Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Soldiers War.
I don't normally feel compelled to comment on any books I read, however this new book by Richard Van Emden is so good that I couldn't resist making my views known.
The book progresses year by year through the duration of the war, each chapter is full of amazing personal accounts most of which have never previously been published, through these Mr Van Emden sets out...
Published on 18 Oct 2008 by A.J.S. 62

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great War through the eyes of soldiers
This is an interesting book if you are wanting to get some eyewitness accounts of the Great War and hear from the soldiers themselves. However, do not get a Kindle version if you are using it for academic study. While the book is very informative you cannot use any of the material for the essay because there are no page numbers which means you cannot reference specifics...
Published 16 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving books I've ever read, 23 Sep 2013
By 
PFL (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sheer ordinaryness of the contributors and the simplicity of the book's style makes this a compelling read. The privations the soldiers lived with, and their stoic acceptance of their lot is utterly humbling.
Everyone should read this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of these type of books, they give a real insight into what people experienced.
While some of the accounts might seem naive it must be remembered that this was a different age.
If anyone thinks war is a glorious affair then read this and think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have an interest in warfare and reading about it. For me this broke the mould. Consisting entirely of personal thoughts written by the men who were there. Not an historians opinions. At times funny other times tragic. I understand much more of what it must have been like to be a part of "The war to end all wars".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Th the soldiers war, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book telling the truth. How lucky we are today. All the stories read in an order that makes sense of the trench war. Great detail. First class book. Sorry it finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells the stories of the soldiers, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soldier's War: The Great War Through Veterans' Eyes (Paperback)
This book gives voice to the soldiers themselves. They tell the stories of things as they were, pulling no punches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a 'horrors of war' story but an account of every day life., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many interesting accounts of the daily life at the front written by real soldiers with many amusing and at times poignant things to say, An excellent insight into the experiences of people who were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and thought provoking, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting and thought provoking read. The many different sources provided many different attitudes to the war, and left me thinking could I have gone through what those brave soldiers went through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to understand the grim reality of the conflicting thoughts and experiences of being involved in this horrific war then you will struggle to find a book more appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book fascinating. It was great to read the letters, accounts etc actually written about the war while the people were there. I found the pictures taken by the soldiers very interesting.
I usually find reports of the First World War very upsetting but found this book changed my views on a few things.
an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely riveting, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely riveting
The sheer horror of the conflict is told in great detail,the simple truth comes over very strongly,I rate it the best book about the war I have ever read,not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soldier's War: The Great War Through Veterans' Eyes
The Soldier's War: The Great War Through Veterans' Eyes by Richard Van Emden (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews