Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2000
Although the book is brief, it provides an excellent reference for the collector of art deco ceramics. The author has managed to give essential information on the more desirable producers of ceramics in the 30s and yet has avoided the usual tendency of art deco fans to behave as though only Clarice Cliff and Susie Cooper mattered! When compared with other publications on art deco ceramics, I have to say this book is the most useful, and good value for money. While the book does not purport to be a scholarly tome, it is undoubtedly the one most collectors will find indispensable.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
Great book! I bought this about a year ago, and it has been so useful. I've been able to take it around with me to Antique fairs and junk shops, and the accurate information about identifying and dating Deco ceramics has been a great help.
Lots of colour pictures, and a better than usual introduction, but the best thing is the book gives space to some lesser known factories such as Langley, Enoch Wedgwood, Shorter, Johnson Brothers and Myott. Also the usual stars such as Clarice Cliff, Susie Cooper and Charlotte Rhead are here. Also my favourite, Keith Murray.
I only wish it was longer!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
Great little book, very useful, like all Shire books, usually can only get them at museums ans stately homes, not easily here in Northern Ireland.....Prompt delivery, no problems, will certainly order again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I ordered this off a friends wish list as a Christmas present because I liked the cover. When it arrived it looked more like a pamphlet than a book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Basic information with good graphics but would have liked more detailing in descriptions and pottery marks to ease recognition of pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
fantastic book very informative easy to take with you but looks great on the coffee table too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Concise info. Laid out very factually.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
just my cup of tea!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)