Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars90
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2012
For anyone with an interest in the first World War, this is a must. First hand testimony includes previously unpublished letters and memoirs, and photographs taken by troops on the front line using smuggled cameras. Although it does focus on the trenches it also covers details about life behind the lines and what happened on leave.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I have an interest in warfare and reading about it. For me this broke the mould. Consisting entirely of personal thoughts written by the men who were there. Not an historians opinions. At times funny other times tragic. I understand much more of what it must have been like to be a part of "The war to end all wars".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
An incredibly moving account of the war by those in the midst of it. Giving a better understanding of the atrocities, the horror, the boredom, and amazing strength of mind shown by these men. I feel humbled after reading this, a debt owed by us all that can never be repaid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I am a big fan of these type of books, they give a real insight into what people experienced.
While some of the accounts might seem naive it must be remembered that this was a different age.
If anyone thinks war is a glorious affair then read this and think again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I am an big world war 1 fan and believe the best books are those that focus on the words and letters of the soldiers themselves. This book uses these letters and interviews to create a powerful book and a great read. One of the best WW1 books I have read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
The sheer ordinaryness of the contributors and the simplicity of the book's style makes this a compelling read. The privations the soldiers lived with, and their stoic acceptance of their lot is utterly humbling.
Everyone should read this book...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Richard Van Emden have produced a fantasic account of a horrendeous time in our history, I love the lack of Jingoistic nonesense that one comes across only too often theses days. Well worth buying. One to keep on your shelf and not pass on to anyone
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
A very moving collection of personal letters set out in order of the events that took place nearly 100
years ago. A must read for those who are interested in the
First world war as seen from the soldiers,almost as it happened.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
A very interesting and thought provoking read. The many different sources provided many different attitudes to the war, and left me thinking could I have gone through what those brave soldiers went through.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Absolutely riveting
The sheer horror of the conflict is told in great detail,the simple truth comes over very strongly,I rate it the best book about the war I have ever read,not for the faint hearted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)