Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For car history buffs.
I like Shire books, they are small, easy to read and reasonably priced. This particular publication follows that pattern plus it's jam packed with detail and some good illustrations including those from the manufacturers brochures. I like it because there are no wasted words,no filling, it's concise and tells you what you want to know if you are either researching or in...
Published on 17 July 2009 by Mr. S. P. Thompson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of British Family Cars of 1950s and 60s.
I liked the book's period photographs and brochure illustrations. however, I do not share the authors' views on some of the cars of that period. Over critical of cars that were well loved by the buying public of the period.
Published on 1 Aug. 2011 by Richie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For car history buffs., 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. P. Thompson "SteveT" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
I like Shire books, they are small, easy to read and reasonably priced. This particular publication follows that pattern plus it's jam packed with detail and some good illustrations including those from the manufacturers brochures. I like it because there are no wasted words,no filling, it's concise and tells you what you want to know if you are either researching or in my case re-living the motor industry of the 50's and 60's.Well worth the effort of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nostalgic, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Shire Library, are in my opinion the "Masters of Nostalgia" - they consistently produce high quality and well illustrated books about many aspects of life from bygone eras. This book "British Family Cars of the 1950s and 60s" maintains that tradition and is well written and illustrated, mostly in colour.

Although short (around 70 pages), this book recalls cars from the UK that if you are in your 50s or 60, your Dad may have owned. Do you remember the Hillman Minx, Super Minx, Humber Hawk/Super Snipe, Riley Kestrel or Vauxhall Velox? Icons like these are vividly recalled using text, photographs and reproductions of the original manufacturer's adverts and brochures. The book also includes some of the motoring accessories of the time together with an interesting commentary by Anthony Pritchard.

To me this book also served to chart the British dominance of the car market at that time and also to contrast how far we've come today - would drivers back then have believed I can check the tyre pressures in my Audi from the dashboard?

If you are looking for a light read and a fix of 1950s/60s motoring nostalgia then this well produced but short book is a worthy investment. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 11 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
A lovely - if brief - look back at the humble family car of the 50s and 60s. Almost every page contains vivid, mostly colour photographs of marques that, for the most part, have long since disappeared. The text covers the period well, covering the UK's slow emergence from World War Two, the development and success of Ford, the frequent disconnect between advances in car styling and those in engineering and does a good job of explaining the emergence of roots that would ultimately doom British car manufacturing.

A really enjoyable book, I only wish it was twice as long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all car enthusiasts, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Good words and images of cars from the 50's and 60's that would appeal to any car enthusiast who wants to get a bit more information on British Famil cars from this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 3 May 2013
By 
Paul "KingRat" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Bought this book along with 3 other car books. Not as good as I expected, no colour photographs, but it's fine. It tells me what I wanted to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Contains lots of pictures and information. Good value book for car enthusiasts of the period 1950s and 60s. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors Piece, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
A good Reminder of Cars of days gone by some good some bad. but we all have fond memories of them. a good book to keep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
If you want a basic overview of British cars of the 1950's and 1960's this will be worthwhile.

The information is fairly basic but there are some good photographs and it is quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of British Family Cars of 1950s and 60s., 1 Aug. 2011
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
I liked the book's period photographs and brochure illustrations. however, I do not share the authors' views on some of the cars of that period. Over critical of cars that were well loved by the buying public of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synchromesh?, 7 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) (Paperback)
Good value and an interesting journey into nostalgia - thank goodness we have moved on - power steering, ABS etc etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library)
British Family Cars of the 1950s and '60s (Shire Library) by Anthony Pritchard (Paperback - 10 April 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews