Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


213 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It takes a graveyard
Imagine Rudyard Kipling's "Jungle Book"... but replace the animals with ghosts, ghouls, werewolves and other such supernatural creatures.

Such is the concept of "The Graveyard Book," which cleverly turns Kipling's classic story into an exquisitely-written, darkly witty fantasy. While it starts as the assorted supernatural adventures of a young boy raised by...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life during death.
A killer is loose he has claimed three victims from one family but one escapes. He lives to fight another day. But there is something unique about this escapee.

He is a baby.

He does not know his name.

He finds shelter in a graveyard.

The ghosts who live in the graveyard, claim him and name him as No'bod'y.

Bod...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Jo D'Arcy


‹ Previous | 123 24 2530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Gaiman knows how to create his own worlds, 26 Sep 2010
By 
F. Wight "F.W" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
For many writers they would have only created one of the many imaginitive creatings Gaiman makes in these books.

Gaiman never creates something though that is pointless and everything he makes plays a big role within the story's conclusions and its character paths.

This isn't really a book about a boy growing up in a graveyard, but a book about a boy growing up - it just happens to be in a graveyard.

While not as 'emotional' as some people claimed to me, I still find it a thoroughly enjoyable and quick moving story. It is of course a book for children but this doesn't hold it back and reading it, I read it as a kids book and thought it was perfect in what it aimed to achieve.

One of Gaiman's best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and original, 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
Highly imaginative and original work by Neil Gaiman, about a boy who grows up in a cemetery - literally, raised by ghosts. Narrowly escaping from an assassin who murders his family, the toddler boy wanders into the cemetery and is adopted by the ghosts of the people buried there. He is save as long as he doesn't leave the cemetery, but as he grows older the "real" world becomes more and more alluring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Pebbles (Huntingdon, Cambs, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
Superb writing. Great story for adults and children. If you do not already own a copy buy one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Being Human' for 10-12s, 6 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
Gaiman is a wonderfully imaginative writer, full of dark flair. The premise in this book, has, through nefarious means, a young child losing his family. He is reared by a motley collections of ghosts who live by their graves in the local graveyard. There's a whole collection of ....entities...who inhabit the world, our ordinary, living reality, and, various representative of other kinds of existence.

There's a lot of humour in the book, quite a lot of sly education - the young reader will pick up snippets about history, medicine, literature, politics etc from the encounters the young hero makes. There's also some delicate handling of deeper matter - hints at what lies just over the border of adolescence, also bullying, revenge, death and loss.

And, of course, there are the wonderful illustrations by Chris Riddell. Whatever the charms this book may have as an audio book, losing these beautiful illustrations at pertinent points of the story would be a huge, huge loss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a touch of magic, 27 July 2010
By 
C. P. Crawley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
what a magical piece of work this book is. The type of book that holds ones attention and his hard to put down. A closed world exisiting in a graveyard. A book which draws you into this mystic dark place and all the characters within it.
When it starts, it's not what it seems, which makes it such a good read. This book will encourage reading, the imagination and hopefully make the reader go on to look for more books like this..pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book for young and old alike - just a good old fashioned story - my favourite Gaiman book, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved Coraline you will love this. Although not a book for adults, I most definitely am a grown up and loved it! Someone mentioned how talented Gaiman is and I agree, he paints a world so beautifully you feel you can see it yourself. This is my favourite of all his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better., 3 Mar 2009
By 
M. H. Eales "myke eales" (portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Hardcover)
Another beautiful classic from Mr Gaiman. This book may be a bit on the short side, but once you pick it up, you'll have a hard time putting it down til it's finished anyway.

Curl up on the sofa, grab a drink and sink yourself into the Graveyard book, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously Macabre!, 11 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Hardcover)
'The Graveyard Book' mixes deliciously the horror, humour and mistery, and hides very important moral lessons behind the adventures that Nobody Owens lives.
This book is an easy reading, suitable both for children and adults.
I enjoyed every moment I spent reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go on! Enjoy, 21 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book to my year 6 class and they have loved every minute of it! I bought this book and really enjoyed reading it myself before I read it to them.

So whether it is for children or just to enjoy yourself you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graveyard Book, 9 Jun 2009
By 
ruthy rowdy "R.H." (Springfield, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Graveyard Book (Hardcover)
I bought the book for my son and he loved it, so I read it. I don't know if all Gaiman's books are this good, but this one was wonderful, if a little darker than my usual reading. Anyone who gives this to a child under 11 or 12 is asking for nightmares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2530 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Graveyard Book
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - 5 Oct 2009)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews