Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2011
This is a review I should have written a long time ago, however being convinced that I `just wasn't that into Harry Potter' left me completely oblivious to the full extent of this story, until now. I finished this book one hour ago and I will now consider myself, a full-fledged crazy fan, only ten years later than everybody else. Enjoy.

Title: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Reading time: 2 days
Rating: 9 ½ / 10

Its no secret that J.K.Rowling has an imagination we'd all like to take credit for, however I don't think anyone expected, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, to be as captivating as it was. I, for one, could not put it down. Only after hours of reading would I finally give in to my chronic back ache and or droopy eyelids.

Having been with these characters since they were 11, you already know what you're getting. You feel like you know the score. But what you don't expect is how the unraveling of the story brings you closer to the characters you feel like you know so well. You experience they're conflict when confronted with riddles and clues, you experience them dealing with battle and loss, and amongst this, you experience they're everyday teenage angst as they deal with some long overdue love. I no what your thinking, that they've done these things in the others books too, but I can safely say, never like this. Never in a way that has you glued to your seat, soaking in words like they were crack.

For me Harry Potter has been a constant in my life, for as long as I can remember pointing at old buildings and asking my Mum if I'd found Hogwarts, so reaching the end was always going to be emotional. But I never expected that saying goodbye to Harry, Ron and Hermione would be like losing three old friends. And for me, the urge to keep reading until these characters die of old age, will never subside. Harry Potter has been a necessity among my generation, and after 10 long years, the book that finally see's `The Boy Who Lived' triumph, will not disappoint.

Captivated, excited, infuriated, heart broken, Inspired. You'll feel many things throughout the story, but after turning that last page, you feel what I can only describe as, magical.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
I read some of the reviews and i felt moved to right my own one. Firstly i would like to say yes the book is more adult than Jk's previous books but i think people are missing the point it is a natural progression not only for the characters but the readers who have grown up with Harry Potter! In my humble opinion this book and all the Harry Potter Books are classics and will stand the test of time. Right back to the book i found it just as avidly a page turner as the previous ones. yes perhaps some of the storylines could have been fleshed out a bit more, but it is easy to criticise, i found this book hugely enjoyable and very uplifting and a triumph of the obvious love and effort JK has put into writing it. I think the story and the many themes running through this book and the previous ones such as the importance of family, a human life, being true to yourself, self sacrifice, never giving up hope, friendship, Love etc... are all things that resonate now and in the future. I cannot thank JK enough.
77 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Having read the whole Harry Potter series twice I still don't think I am either a fanatic or expert. What I can say is that Deathly Hallows is the best book I have ever read and it concludes what is a compelling series of books.

I finished Deathly Hallows for the second time last night and could happily pick it up and start reading it again.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
So many pages, but so many questions left unanswered. For example:

- Why are the Weasleys poor? They can DO MAGIC! Even if it is against some kind of wizard rule to magic money out of thin air, it can't be that hard to rustle up a few quid if you can make things appear and disappear at will...

- What the Hell do adult wizards do? There is limited careers advice at Hogwarts, which is perhaps not surprising given that lack of career options available to wizards after they leave school. These comprise a) teach at Hogwarts, b) work at Ministry of Magic or c) become a lone crackpot. The majority will end up at the Ministry; a vast organisation looking after wizards, the majority of whom appear to work in that very building. Who on Earth pays for all these bureaucrats? One can only assume that the Weasleys' apparent poverty is the result of the extreme taxation that has to be applied to pay for the running of the Ministry...

- Who sets the curriculum at Hogwarts? It is unsurprising that wizards can do almost nothing when they leave school because they are lacking basic skills. Maths, anyone? The nearest they get to numerical work is arithmancy, but only Hermione seems to take this subject. (What does the arithmancy teacher do while waiting for Hermione to turn up?). Even for a wizard, it is more important to be able to add up a bill, write a sentence, speak a couple of words of French, or turn a mouse into a chicken and back again? It's OK, though, because one of the subjects that did make the cut is divination, despite it being an open secret that the teacher is incompetent and that the subject is nonsense...

- How does anyone get better at Quidditch? Sporting options at limited at Hogwarts. They play one sport (the rules of which are mean that a game can last less than a minute) but only a handful of pupils are allowed to play, based on a selection process which is arbitrary (to say the least). If you are not selected to play for your house (and only a handful ever play the game), then Quidditch remains an impossible dream... Given that students appear to have three cooked meals, of unlimited quantity, every day, it is amazing that every pupil at the school can even get up the stairs, let alone fly on brooms...

- What becomes of Madam Hooch? One flying lesson. That's all you get. Then you're on your own. Best of luck, boys and girls...

- What goes on in Slytherin house and why is it allowed to continue? There is clearly brain-washing going on in Slytherin. As soon as the sorting hat announces a new Slytherin, that person is doomed to a life of dark magic, unpleasantness and laughing at Draco Malfoy's jokes. Perhaps it is being forced to live in a dungeon that makes them all so miserable...

- Why is the Gryffindor common room so small? It is not clear quite how many students there are at Hogwarts, but I am sure that you need to get up pretty early to get a chair in the Gryffindor common room...

- What goes on in the rest of Hogwarts? The vagaries of the subjects taught at Hogwarts fade into irrelevance when one considers that most of the school day must be spent in travelling the enormous distances between classrooms and that therefore the lessons can only last for about 10 minutes. By the time they get anywhere, they must be knackered. Perhaps that's why they got rid of the sport - students get all the exercise they need from traipsing around the ludicrous site of Hogwarts;

- What are we to make of the plight of Hermione's parents? Poor Mr & Mrs Grainger. They work for years to study dentistry and then have a child, a brilliant student. To their amazement, she becomes a wizard, which must come as a bit of shock. Perhaps an even greater shock is that she moves out of home at the age of 12 to take up permanent residence with the Weasley family, and then never goes home. For some reason, these poor dentists never even contact the school (which they could not travel to, in any event) to enquire about their prize-winning daughter. Then, one day, they have their memories wiped and Hermione never even existed. One can only assume that JK Rowling REALLY hates going to the dentist...

And finally...

- If wizards are so clever, why can't they invent the biro?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2007
What a fitting conclusion to what has been a fabulous series. By far the darkest of the series and young readers might get scared / worried. Some suprises along the way though I found it dragged a bit in the middle. The end show-down a superb finale and I only pray that whoever is given the honour of directing this final film does it credit and a much better job than the last two films (Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix)... I would have preferred the epilogue hadn't been written but I suppose it makes sure we can't hassle JK to write any more in the series and thus weaken what has been a fantastic journey. Certainly answered all the questions that the previous books had raised - a must-read!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2008
Luckily enough the last (probably) installment of the Potter serial did not disappoint me like volume three, five and six.

Even though the familiar Hogwarts setting is held back till the last chapters and the usual flaws of Ms Rowling's writing are all still there for the roll call, this last episode manages quite a fair amount of tension, nice characterization and interaction, good plot twists; all in all good fun.

The romance element that busied so large a part of volume five and six is here reduced to a more reasonable share replaced by magical duels and plenty of action. Explanations are fluid and Harry's self loathing and whining are kept short.
These 830 pages flow unerringly to a satisfying ending and to a reasonable if a little conventional epilogue.
The book could probably have been better but this is no big news and at least one has as much fun as in volume one.

The book's editor did not his/her best though: quite a number of inconsistencies are scattered throughout but this could even come out as fun for Potter's fans who are bound to catch them all.

Of course this seventh episode cannot be read on its own because it ties all the loose ends of former episodes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just about everyone, it seems, has been on the journey with Harry Potter over the past ten years - eagerly awaiting the next installment, devouring it as soon as it appears, and then mulling over the implications, twists and clues as the HP universe takes shape in their minds. I found this final book is a richly satisfying conclusion to the story - exciting, moving and intriguing.

The tight-rope that JKR walks as she endeavours to mix adventure, mystery, morality, emotion and humour into her tale (all the while having to contend with the breathless anticipation of her vast reading public) is almost impossible to stay upright on - to be sure, I thought there were some wobbles here as characters get shunted around locations in a somewhat unrealistic fashion - but her achievement in having captivated our attentions for so long with such a great work of imagination can't be denigrated. This is a fine ending to a wonderful story.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Wow! Just Wow!
In this final book of the Harry Potter series, Harry must embark on his most dengerous adventure yet in order to find and destroy the remaining Hercruxes in his final battle against Voldemort. Harry, Ron and Hermione must leave their loved ones behind as they embark on this final journey to destroy all of Voldemot's ties to the land in order to finally rid the world of his evil. But can they find and destory all the Hercruxes before Voldemort finds them?
This is definitely a very moving book that constantly has an air of finality to it.
I can say of sure that the trio's friendship in this book kind of goes into an even greater depth as they learn to rely on one another even more and look to each other for much needed support in these dark times.
The chapter on Snape's memory's got me thinking "Oh, that explains everything!!" and, "Well Dumbledore did try and tell Harry (at least of Snape's regret) in the previous book when he found out about Snape's involvement with the prophecy, which resulted in his parents' death.". It also made me realise just how brave Snape was. The only problem is that we don't get to hear Harry's thoughts toward it (perhaps he doesn't quite know what to think about it?) as it just goes on to him thinking about - well, you know (best not give too much away!!) - about what he must do next.
I won't even go in to any of the shocking and sad deaths in this book. But I will say that the ending is one of great satisfaction to readers and concludes the whole series nicely.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
I read this book with a mixture of emotions, on the one hand finding it hard to put the book down, and on the other not actually wanting to reach the end, for it would mean that it was all over. Yet what a fantastic and fitting tribute to a brilliant series the end was.
As a fan of the series, J K Rowling's magical world has over the years completely captured the imagination, with her brilliant characters, ingenious creativity, humour, and parallels to the real world. Particularly endearing is how the readers have been able to watch the central characters grow up and mature, with the novels growing increasingly darker as the series has evolved.
Indeed the Deathly Hallows is a complete world away from the Philosopher's Stone, with Harry, Ron and Hermione no longer within the safe confines of Hogwarts, but on a dangerous quest, completely alone and with no idea of who to be able to trust anymore!
Deathly Hallows truly is a fantasy book of epic proportions; there is action around every corner with a real sense of nobody being safe, and indeed there are a few sad farewells to many beloved characters. However, it is not all action, as the character development also continues with internal struggles as well as external; and as always the true value of friendship shining through. I also particularly liked the subplot relating to Albus Dumbledore, as it added an extra layer to his character and highlighted how no one is ever truly black or white. The chapter which finally revealed the true nature of Severus Snape was also a joy to read.
In Deathly Hallows J K Rowling finally ties all the pieces of her intricately woven saga together, and as everything falls so perfectly into place, with old questions being answered, and the significance of certain clues finally dawning, one is left simply marveling at her brilliance!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
Words can not describe the crushing sense of loss I felt after finishing this book. Rowlings amazing depiction on a magical, ingenious world does not falter in the slightest as Harry's story comes to a close. The built up hype behind this book made it a very easy victim to die hard Harry fans awaiting this final installment yet all the boxes were ticked. Each character developed so much in this book that at times I simply forgot I was reading. It is so easy to become trapped in the rapid moving plot and I felt -probably like so many others- that I was destined to become a student at Hogwarts.

The envolvement of romance further heighted this novels attraction as Rowling managed to merge all genres possible in literature to produce this masterpiece. The thrilling action scenes, horrifying voldemort sections and comical Ron quotes widened the readership so it is nearly impossible to find a human on the planet who can not sympathise with or take pleasure in this novel. I loved the sense of unity created in the battle of Hogwarts and how characters with previous minor roles became heroic figures, this was shown particularly in the case of Neville Longbottom: the clumsy ill-fated character who possesses the catch phrase 'why is it always me?' becomes a significant symbol of hope towards the end of the novel. This shows how three Dimentional and typically human Rowling creates her characters.

This phenomenom has been a massive part of my childhood and the best books I have -and will possibly ever- read. I love Harry, Ron and Hermionie and how you never know what you're going to find at the turn of a page. If fast moving, entertaining and emotionally heart wrenching chapters are what you're looking for this is you're book... and probably you're life for the next few weeks. Do not miss out!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse