Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, mind blowing, and incredibly well researched.
Richard Price first came up with the idea for Clockers whilst sat in a fast food restaurant in New York, during the waning years of what later became known as The Crack Epidemic. Whilst he observed overworked teenage kids sweating behind the counter for minimum wage inside, outside street dealers - in full view of the restaurant staff - made twenty times as much selling...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by Joe Cutts

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a movie
While I really enjoyed this book, everything in the book seemed to be written as if it was meant to be a film. Very heavy on conversation and visual imagery. Every chapter I read just confirmed that this was a screenplay more than a book. Still worthwhile reading, and I need to rent the video.
Published on 7 Feb 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, mind blowing, and incredibly well researched., 7 Jan 2007
By 
Joe Cutts (Sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
Richard Price first came up with the idea for Clockers whilst sat in a fast food restaurant in New York, during the waning years of what later became known as The Crack Epidemic. Whilst he observed overworked teenage kids sweating behind the counter for minimum wage inside, outside street dealers - in full view of the restaurant staff - made twenty times as much selling Crack. This posed the seemingly obvious question: What stops the guys inside the restaurant from doing what the guys outside the restaurant are doing? With that question in mind Price set out to research and, ultimately write, one of the finest examinations of 20th century crime ever written.

Set against a modern day equivalent of Hogarth's Gin Lane, rife with crime, privation, and a new form of Mother's Ruin - Crack - Clockers is the story of murder, deceit, prejudice, corruption, and, ultimately, redemption. While there are some minor inaccuracies concerning the actual drug, it's clear the rest of the book, including the black society in which it is set, was meticulously researched, for which the author should receive recognition - after all it isn't often non-black writers document Afro-America without relying heavily on conjecture.

Slightly dated now, this is still a brilliant, edifying, and educational novel. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Price is one of contemporary America's greatest, 25 Nov 2004
By 
MR B GOLDSTEIN (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
I feel that Richard Price should be considered among the great modern American writers. He seems to be underrated, perhaps because his books tend to be (wrongly) stuck in genre sections of bookshops. He should be on the list with John Irving and Tom Wolfe. He has the ability to bridge the gap between entertainment and profound art. It's exciting and enjoyable reading his work, but you also feel good doing it.
Clockers is probably his overall finest book, alternating from two characters points of view throughout the book. It's moving, scary, exciting and profound and gives more real detail than any contenders writing about street life. The best thing I can say about Richard Price, which is something you find all too rarely these days...He's an excellent storyteller and that's all you need to know.
Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Literary Forebear of 'The Wire', 27 Feb 2009
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
'Clockers' is an unrelentingly bleak novel, set in the Projects of Dempsey, New Jersey, at the height of a crack cocaine epidemic. Bleak, but after a slow beginning, this novel makes for compulsive reading.

I struggled at first to find my way in; set in the late eighties, 'Clockers' is slightly dated now, there is a lot of colloquial language and its characters have few redeeming qualities, making for an uneasy read. If I hadn't been watching 'The Wire' around the same time as reading this, I would have probably failed to understand what was happening in the opening hundred pages. There are large amounts of detail about the way drug deals are handled, and how the various police departments interact with the disenfranchised youths selling the drugs. 'The Wire' owes a huge amount to this book, and fans of the series will find much to like here.

Once past the first section, and the fatal shooting around which the rest of the novel hinges, 'Clockers' really takes off. Price has a very descriptive way of writing; no detail remains unanalysed, his characters are full bodied and his two protagonists (a dealer, and a cop) are very well drawn. The reader is pulled into their world and is forced to sympathise with both, despite them being fairly unlikeable characters. The sense of deprivation, despair and the impossibility of escape in both walks of life is acutely assessed.

'Clockers' is no ordinary thriller; the reader is asked to make an emotional and cerebral investment that is not required for your average crime novel, but the book is all the better for it. For me, 'Clockers' drops a star because of its slow beginning, which almost led me to put it down unfinished, but if you can push past that, and care about plot and characterisation, then this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 12 April 1998
By A Customer
I normally read the likes of Dale Brown, Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler and so on; this was something totally different. It was superb and highly engrossing; Richard Price has obviously done his research well. I loved the movie, but the book is much better. The main difference here is that Rocco Klein, the hardworking hassled cop is the good guy and Strike is the protagonist. As the mystery unfolds as to why Victor Dunham confessed to a drug-related murder the cop thinks Strike committed, the ending will surprise you no end. Well done Richard Price; this is a classic book by anyone`s standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb writing., 2 Dec 2008
By 
Robert Greenwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
"The walls of the waiting room were hung with black-and-white cautionary posters, encircling Strike with admonitions, the subjects ranging from AIDS to pregnancy to crack to alcohol, each one a little masterpiece of dread. Strike hated posters. If you were poor, posters followed you everywhere - health clinics, probation offices, housing offices, day care centers, welfare offices - and they were always blasting away at you with warnings to do this, don't do that, be like this, don't be like that, smarten up, control this, stop that."

I don't think you would find Julie Myerson or Ian McEwan making such an observation in any of their novels. That level of consciousness coupled with the quality of the dialogue, the characterisations, and the sheer brilliance of the plot, makes Richard Price a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE DAMN GOOD BOOK!!!!, 19 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Richard Price's "Clockers" is easily one of the best books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. It is a riveting tale of ruthless detectives, the guilty, the innocent, racism, drugs and hope.It is a book that makes us care about its characters including Strike, Det. Rocco Klein and many others. It is a book about the state of the drug problem in America as well as a tight, captivating murder mystery. Spike Lee made a wonderful, gritty film from the novel and both are urban masterpeices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An urban tale with heart, 20 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This is quite a massive book, but still retains a pace which flows as easy as cognac on a cold winter's day. Richard Price has certainly reseacrched his world well and the result is an urban tale which manages to bring us both sides of an ambivalent world of opposites without compromising the real issues. A solid movie by Mr. Spike Lee as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Jun 1997
By A Customer
This book is great! I really liked the movie and so my expectations for the book were high, but the book was wonderful. The character development was wonderful, you really want to see the lives of all of the people turn around and that they will have some happiness. Really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
Finished watching The Wire and want something similar to keep you "in the game"?! This old book is one you must read if you haven't. It's MUCH better than the pretty decent movie that it got made into, and well worth a read, regardless of whether you've seen the movie before, as the plot and character development in the book is a lot deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic crime fiction couldn't put it down, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockers (Paperback)
Excellent book best I read this year Ill be buying more of his books. Reads like an action movie. You genuinly feel for all the characters. The way the chapters alternate between the main characters, you always want to know what happens next. I couldnt put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockers
Clockers by Richard Price (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews