Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
In the fifth installment of the SEPTIMUS HEAP saga, Septimus has been made senior apprentice after having returned alive (the only apprentice to do so) from his Queste.

Septimus and his dragon, Spit Fyre, set off on what is supposed to be a simple mission to retrieve his friends Princess Jenna, Nicko, Beetle, Snorri, Ullr, and Milo from the Trading Post, where...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Syren
There is something about the Septimus Heap series in that it takes a while to really get going, you get hints that it will get exciting but it's only towards the end that it actually becomes exciting with a gradual build. his was still true of Syren, although I do think it got going a little quicker than the previous books. I think I am enjoying the stories more as we go...
Published on 1 April 2012 by Lucybird


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 10 Mar 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In the fifth installment of the SEPTIMUS HEAP saga, Septimus has been made senior apprentice after having returned alive (the only apprentice to do so) from his Queste.

Septimus and his dragon, Spit Fyre, set off on what is supposed to be a simple mission to retrieve his friends Princess Jenna, Nicko, Beetle, Snorri, Ullr, and Milo from the Trading Post, where he had left them at the end of the last mission. The retrieval quickly becomes complicated when Septimus mistakenly refuses the live SafeCharm sent to him by Aunt Zelda.

The SafeCharm, which holds a jinnee, is stolen from the delivery boy to whom Zelda had entrusted it and opened by a boy named Merrin. Since Merrin is not particularly bright, he has no idea of what a jinnee is, let alone what to do with one. As a result, the jinnee is set free to wreak havoc.

Meanwhile, Wolf Boy, one of Septimus' best friends, sets off on his own Task, which will lead him to fulfill the role of Zelda's apprentice, or Intended Keeper.

When Septimus meets up with his friends, they are on a ship owned by Milo Banda, Jenna's father, and only Jenna and Beetle decide to return with Septimus and Spit Fyre. The separation of the friends causes problems for both groups, as Septimus' group runs into a dangerous storm during which Spit Fyre is injured and crash lands on a small island, and Nicko's group must deal with a mysterious chest that Milo has brought onto his ship.

As usual, Sage captures attention from the first page and holds readers enthralled until the last. Fans of Septimus Heap will find this new journey as enjoyable as his previous ones - and will wait impatiently for the next adventure of this likeable young hero.

Reviewed by: Theresa L. Stowell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars original, 12 April 2010
This review is from: Syren (Septimus Heap) (Paperback)
So original, loved it! The Septimus Heap 'world' is imagined and written so well by A Sage that you can almost believe it's a real place, Utterly authentic and rich in variety and little nouances I just wish she'd go on writing them forever. (btw i altho this is in 'kids' section i am 25 :-P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first four, 1 Jun 2010
This review is from: Syren (Septimus Heap) (Paperback)
Both my son and I have been reading Angie Sage and discussing it between us...My son thinks this is the best out of all 5 books and cannot seem to wait for the next book. I agree with him that Septimus Heap series is one of the best out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Twists in a First Rate Series, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
When I first started reading book 1 of this series (Magyk), I was not at all sure about it. It seemed that here was another series about wizards in a faux medieval setting, with nothing much to distinguish it. But just as I was thinking this to myself, Boy 412 leapt from the pages and slapped me around the face with a damp herring! I was totally hooked, because this series is second to none in terms of imagination, lovable characters (princess Jenna, Marcia the extraordinary wizard, Beatle and Aunt Zelda to name but a few) and hilarious plot elements and twists that are strongly reminiscent of a mixture of J K Rowling and Roald Dahl. Angie Sage is in the top flight of British children's authors - and one thing these books are not, is derivative. They are original and enjoyable stories that will be loved by children, young adults and adults alike.

This book takes up where the last left off. Princess Jenna, Beatle, Nicko and Snorri have not yet made it home after the adventures in Queste, and a newly promoted Septimus takes it upon himself to collect them on his dragon, Spitfyre. But all is not as it should be, and Aunt Zelda's attempts to get a safecharm to Septimus do not run exactly according to plan! The result then is an adventure that is every bit as good as those in previous volumes.

In this story we learn more about Princess Jenna's father, and wrap up some other storylines. We learn about another type of magical (or should I say "magykal") creature that has not yet made an appearance, but makes up for it here in Angie Sage's usual off the wall but captivating style. As usual there are issues of love, friendship, trust and betrayal, forgiveness and reconciliation. There are poignant moments and exhilarating ones, and all wrapped up in a zany world that is characteristic of this series.

One new twist in this book is that the world of Septimus Heap gains a whole new and unexpected dimension to its history. Some people will love this for the way it fills in some questions about why the world is as it is. Others will perhaps be less sure, having been quite comfortable with a world that had some mysteries as to how it got the way it is. I'll avoid spoilers by not saying more about that here.

All in all, though, this is a first class book in a first rate series. I would have no problem in recommending this to pretty much anyone at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An older Septimus Heap fan!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of books is brilliant, and not to be kept for the kids either! I am slightly! over the age recommended for these books but I found them enthralling, and have the whole set. Would recommend them to any kid, or kid at heart, who likes fantasy tales like Harry Potter and the like. Thank you Angie Sage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book would read it 10 million times of I wanted to. Keeps you reading it until you finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Angie Sage is a great author I would recommend these books about Septimus Heap to all audiences that enjoy a bit of magic in their lives. The story is fast and well written. I couldn't put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Septimus Heap: No.5, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I confess that I had not read any books in this series for a long time; this book was a slap in the face and brought me back to the reality of the castle, although you do not see much of it in this book, and I was relieved to see Jenna, Septimus, Beetle, Nicko and the rest of the gang after a long time without reading of them in a long time.
Typical of a Septimus Heap book, disaster strikes early on after you think it's all right. A malicious spirit combined with a cat-man; this book is full of the quirky, original and magical stuff that Angus Sage is famous for. However much I would love to tell you, I would not want to spoil it for you. If you haven't read the first four, though, don't read this yet! Highly recommend, nothing more needs to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Syren, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really loved this book, and the whole series was really good too. i would recommend this book for anyone. c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Badman, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is for anyone who likes magyk and mystery i enjoyed the hole series but this is the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Syren: Bk. 5 (Septimus Heap)
Syren: Bk. 5 (Septimus Heap) by Angie Sage (Paperback - 22 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews