Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough short summary of the work during WWII at BP
Very typical of Shire books - this is a good summary of the subject and a sound grounding for further reading and research. It isn't the last word in the history of war-time activity at Bletchley Park, and it isn't meant to be.

Highly recommended and I hope it enthuses readers to read more about the place.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. Kevin Murrell

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected
I must say I expected a proper book, not a glorified pamphlet. I really thought this would be an in depth study of Station X; it turned out to be almost a modern day potted version of Bletchley Park's personnel; a bit like those old Ladybird books we had as kids!
Did not add anything substantive to my knowledge of Enigma etc. I was looking forward to reading this...
Published 17 months ago by Chris Snushall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough short summary of the work during WWII at BP, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Very typical of Shire books - this is a good summary of the subject and a sound grounding for further reading and research. It isn't the last word in the history of war-time activity at Bletchley Park, and it isn't meant to be.

Highly recommended and I hope it enthuses readers to read more about the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to this fascinating place., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Always been fascinated by Bletchley Park and this is a great introduction to the place and code-breakers who worked there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a crypt of decription, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) (Paperback)
This is a useful and informative reference book on Bl Pk. (Irrespective of their own understandable internal abbreviations, please avoid calling it "bp "- that confuses )
I wish we gave a similar accolade to all the British work done on Radar. Although Neatishead is good, we still have no real National central tribute to this 'sine qua non' of our winning WW2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read. I have purchased others on this subject, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Basic resource, excellent read.
I have purchased others on this subject.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) (Paperback)
I must say I expected a proper book, not a glorified pamphlet. I really thought this would be an in depth study of Station X; it turned out to be almost a modern day potted version of Bletchley Park's personnel; a bit like those old Ladybird books we had as kids!
Did not add anything substantive to my knowledge of Enigma etc. I was looking forward to reading this book having read about in the Daily Telegraph one weekend - perhaps I should be writing to the paper reviewer for giving a false impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library)
Bletchley Park: The Code-breakers of Station X (Shire Library) by Michael Smith (Paperback - 9 Jan 2013)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews