Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars medieval Roads and tracks
Book arrived in excellent condition. It is a slim book but contains many photographs, maps and diagrams making it an excellent accompaniment to the study of this subject.There is a good reproduction of the early Paris map of Great Britain and explains and gives examples of itineraries of journeys which was how we gain information of medieval journeys since they did not...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Mrs. S. Edge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part of the whole picture
Whilst a limited subject as the title sugests, I find that when combined with other individual subjects, they all knit together into giving one an overall general understanding of this wide area called Archaeology.

Whilst I would never be able to attain an expert status, it will all go together to give me an enjoyable insight into the subject.

It is...
Published 11 months ago by Ron Bartlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars medieval Roads and tracks, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Edge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Book arrived in excellent condition. It is a slim book but contains many photographs, maps and diagrams making it an excellent accompaniment to the study of this subject.There is a good reproduction of the early Paris map of Great Britain and explains and gives examples of itineraries of journeys which was how we gain information of medieval journeys since they did not have formal road maps. The text is in readable, bite-sized chunks and all information is referenced.Is more informative than a book three times its size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical ride, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Richard Barron (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
I was looking for a simple easy to read book to tell me about the road development during this period of history. I found this and it the job very well. There will be more comprehensive books, but for a quick easy read with good information you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 3 Feb 2011
By 
ruth (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
I found this book to be a page turner! I expected it might be a bit of a dull read if i'm honest, but i couldn't be more wrong. My only complaint is its very short. It is a book which covers the basics and may well pique ones interest to do further research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part of the whole picture, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Whilst a limited subject as the title sugests, I find that when combined with other individual subjects, they all knit together into giving one an overall general understanding of this wide area called Archaeology.

Whilst I would never be able to attain an expert status, it will all go together to give me an enjoyable insight into the subject.

It is because of this, I feel that this book has it's important place in my personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super little book, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
The arrival date was way over time. It could have been due to the transport here in Spain, it can occur.
Its a really informative little book, fun to read and also fits into a decent sized pocket. A Must have for the curious and the ramblers, a good idea to introduce ones children to; to see and imagine how our forefathers daily life with transport evolved. A super job done on this little book.Congratulations to the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval roads and tracks booklet, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
A good read and will give you an insight into what to look out for when searching for these.
Ideal for metal detectorists, ramblers, and nature lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval roads and tracks, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Stu "Stiff link" (Leyland, Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book. It gives you a picture of how people moved around the country in the past. A good book if you like history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very detailed, 30 July 2013
By 
Bob Harvey (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
An interesting introduction, but I was hoping for something a bit more revelatory, with more interesting examples.

Knows his stuff, but did not say much new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
Loved this book. Easy to read but interesting and like to learn more on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but nothing special, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) (Paperback)
This is mildly interesting if you have a burning desire to find out more about obscure roads and tracks.

However, it is probably a victim of its own success in that it always feels like the area you are interested in isnt covered in enough detail. Admittedly this is a short book trying to cover the whole country and it might have been better to split it into volumes - or make it larger.

Also, there is a heavy academic angle to the way information is presented, but this can be a bit inconsistent. This is great if you want to challenge some of the claims made (which you may well do) but it also makes it a bit dry and hard reading in places.

Overall, worth getting if you are really interested in old roads and tracks but dont expect it to cover them in any great detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology)
Medieval Roads and Tracks (Shire Archaeology) by Paul Hindle (Paperback - 10 July 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews