Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
M IS FOR MAGIC is a collection of eleven short stories. This book was geared for elementary/middle school but I thought that I couldn't read many of the stories aloud in my classroom because some of the themes are pretty adult.

I liked many of the stories, especially THE WITCH'S HEADSTONE. This was a story about a real boy who was living in a graveyard and...
Published on 20 Aug. 2007 by TeensReadToo

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy read... not the greatest of Gaiman's work
A few things should be considered before purchasing this book. Firstly, this collection of short stories is aimed at the early teen market. Secondly, it is by Neil Gaiman, and author not afraid to branch out and try new things, and lastly it is very short... Even shorter than the 249 pages would have you believe, as the print is quite large and spaced out.

With...
Published on 5 Oct. 2010 by Mr. Wesley H. Winegarden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
L. Kenney "Mother of four" (Taunton, Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M is for Magic (Paperback)
Purchased this for my 11 year old (boy) as a stocking stuffer. He's enjoyed it.... said the stories are interesting and fun but that it could have been better edited. I've heard the same from other readers in the family. Still worth a read if you like Neil Gaiman and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well received-reading it in the dark!, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M is for Magic (Paperback)
This was a gift for my nephew. I haven't read it myself but have enjoyed other Neil Gaiman books.
My brother told me that nephew was glued to it and was reading it in the dark in car as family were driving out for a meal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M is for Magic (Paperback)
Delivery 10/10 cost 10/10 quality 10/10 packaging 10/10 book content 10/10 author 10/10. I love this book so i bought it for a friend of mine. It came in good quality no marks or anything and in good time. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but too adult., 31 May 2012
This review is from: M is for Magic (Paperback)
This is a childrens book, suposedly, but the content is too crude for children. In Coraline that was suitable but in this, not so much. If this is a childrens book that is shocking but if it's made for teens then it's better but still not ok. I wouldn't recommend this to children at all. I am disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR CHILDREN!!, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M Is for Magic (Paperback)
This is a wonderful collection of beautifully written, but disturbing, short stories.

It lulls you into a false sense of security with a nursery rhyme/ Sam Spade spoof as the first story then pull the rug out from under you. One particular story, 'The Price' had me weeping and I'm 33!!!! And yet another, 'Chivalry' is bordering on Pythonesque hilarity.

Seriously, get this book if you love Neil Gaiman, it's a lovely taster of his short stories (although I believe most are also in 'Smoke and Mirrors') but do not buy this for your child as it will probably give them nightmares about trolls and Jack-In-The-Boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M is for Magic (Paperback)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M is for Magic
M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews