Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hunting we will go...
My wife had a mushroom epiphany last year when stood in the middle of a wood in the Chilterns surrounded by all sorts of Fungi: If we were able to tell which was deadly poisonous and which deliciously edible, we could pick away to our hearts content, dash home and make soups and pâtés and all sorts of mushroomy things for weeks to come! As it was, we didn't know a...
Published on 3 Sept. 2007 by John Fraser

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
There are better and more easier to understand out there
Published 7 months ago by russ


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fungus for the Faint-hearted, 7 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
Very good book if you are getting started and want to know what to look for and more importantly what to avoid but it is worth getting a more comprehensive book as well so you can double check exactly what you have picked (as the author says himself). The only downside of this book is that it can lead you to believe there are fewer 'species' than you are likely to encounter and lull you into a false sense of security, especially if you haven't read the whole book before you dash out and start gathering. His sense of humour makes the book more interesting and gets the balance right so that you can have fun without poisoning yourself (hopefully). Perhaps not for those with a lack of attention to detail, like my niece, who dashed straight out and came back with a young deadly webcap thinking it was a penny bun. Must just go and check she's still alive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but not a field guide, 3 Mar. 2009
By 
Am Garlick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. Humorously written, lovely pictures and beautiful production. The recipes are good too.

Please don't use this as your only field guide though - you should look at investing in Roger Philip's Mushrooms and familiarising yourself with the features of mushrooms before tucking in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it covers Magic Mushrooms, 30 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
This is a great book, it's small enough to carry with you but contains a dizzying amount of information. If you're a beginner I don't think you could find a more witty, informative and genuinely interesting book to get you started. Even though it's not really a cover-to-cover book I did read it all in one sitting anyway.

Sadly, I haven't put the book into practice yet, spore testing is crucial but my colour perception is rubbish so I need to persuade someone to help me. The point this book hammers home very, very clearly is if in doubt, don't eat it or it could cost your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most friendly yet practical guide around, 10 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
This book makes mushroom foraging as easy as safety allows. No it doesn't have the biggest selection of fungus when compared to other books but really, if it's not in here it's not worth eating. The author is at times laugh-out-loud funny and this book is actually just a nice read when all is said and done. It gave me alot more confidence to get out there and and pick some food. However, do reference other books (several times), take your time and start with the easier to identify mushrooms to get your skills warmed up - the hedgehog mushroom is pretty much fool proof and very tasty.
Buy this and The Easy Edible Mushroom Guide by David Pegler for the field, and buy Roger Phillips for home - you should find thats a pretty good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Handbook No 1, Mushrooms, 14 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
A well written and informative book, written in a humorous and easily read style. The Author John Wright puts mushroom gathering within the grasp of the novice, with clear precise descriptions and pictures.
The book contains four sections, Edible Fungi, Poisonous Fungi, a mushroom identification chart that takes you through the various distinguishing points, that, until I had read the book, I was completely unaware of and a Recipe section. All in all it is a must for anyone who intends to try this potentially dangerous form of nature's bounty.
It is the most informative reference book I have read on the subject.
If you ever read one book on wild mushrooms, this has to be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, 6 Oct. 2011
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
I bought this book and others in this series for my wife as a present as she is very into using what nature provides rather than the Supermarket. We have collected field mushrooms and Ink caps for years and enjoyed them. We wanted this book to take us furthur on that journet into discovering what else is out there in the fungi World. The book does not dissapoint in any way. Well written with plenty of help and warnings not to try anything unless you are 100% sure of whatyou have picked. I agree these warnings are necessary but with a few other identification books we have managed to expand our knowlege quite quickly and add new flaours to the food we have grown and found. This is a good strating point for the beginner and useful for the more experienced find you own food person. Like this book and the series very much and will gradualy get the whole set as they have added lots of free and easy to get food to our table. The hedgerow book in the series has been great as well and we now have some Rosehip wine on the go. Overall a quality book well bound with a wipe clean cover and can easily be taken out on fungi hunting trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
This is very usefull and very great book. I'm glad i bought it. It is not too big, so you could easy put it in your handbag or even in a "big" jacket pocket if you are going for mushroom search :) There are some recepies added too,so that is very usefull too.I recomend this book to everyone who wants to find out something more about mushrooms in Britains fields and woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not mushroom for error - sorry!, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
What a great little guide this is - nicely bound hardback with a professional looking cover and a wealth of information for amateur mycologists and budding self-sufficients. I think there's always going to be a problem for wild mushroom hunters in that one will always be slightly uncertain that the mushrooms they have found match any in the guide, however as long as you are giving it serious consideration I reckon all will be well. Cautionary tales of unwary and careless mushroom pickers abound in here, however there is also a lot of positivity regarding the various textures, tastes and versatility of many of our fungal friends.
I recently picked and cooked a load of Velvet Shank mushrooms after consulting this guide, and they were delicious with garlic butter and a couple of slices of toast. The book is well laid out, with ample pictorial support and information on both edible mushrooms and poisonous toadstools; chatty and engaging, the compilers have obviously put plenty of thought into the production of this tome, and I for one am a convert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars angwella, 4 April 2009
By 
J. S. Garner "angwella" (U. K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
Mmhhh not bad. a good clean view on the various, numerous and fatal fungi that there is trotting about.
The size and ease of use is great for when you are out and about.
I must say that you should read it, if not once but twice before you go with it. That way you can be slightly more confident when out and about.
Remember if you're not sure DON'T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference materiel, 17 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 (Hardcover)
You see your mushroom and you immediately stop and look around you. With no-one around you creep up on it, stalking low to avoid being seen. You hope you don't step on a branch and spook the fungus into hiding. You creep around the tree to find the mushroom in all its glory, shining like a jewel in the forest. it's saying "pick me, pick me".

But you can't. The stupid mushroom guide you got has the crappiest photo's and most hideous line drawings that a 5 year old could better, so much so you risk a one way ride in an ambulance.

Then you find this book and everything changes!

This book has some of the more common and easier to identify mushrooms around, plus a few of the more common poisonous ones, all in crystal clear photo's and wonderful descriptions, as well as a few mouth watering recipies.

Buy this book, it is very good as a starter guide to all things fungus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1
Mushrooms: River Cottage Handbook No.1 by John Wright (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2007)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews