a page it clearly states all the differetn approaches on the left hand page including the theories etc... than on the right hand side concluded them including critisicms and advantages.

This layout is perfect for exams because it covers the Ao1 and Ao2 in a easy way to folloew. You can just easily ectract the arguments and can have some good notes ready for your exams.

I strongly advise this book if you are doing a2 psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star and that is being generous!, 21 Jun 2006
This review is from: Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA (Paperback)
As an A2 psychology student using this 'text book' I feel that I am appropriately qualified to write this review. At its best this book is dreadful. The language is unnecessarily obtuse and often fails to make its points clearly. The book is full of spelling errors. It was quite a shock to find how utterly awful this book actually was after finding its AS counterpart excellent. I personally feel that a few well detailed studies with plenty of room for evaluation would have been far more beneficial than the few hundred little one-line studies thrown on each page. The book also fails to cover the whole syllabus, which admittedly is fine for the first module, but when concerning the 'Approaches' section is irksome. In this section, the cognitive approach would be extremely useful, however is noticeably absent. The layout and the writing style of this book is unappealing and difficult to work with - the mind boggles as to why the style has strayed from that that worked so well at AS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed07fe4)

This product

Psychology A2 - The Complete Companion for AQA: The Complete Companion Guide for AQA
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews