Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, not jus another memoir!!
I thought this book was going to be another memoir following the craze that has been present for some time. I found this book strayed away from my predictions, it is told in both first and third person which is a refreshing change. And yet this book has not chosen this narrative style to go against the grain but because Lisa See can. I could relate to this book...
Published on 15 Jan 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit boring
It's more educational than entertaining I feel. I do have an interest in people and places but was sort of waiting for something exciting to happen.
Published 7 months ago by Fanny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, not jus another memoir!!, 15 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On Gold Mountain (Paperback)
I thought this book was going to be another memoir following the craze that has been present for some time. I found this book strayed away from my predictions, it is told in both first and third person which is a refreshing change. And yet this book has not chosen this narrative style to go against the grain but because Lisa See can. I could relate to this book because I am half Chinese and half white, her story had me gripped. But this book is not jst for a limited audience this chronical entertains anyone and everyone with aninterest in history and culture. BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fact and fiction!!, 10 May 2009
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
As usual Lisa See's book combines fantastic insight into the Chinese culture and with this one her family history is explored. Very different to her others books inasmuch as it is much more of a factual book but cleverly inter-twined with a fictional side. Difficult to explain but great to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
On Gold Mountain follows the See family from their early years in China to settling in America. It is a facinating read about the struggles faced by the family in their quest to earn money and fit into the Western society and touches on the traditions still kept up in an attempt not to loose their heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Gold Mountain, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
Excellent book. I love Lisa See's books. The book arrived within the stated period of time, was well packaged and was exactly as described by the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best stories written by Lisa See, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
I like the author Lisa See and have read most of her books. this was one I gave to my mother, my daughter, we and keep passing it on. It is a wonderfully written saga about a family and their history which takes you to another time and culture. It has been many years since I read this but going to order again preferably in Hardback so I don't part with it ... This time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gold mountain, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
I have not read this book,reading it jacket I considered it as a good book for one of my friend who enjoys reading life's history's it seemed to have what I was looking for her, so it was one for the Christmas stocking filling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gold mountain, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this one and felt for the female characters .could not put it down will read more from this authoress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit boring, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain (Kindle Edition)
It's more educational than entertaining I feel. I do have an interest in people and places but was sort of waiting for something exciting to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good fun read, 28 April 2013
A good fun read. I I liked her other books so gave this a whirl. It's intresting to see where she has come from as a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, interesting book. Couldn't put it down., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Gold Mountain (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic and gripping account of Chinese immigratin in America. An uplifting story about overcoming terrible odds to find a better life. An insight into the life of China from the mid 1980s to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a45de0)

This product

On Gold Mountain: A Family Memoir of Love, Struggle and Survival
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews