Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - informative and very funny!
At last - a guide for raising toddlers which manages to be informative, offer realistic solutions to everyday parenting headaches but importantly, isn't patronising.

It's full of pearls of wisdom from the Mumsnet site, from parents who have been there, and lived to tell the (funny) tale.

Recommended to all!
Published on 5 Feb. 2009 by Katie H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth A Read
Not a bad read for parents needing a helping hand encourages parents to try out different things and not to worry if you're doing it right
Published 1 month ago by miss l waby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - informative and very funny!, 5 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
At last - a guide for raising toddlers which manages to be informative, offer realistic solutions to everyday parenting headaches but importantly, isn't patronising.

It's full of pearls of wisdom from the Mumsnet site, from parents who have been there, and lived to tell the (funny) tale.

Recommended to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a breath of fresh air., 5 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
How nice to see a parenting guide that is does not talk down to the reader, and offers options rather than dictates only one right way of doing things.

And a book about parenting that contains so much humour - reader, I nearly sprayed wine on my keyboard.

Having the excuse to buy this book almost makes living with a toddler worthwile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved, loved loved it!, 5 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
This is a great guide to all things Toddler. It will make you laugh so hard you might choke on your sausage roll, but there are some great tips to get you through this challenging time. It contains a great balance of humour and help, something I haven't seen in other parenting books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shoehorned with laughs, 11 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
The dry and droll down-to-earth humour personified by Mumsnet never fails to crack me up, and this book does not disappoint. Unlike other Mumsnet books (e.g. The Mumsnet Rules) this one has a good structure, with clear chapter topics, each tackling a different area of parenting toddlers (Behaviour, Food, Sleep, Travel, etc) and a higher concentration of practical advice. In fact, the book contains some genuinely useful tips, including `The Munsnet Pasta Jar' (a tool for reinforcing positive behaviour) and `Potty Training Boot Camp' (not for the faint of heart, or the cream of carpet). Furthermore, the layout makes it easier for the book's target readership (busy frazzled parents) to dip in and out when convenient (i.e. those stolen two minutes on the loo). Also unlike other Mumsnet books, this one strikes a better balance between the personal anecdote of `the Mumsnet mums' and the witty insight of the author. It flows better too, although you will be pausing from time to time for an intake of breath, because there are many laugh out crying moments. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly invaluable book that captures the essence of the Good Ship Mumsnet, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
A. Lane "slimvolume" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
Parenting books are usually a total waste of ink, destined only to be chucked down the stairs in a rage when the latest bon-mot turns out to be over-simplified nonsense. Real toddlers don't come with instructions, and "experts" don't know much, in my experience. The best source of advice is other women, who can empathise and offer practical suggestions. Owning this book is like having a room full of wise sisters and funny friends, but it will drink less wine and eat fewer biscuits.
Buy, laugh, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to become a parenting classic, 7 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
Tons of practical advice for panicking or put-upon parents faced with the mysteries of toddler behaviour. The breadth of advice on a wide range of topics (fussy eating, tantrums, behaviour, sleep, siblings and health to name just some) from other mums, not 'experts', will reassure readers they're not alone and there are different approaches they can try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 12 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
This book made me laugh until I cried with some of the stories. It is anecdotal (but baby books tend not to be based on hard evidence in any case) but I disagree with the reviewer who said it lacked structure. I thought they did very well at creating a structure - the chapter on toilet training is particularly good. They lose a star for the chapter on stay at home vs working mums. Deeply disappointed that a book created by Mumsnet would take such an old fashioned, outdated view of working parents, with the only question posed being whether or not mum should go back to work - stay at home Dads are dismissed as a rare and possibly mythical beast. Found this offensive and almost wished I hasn't bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for all parents (and grandparents), 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
i love these type of books. full of humour. at times when I'm pulling my hair out it's great to read that others have been in your situation and often worse. And some little stories strike such a chord that I laugh so loud I cry and get extremely worrying looks from anyone near by. Sometimes only another parent can understand what you're going through. And this book hits the nail on the head with a nice balance of advice, laughter and support. Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air!, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
E. Flanagan (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. You can buy so many books that are full of 'do this, do that' but this book is a total breath of fresh air. The introduction acknowledges that no child is the same and therefore no solution fits all and the ideas and suggestions throughout the book are simply 'tools' to try. No preaching, and a jolly good laugh throughout....the mums comments on some subjects are hilarious! I have bought 2 more books now for friends as I really think this makes it easier to cope with all those difficult toddler times! I would definitely recommend this for any parent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mumsnet guide, 24 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets (Paperback)
Really good book. Easy to read and dip into - makes you feel that you are not the only one without a text book approach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets
Toddlers: The Mumsnet Guide: A Million Mums' Trade Secrets by Morningpaper Mumsnet and the Mumsnet Mums (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2009)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews