Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2013
I loved this book because:-

I was interested in garden design and wanted to know what were they important parts of an Arts and Crafts Style. This book had the answers.
There is a great list at the back of places to visit and books to read.
It was a handy size, so easy to carry and read.
The price was less than the cost of a magazine.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
I was very pleased to come across this book. The houses of the Arts & Crafts movement, by Baillie-Scott, Voysey, and others are well known. But the gardens that were integral with the houses have been somewhat overlooked. The Arts and Crafts Garden in the Shire series goes a long way to filling a gap in the literature. The book considers the gardens in relation to various important Arts and Crafts houses such as Rodmarton by Ernest Barnsley. But it also conveys how complex and interesting the gardens were in themselves, combining formal and geometrical arrangements of spaces with artfully contrived “naturalistic” planting. There are lots of examples of gardens, including many that were new to me such as Earlshall in Fife and the Phillips Memorial at Godalming. All the different aspects of the Arts & Crafts Garden covered - garden buildings, planting, ornaments - are discussed and illustrated and there is a useful gazetteer of places to visit. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Once again, Rutherford's descriptive and informative writing guides the reader into the world of the Arts and Crafts garden. I cannot recommend this book enough; the illustrations perfectly compliment the narrative and all in all, it just just a delicious read!
I would suggest Rutherford's other publications in the Shire Library also as they are equally as delectable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
A compact yet informative guide to how the Arts and Crafts Movement, and its values of simplicity, craftsmanship and beauty, influenced garden design, particularly in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, guided by such luminaries as William Morris, Gertrude Jekyll and Edwin Lutyens.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
A great book full of history, photographs and ideas. A must for anyone who would like to create an Arts & Crafts garden.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
It is easy to read and really informative with very supportive illustrations.
Now, walking or driving around I can see what effects people were (and clearly still are) trying to achieve with their gardens and homes.
As a result of this excellent book, I understand much more than I did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Does a good job of providing an introduction to a wide range of gardens. Could well be with a read before the summer season of garden visits - will certainly enhance the gardens for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
A great little 70 page introduction to Arts & Crafts gardens. The author helps you learn to be analytical about the key features and design characteristics and introduces the range of garden design types. The book is packed with gorgeous illustrations. Treat yourself! And whilst you're shopping the other Shire garden history books are worth looking up too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Slim volume bought as a gift for an enthusiastic gardener. I am told this is a good series of informative garden manuals --not just pretty pictures!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I'm no clearer on what is truly an arts and crafts garden after reading this. It started well and should probably have finished after the first chapter. Clarity slowly evaporated as the chapters went on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)