Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good methodical look at British Roman Roads
I have no fancy academic qualifications - just an interest in British Roman Roads.

I originally had this book on loan but decided I needed a copy for my own reference. It's well worth reading a couple of times and going back to.

A different slant on the subject, more from the construction point of view, which is very valuable and comes without...
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by Philip

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful reference
Davies' book is approachable and readable, illustrated where appropriate with photographs and diagrams. It is well referenced, although I would have preferred to see references summarised at the ends of chapters rather than interspersed through the text. The study begins with what makes a good road and a summary of source material. It then examines the various...
Published on 28 Feb. 2006 by Mr. G. P. Nixon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful reference, 28 Feb. 2006
By 
Mr. G. P. Nixon "G P Nixon" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Davies' book is approachable and readable, illustrated where appropriate with photographs and diagrams. It is well referenced, although I would have preferred to see references summarised at the ends of chapters rather than interspersed through the text. The study begins with what makes a good road and a summary of source material. It then examines the various physical features of roads before considering the Romano-British road network as a whole. The conclusion, as with several Tempus titles, feels rushed. This is compensated for by a good bibliography if greater detail is needed. A gazetteer of known Roman roads in Britain is a welcome inclusion. However, Davies surprisingly neglected to consider the Lex Iuliana when discussing traffic congestion in Roman towns, which would not have occurred because of that law; this left me wondering if his discussions in other areas were similarly lacking.

Overall students will find this a useful desk reference for the subject. Laymen will find it a good starting point for learning more about Roman roads in this country, particularly in the absence of a current Shire Books equivalent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good methodical look at British Roman Roads, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Philip (Colchester Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no fancy academic qualifications - just an interest in British Roman Roads.

I originally had this book on loan but decided I needed a copy for my own reference. It's well worth reading a couple of times and going back to.

A different slant on the subject, more from the construction point of view, which is very valuable and comes without pre-conceptions other books bring. I like the research method used, based on facts from past excavations. It is a fairly ruthless and un-romantic approach, helping to keep you on the right road (awful pun - apologies).

I personally would have like to have seen more aerial shots, photos, maps - as I need more illustration, but this is very accessible and easy to read, whilst getting through some highly technical stuff and dealing with a number of myths that have built up around this subject.

A must read if you share this particular interest and passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No car journey will ever be the same again!, 23 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
An excellent overview of Britain's Roman Roads. It's a fascinating and thought-provoking read. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys history and car journeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source reading, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
im a kee historian and thought i'd put a generic search into the amazon search engine. The book i imagined i'd want was thre in front of me so i purchased it i have read it and enjoyed it immensely and have also learned many things i didn't yet know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, its boring, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
I am studying Roman Architecture at the moment, thought I would like a bit more information, but I think this is uninspiring.
I think I could have written it with a few days research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Bought for my metal detecting, archaeology obsessed husband. Full of good information and nice pictures. Would suit all ages really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Roman Roads, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Good introduction to the history of Roman Roads in Britain, inspiring further research and visits to existing remains in the field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dry but does what it says on the tin., 27 April 2013
By 
Jonathan Pedlar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
I had hoped for more on where Roman Roads are to be found, but it is soundly written by someone who evidently loves their subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roman roads, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Quite informitive,you would have to be very interested in this subject to be able to read this book to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology)
Roman Roads in Britain (Shire Archaeology) by Hugh Marlais Davies (Paperback - 10 Aug. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews