Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to know anything about gardening to enjoy this book..., 16 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. N. Doron (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
...In fact, it probably helps if you don't.

A wonderful book, beautifully written, presented and providing a gateway into a movement that is growing and blooming in the manner of the most beautiful and diverse gardens. And diversity is key. At many points in the book, Reynolds highlights the fact that guerrilla gardening is a movement that acts as an umbrella for a diverse group of political beliefs, lifestyle choices and gardening motives.

The book is split into two sections: one describing the motives, ideas and history of the movement. The second section is packed with practical and easy to follow advice on how to get started as well as how to gain support and develop your garden into something beyond a hobby and into something that is extremely valuable for the community.

In selecting the book's style, Reynolds has clearly opted for the method which would make the book as inclusive as possible. And one may conclude that his strategy has been effective. After visiting the website,I learnt that two gardens within 2 minutes from my front door that I always appreciated and assumed to be the work of Haringey council, is actually the work of guerrilla gardeners.

The garden, like the truth in the X Files, is out there.

Power to the Guerrilla Gardeners of the world and to this well written and thoroughly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired!, 29 May 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Workman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
The walk from my front gate to the station will never be the same again having read this book, I'll be forever wondering where to drop the seeds that I'll have secreted about my person from now on! If the council won't clear the graffiti, cover it with flowers instead!
Well written and presented I can't recommend this book strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book!, 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. I. Midgley "Midget Gem" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend this book-it really inspired me to go out into my local area and brighten things up, or as it says in the book 'fight the filth with forks and flowers!'
The book is packed with tips to get you started (where to garden, which plants to use, equipment etc.), and I particularly enjoyed reading the 'pests' section(how to cope with drunks, dog-walkers and the like :P )
All in all a great read...something that has made me see the world in a different light and really inspired me to take brightening up my town into my own hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No excuses for no gardening!, 5 May 2009
By 
M. Suggars (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
This book shows that there is no excuse for anyone to neglect the world around them - you don't need any gardening expertise, your own garden or special tools to make the world a prettier, happier place. You just need to get out there and get your hands a bit dirty!

On Guerrilla Gardening helps the novice get started, and shows you what to do, where and how. For those already with green thumbs, its an entertaining read with Richard's own 'war stories' plus those from Guerrilla Gardeners around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blooming great, 4 May 2009
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
It is the perfect weather for even the least hardy of us to get out and do a spot of Guerilla Gardening. Richard is an inspiration having 'Guerrilled' neglected spots for many years and now having combined his own experiences and advice with stories from Guerrilla gardeners all over the world. A great read that also makes a great pressie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring....., 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
Great book weel written, should inspire readers into action and get involved in projects of your own and with others in your town!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Join the horticultural insurgency, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries (Paperback)
Richard Reynolds founded guerrillagardening.org a few years ago, giving a name and a face to a hobby/movement that's been rumbling on for decades, if not centuries - Reynolds mentions Gerard Winstanley and the diggers as early pioneers, right back in 1649. This volume collects lots of stories of projects around the world, picking up common themes and challenges. It's also a manual, detailing what to plant, where to plant it, and how to avoid getting caught, because as Reynolds points out early on: if you have permission, it isn't guerrilla gardening.

The simple definition of guerrilla gardening is `the illicit cultivation of someone else's land', and there's lots of reasons why you might choose to do it. You may not have a garden yourself, but want to grow things. There may be ignored or neglected patches of land in your neighbourhood. You might want to make your street prettier, grow some food for yourself, or make a political point about urbanisation or land distribution. All of those are legitimate reasons for secret gardening, although some are more important than others - for many, this is a subversive hobby. For others, especially in developing countries, it is a matter of survival.

Reynolds covers all types. There are hippies planting flowers, Londoners decorating roundabouts, Honduran peasants reclaiming agricultural land from the Chiquita banana company. There are some great stories. I liked the `phoenix gardens', the miniature gardens planted in the ashtrays in Vienna's stations after the smoking ban came in, or the vegetable plots that cropped up along the central reservation of Kenya's highways, making use of the only patches of land left in the heavily built up areas.

The book is full of such stories, from huge projects involving dozens of people to those who just scatter wildflower seeds out their car windows as they drive down the motorway. It's easy to see how you could get started, and it's given me lots of ideas, to my wife's consternation. For someone like me who doesn't know a whole lot about plants, it's also very practical. The sections on what to plant in dry or shady spots is particularly useful.

I haven't decided if and how I will strike, but reading On Guerrilla Gardening has certainly inspired me to look at the streets around me differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries
On Guerrilla Gardening: A Handbook for Gardening without Boundaries by Richard Reynolds (Paperback - 4 May 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews