Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little introduction to old British timber buildings
This is the perfect introduction for older children or interested adults to the timber framed buildings of England and Wales. It's enough to make a visit to somewhere like Rufford far more interesting, yet simple enough for anyone to pick up and read in one sitting.
A little thicker than the usual Shire books, but still keeping to their usual format of small,...
Published on 8 May 2002 by Andy Dingley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
The book was much smaller in size than I expected but it contained a wealth of useful detailed architectural information.
Published 8 months ago by Peter Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little introduction to old British timber buildings, 8 May 2002
By 
Andy Dingley "andy_dingley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
This is the perfect introduction for older children or interested adults to the timber framed buildings of England and Wales. It's enough to make a visit to somewhere like Rufford far more interesting, yet simple enough for anyone to pick up and read in one sitting.
A little thicker than the usual Shire books, but still keeping to their usual format of small, lightweight books that offer a neat introduction to a subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good place to start, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
if you are new to the subject or a relative expert, this little book, written by the very knowledgeable richard harris, is a must have in your timber frame library. very informative, an easy read and full of good illustrations. a great place to start your journey into timber framing or a useful back up tool for the pro!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much info in such a small book!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
G. Frampton (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
If you don't have much cash and want best value for money, this is the book for you. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
The book was much smaller in size than I expected but it contained a wealth of useful detailed architectural information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful primer, 16 Aug 2013
By 
JD Stevenson (Crowborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
We moved into a period timber-framed house this year. The book is a valuable introduction to previously unknown techniques and skills, as well as how to understand how such buildings work. (We also bought the Old House Handbook (SPAB-inspired) which goes into more detail on care and maintenance.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
I can thoroughly recommend this little book for anyone with an interest in timber framed buildings.Very informative and well illustrated.Book arrived in good time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
I do a lot of timber work on old property's, wish I'd bought this book years ago good price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
Yet another great little book with
so much content. A good series in every case compact but full of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a book, 12 Feb 2013
By 
phil - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
Lovely little book - as described - couldn't ask for more . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) (Paperback)
I bought this a couple of months ago - good reference book. My neighbour saw it, was so impressed with it that he asked me to buy him one - he is a carpenter with over 50 years experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering)
Timber-framed Buildings (Discovering) by Richard Harris (Paperback - 24 Jun 1993)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews