Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to the body
I love this book. It's clear, authorative and witty. It contains much more nformation than the BBC series and demonstrates the author's considerable knowledge and range of experience. I would strongly recommend this beautifully illustrated book to anyone interested in anatomy and health.
Published on 24 Jan 2007 by Scoob

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Die young
A beginner's guide to the anatomy and health; if wanting more in depth go for a textbook.
Some good diagrams.
Really enjoyed the television series and links in well with that, but just reiterates what that says not much more detail.
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by HR3


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to the body, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Scoob (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
I love this book. It's clear, authorative and witty. It contains much more nformation than the BBC series and demonstrates the author's considerable knowledge and range of experience. I would strongly recommend this beautifully illustrated book to anyone interested in anatomy and health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the body and health., 12 Feb 2007
By 
Stephen Durr (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dr Alice Roberts book don't die young is an excellent introduction for the layperson to understand how to look after your body and the consequences of what might happen if you mistreat this most precious piece of equipment. Well written and with very good photographs and diagrams helps this book to bring the message home and should be on every ones bookshelf. Organs such as the skin, brain, liver and eye are revealed in plenty of detail. The thing about Dr Roberts is that she does not talk down to you and makes you feel that you should actually be responsible for your own health care. Read it and learn, take heed of the warning lights, and hopefully you might just avoid an early death through a bad diet and too much alcohol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Wadge of Bristol, 20 July 2010
By 
Michael Wadge (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health (Paperback)
This is a stunningly well written and illustrated Book. I saw Alice's excellent Series on which the Book was based and also avidly watched "Coast", where her abilities as a great communicator and her knowledge of archaeology, which is not even her specialist skill, were very apparent. I had the privilege of meeting her at the lecture on Coast as part of the Bristol University Centenary last year, I being a graduate and bought her Book called "The Incredible Human Journey",which she kindly signed for me. I make no secret of the fact that I am a great fan of hers (even though she is obviously much more brainy than me!) and as someone who has little scientific knowledge or ability I cannot recommend this Book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't die young, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Sam (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health (Paperback)
I am still in the process of reading this as it is the sort of book you need to take your time over. Dr Roberts has a very easy and clear style of writing and describing the human body and its various functions. This is a (text)book for the non-medical person, who would like to gain a deeper understanding of how the body and its organs works. It is a few years old now and the 'staying healthy' sections are somewhat limited in scope, however, I would definitely recommend it as an introduction to the human body for anyone with no or little prior knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating Reading, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health (Paperback)
A very good book, learnt a lot of information on my organs and how to best look after them in a language that was not beyond me. Too often these kind of books are too technical but this is what I so like about Dr Alice Roberts she explains in laymen's terms so mere mortals can understand. I have yet to see one of her programmes that I have not enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life guideline, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always, a really well writing, easy understable, book from the renown osterolog Dr. A.Roberts. Nice pics and drawings. full color
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health (Paperback)
Dr Alice has a very good writing style, everything is explained in simple terms, and there are a wealth of very clear photos and illustrations. This book gives a very clear understanding of the human body and how to look after it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a nice purchase, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a nice education tool for younger teenagers but it doesn't have as much in depth information as you may be looking for. The diagrams are excellent and it is punctuated by useful titbits of information to help keep the organ just discussed in tip top condition but the main body of text is at gcse level really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting facts, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health (Paperback)
Bought for my husband who loves Dr. Alice Roberts! but very interesting book that you can dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the series, 30 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed the series, I bought the book and have enjoyed the informative, enjoyably-written, very well illustrated and entertaining examination of the human body and how to look after it. It makes a change to go to the doctor before the event.
If more people buy it and follow its advice, the NHS may be saved some money. It makes a great companion to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Die Young: An Anatomist's Guide to Your Organs and Your Health
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews