Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
I have tried a number of recipes in this book some are actually achievable for normal human beings. Other than that it is a science book and you should and will enjoy the journey.

A super coffee table book, recipes are written and explained in very good detail and the pictures are very appetising. This is a cook book that demands every once in a while you don your Heston glasses and inner madness to see what happens.

Even if it doesn't work 100% you'll probably still find you have a damn tasty dish.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
This book is so big it is worth every penny just for the amount of pages you get.
The wife and I wen and visited this great restaurant and wanted the cookbook to go with our visit.
No matter how good of a cook you are, you are not going to cook the receipes in this book.

The first third of the book is all about Heston got to be where he is today, very interesting read.
The second third is the receipes from the restaurant, some old some new, but not all of them as this book was printed 2008 so maybe a new addition might get released. The more famous dishes ie "Sounds of the Sea" are in there and even you can't or won't cook them, it is great to see what he has to do to make these beautiful foods.
The final third is all about the science of how and why he does his cooking. Very interesting reading.

So in conclusion, don't think you can cook the lovely food from the Fat Duck at home with this book, unless you live with Heston and his team of 47 Chef's. But a great read and keep sake (especially for the pictures and artwork) for any visitor of the Restaurant or fan of the Shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Is this a practical cookbook for the aspiring home chef? Not even slightly, but there's plenty of those on the market. Is it a glorious celebration of one man's all-absorbing enthusiasm for food, yes, yes, yes. The autobiography that forms the first section of the book shows how, although self-taught, Heston's techniques are firmly rooted in the classics. He sees his ideas, not as cullinary iconoclasm, but taking the art a step forward, like all great cooks. The recipe section is not a practical set of cooking instructions, but a deep insight into what it takes to get 3 Michelin stars, and get voted the world's greatest restaraunt. The last section, cooking techniques and equipment, does provide some practical knowledge, especially on cooking meat. However, it's the insights, more than practicality that comes across. I cannot recommend this book too highly. You may not use anything in it directly, but I bet that if you want it to, it will make you a better cook. Apart from that, it is a cracking good read for anyone who eats food. Now, let's drop hints that a really cool Valentine's Day present would be a sous-vide machine and a precision waterbath...
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Had this book for a while now and its one that plays with the emotions as well as the senses. Over time you will find yourself intrigued, inspired, loving an idea, going to cook the dishes and getting to the stage of hating the damn book for keeping you confined to the kitchen for the best part of a week, being amazed by your results, getting the satisfaction of the reactions of those you have made it for. You may even vow never again to attempt a recipe out of here, but you will keep going back for more, its one of the strangest books I've ever come across in my massive collection, but only this book has this effect.

No doubt Blumenthal is a one-off, completely obsessed with the idea of multi-sensory cooking and the science behind it. The book isn't easy, that's because it isn't meant to be, take what you want from it though, make yourself think of how to get around the absence of a paco-jet or thermomix. Definitely one for the keen amateur with the help of experience. Just remember, it can be done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was received as a present in advance of an amazing visit to said restaurant in Bray, and gives a "flavour" of the concepts, techniques and presentational flourishes that produce the amazing array of dishes awaiting the visitor to Heston's celebrated restaurant.

It's very much the theatrical end of the the gastronomic world - though that does a disservice as over the 500+ pages a huge amount of science, technical detail and down-to-earth common sense are also put across. There are recipes (each dish carefully described and dissected, the assembly of its constituent parts, and presentation on the plate), and my favourite chapter on equipment - more akin to a chemistry laboratory. The book is big, glossy and a little unwieldy, but the photography is amazing. I can see a lot of people "not getting it", but for those that do, there are many treats in store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
An insight to the why and how , with detail and great pictures . The art work is as abstract as the some of the "head line" dishes. Loads to do and try , even without all the fancy gadgets !. A chefs cook book , not one for the coffee table unless you HAVE read it!!.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
I was bought this as a gift as have been wanting to go to the Fat Duck for ages and my brother thought this was a much cheaper option than taking me! Having not seen anything about this book before starting reading, I thought it would be a normal cookbook with a few quirky recipes in, how very wrong I was! This does have recipes for some of the past courses served at the restaurant but as Heston says in the book, he really doesn't expect anyone to make them in their home kitchen, if anything, it makes you appreciate how much care and attention goes into each aspect of every plate served there.
The book really delves into Hestons questioning mind, and brought to surface my own which in turn has led me down the fascinating path of kitchen science and molecular gastronomy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I knew when I bought this book that I would not be using it as a source of recipes, and any prospective purchasers should be aware of that at the outset. However the book is a deeply fascinating document of how Heston has created stunning recipes that us mere mortals can only dream of tasting. The history section is really interesting and shows just how dedicated Mr Blumenthal has been in his pursuit of the extraordinary. The recipes are beautifully explained and photographed and there is a real education to be had here. I've tried making his triple cooked chips and have certainly taken some of the information and used it. This is a marvellous book and its a worthy addition to my bookshelf.. Hope you enjoy too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Fascinating read but pretty pointless if you want to try the recipes unless you have a science lab at home! Great photos and an interesting insight into Heston Blumenthals story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
This book was purchased for my Son Robert who is a head chef and had a strong desire to upgrade certain parts of his culinary knowledge ,has been very pleased with this book indeed and it is in constant usage.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£26.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)