Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, possibly even better than the first!
Once again, we find ourselves travelling between England and Talia, which is located in a alternate world. Like the first book, the book has likable characters, dangerous adventures, and a Mary Hoffman's wonderful captivating writing style. You just can't go wrong with that combination. Moreover, this book is possibly even better than the first one because the characters...
Published on 3 Oct 2006 by Wrecky World

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The second novel in the trilogy that moves in a slower gear than the first
Continuing the series, `City of Stars' did not grip me as much as the first instalment to this trilogy. Whether this was because the action has moved away from Bellezza or because it had the theme of a horse racing running through it, this novel took me longer than I expected and I found at times that I was a little bored.

Don't get me wrong, Hoffman uses the...
Published 13 months ago by Sarah Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, possibly even better than the first!, 3 Oct 2006
By 
Wrecky World (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Once again, we find ourselves travelling between England and Talia, which is located in a alternate world. Like the first book, the book has likable characters, dangerous adventures, and a Mary Hoffman's wonderful captivating writing style. You just can't go wrong with that combination. Moreover, this book is possibly even better than the first one because the characters are a little deeper: in the first book, the emphasis is on Talia and the alternate world; in the second book, it is more on the characters. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because although it is a very good book and definitely worth reading, it doesn't have an edge over other books in its category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Stars, 27 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: City of Stars (Stravaganza) (Paperback)
City of Stars is the second book in Mary Hoffman's Stavaganza series. In it, we meet a tomboy named Georgia, whose life is being made into a complete misery by her older bullying step-brother, Russel. When Georgia's talisman finds her and takes her to Remora, the City of Stars Georgia is thrilled-especially since the city is anticipating the most exciting event in it's year the famous Stellata, where riders must ride their horses bareback around the square to bring honour to their twelth. Even the beautiful Duchessa of Bellezza is coming. However, Georgia is soon up to her neck in murder, mystery, love and danger!

City of Stars is my favourite book in the Stravaganza series and if you are wondering whether to buy this after being unsure about the last book, City of Masks, this book is definitely worth buying. The plot in the City of Stars just puts the City of Masks to shame, and you will fall in love with the new characters. Each of the characters follows their own individual story line, and the character developement is astounding. This series gets better and better the more it goes along -and you will not be dissappointed.

A read not to be missed. Brilliant.

Mikaela-B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stravaganza city of stars, 14 July 2004
This is the 2nd book of the stravaganza series In this book you follow the story of georgia the next stravaganti (after lucien). Her Talisman is a winged horse which alows her to move between to worlds from are england to a place called remora (Siena)in the 16th centuary Talia (Italy). This book also includes Lucien and Arianna from stravaganza city of masks. This is a very good book i would advise buying.9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars city of stars, 11 Jan 2014
i really enjoyed this book, i would recommend it for anyone to read. it was really interesting and captured you mind. I could not put the book down. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Stars (Stravaganza) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic story, well written, full of suspense and twists. You'll fall in love with all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The second novel in the trilogy that moves in a slower gear than the first, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: City of Stars (Stravaganza) (Paperback)
Continuing the series, `City of Stars' did not grip me as much as the first instalment to this trilogy. Whether this was because the action has moved away from Bellezza or because it had the theme of a horse racing running through it, this novel took me longer than I expected and I found at times that I was a little bored.

Don't get me wrong, Hoffman uses the same formula as the previous story and whilst the story is set in another Italian town, we are still reunited with Lucien from `City of Masks'. We are introduced to a new Stravagante, Georgia, and the author makes some clever links with her and Lucien in the present day. Unlike the first book in the series, it feels like there is a bit more of a focus on Georgia's present day life, and this intensifies as the plot develops.

Whilst I found the book less gripping than the first, the pace certainly picks up half way through and the tension and excitement builds. The number of characters does become a little confusing and at times you do need to pause and consult the family tree! I think it was this that did take away a bit of the enjoyment because you are having to work a bit more at the story, rather than just let it take you along.

Although I found this book a little disappointing, it is still worth a read if you enjoyed the first book in the series. I liked the continuation with characters and once again, Hoffman's descriptions do her credit with bringing this alternate, historic place in Italy to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story for youngsters, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are exciting and interesting stories for young adult readers. i like the setting of Italian cities and London and the idea of being able to move between the two times. Each book introduces new main characters but keeps referring to old ones so the original story carries through. A goog read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the hardback edition, to keep forever..., 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: City of Stars (Stravaganza) (Paperback)
..here: City of Stars (Stravaganza), because you're going to want to keep this amazing book for years to come. Mary Hoffman has created a wonderful, rich world to escape into, and you'll want to revisit again and again (and at the time of writing, the hardback is actually cheaper than the paperback). Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Stars (Stravaganza) (Paperback)
book a bit tatty but didn't cost a lot so happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Fantastic Fantasy', 4 May 2004
By A Customer
These books are wonderful 'reads'. Don't read this review, buy, and read the books. When you have, spread the word and wait impatiently, as I am, for the next in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Stars (Stravaganza)
City of Stars (Stravaganza) by Mary Hoffman (Paperback - 7 July 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews