Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the subject
Although this book is very brief and almost a pamphlet, it is well written and illustrated and is an excellent introduction to the subject.
There are some excellent illustrations and archive newspaper adverts and articles from the time which are printed here with excellent clarity.
The text itself is very informative and provides a great overview on the...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Freddie Valentine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful
It served its purpose but came over itself as an example of how hard those times were - a lighter literary touch plus more photos would have earned more stars.
Published 16 months ago by Alexander N. S. Guthrie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the subject, 30 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
Although this book is very brief and almost a pamphlet, it is well written and illustrated and is an excellent introduction to the subject.
There are some excellent illustrations and archive newspaper adverts and articles from the time which are printed here with excellent clarity.
The text itself is very informative and provides a great overview on the history of the workhouse.
There are more extensive books on the subject, but this short, diverting read is an informative, well presented and enjoyable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life as a pauper is brilliantly depicted in this book., 2 Nov 2000
By 
joseph.moss@lineone.net (West Cumbria, Great Britian) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
Review - The Victorian Workhouse by Trevor May published by Shirebooks.
Whilst researching my family tree I came across a reference to the Poor laws and the Unions - The Workhouses of Victorian England.
Realising my knowledge was to say the least a bit thin in this area I consulted the Amazon research facility. Not heard of it? Well by using the Amazon search facility you can have a very wide range of material presented to you.
One of the items on my list was the above book and what a revelation it has been. The book gives you grounding in the Poor Laws and in the foundation of the Unions or Workhouses. It follows this with a superb account of the design and construction of the Workhouses and their philosophy.
You were free to enter and leave the establishments but the cost of entry in terms of degradation was very high. Original text, quotations and pictures bring out the horrors to life in this environment. The daily routines and what happened to vagrants (tramps) is an eye opener.
The booklet ends with a transition to more modern times with a superb bibliography and a list of places to visit.
I can thoroughly recommend this excellent book as a start point to a look at how the poor were treated in Victorian and Edwardian England. I can now delve further into my family tree and illustrate some facets of at least one of my relative's life and sadly death
joseph.moss@lineone.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 7 May 2010
By 
A. English "future traveller" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
This is only a small thin book but like other Shire Classics, jam packed full of information. Provides good basic information with pictures, very comprehensive for such a short book. Suit anyone wanting an entertaining read without getting bogged down on language. Can be read in short space of time too, so good for those of us who can only read in short bursts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album), 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
My wife bought this booklet as she is researching ancestry and is interested in the history of the workhouse. I have read this booklet also and we both find it quite informative and gives a good overall description of life etc in the workhouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
I was expecting a book - this is more like a pamphlet!
Interesting content but the font is very small. Can't understand why they didn't make it a bit bigger, make a proper little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Small book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
Very little content for price. Was expecting more detail and more factual history than was provided in this very small book. Overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this little book but would have liked a bit more
It left me wanting to know more about these times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not as expected, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
quite disappointed with this item. item was very small in content and not really a great read, would advise to look at another book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 9 April 2013
By 
Alexander N. S. Guthrie "Jim" (Stamford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
It served its purpose but came over itself as an example of how hard those times were - a lighter literary touch plus more photos would have earned more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The victorian Workhouse, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) (Paperback)
I found this book very interesting ,as I started my nursing training at St Thomas's in Stockport ,which used to be a workhouse at the beginning of the 20th century..,I was interested to find out what life was like in one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album)
The Victorian Workhouse (Shire Album) by Trevor May (Paperback - 18 Sep 1997)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews