Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting for
I don't think this book is a marketing excercise at all. Its the logical next step from the superb first book and it addresses the things I would love to have seen a few years ago. For example, Trotter Gear, the 'Mother' for bread making and some wonderful recipes that I've eaten at St John but were sadly not in the first edition. These books are just so comforting to...
Published on 24 Aug 2007 by Mr. Bleddyn Davies

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meaty... but small!
As an owner of the Macmillan first edition of Nose to Tail Eating - a large book with excellent full page pictures - I was disappointed to see the Bloomsbury new edition in 2004 so small in format.
This new book repeats that mistake - and compounds it with some rather unadventurous recipes and supposedly comic pictures. In 1999 Furgus' book was a true revelation, but...
Published on 13 Aug 2007 by M. Halsall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting for, 24 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Bleddyn Davies "Jonesy" (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
I don't think this book is a marketing excercise at all. Its the logical next step from the superb first book and it addresses the things I would love to have seen a few years ago. For example, Trotter Gear, the 'Mother' for bread making and some wonderful recipes that I've eaten at St John but were sadly not in the first edition. These books are just so comforting to read as well, even if you don't feel like cooking, it's totally relaxing to just sit down with a cuppa and immerse yourself in Fergus's unique and amusing style of writing. Both books are in a league of their own, and long may they stay there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An addition to a classic, 28 April 2008
By 
Doktor Futtocks - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
This shouldn't really be bought as a stand-alone recipe book. The purpose of 'Beyond Nose to Tail' is really as a complementary volume to the original book. Taken on its own, it is a bit unbalanced and incomplete (hence the 4 stars, rather than 5).

Considering both books as a single entity makes far more sense, and make for a truly superb exploration of fascination, thought-provoking and delicious food. Each volume enriches the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fergus Henderson does it again, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
I love this, fantasy cooking and wonderful to read
As with the first book, all the recipes I've tried have worked out very well, but I don't actually cook them so often as they tend to be for special occasions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great prices., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
Thank you. Fast service. Great prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Richard H. Turner (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
Both the original and the sequel are superb books for inspiration, few of the recipes are correct, but this hardly matters if you have a reasonable grasp of cooking principles. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new cook book, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. T. P. Russell "bigtommy" (bigtommy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
Really good book, particulary liked the recipe for the suckling pig!
The book did have more pudding recipes than i was expecting though, which is why i didn't give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meaty... but small!, 13 Aug 2007
By 
M. Halsall "MH" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II (Hardcover)
As an owner of the Macmillan first edition of Nose to Tail Eating - a large book with excellent full page pictures - I was disappointed to see the Bloomsbury new edition in 2004 so small in format.
This new book repeats that mistake - and compounds it with some rather unadventurous recipes and supposedly comic pictures. In 1999 Furgus' book was a true revelation, but this - bar a good section on baking - seems a more a marketing exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II
Beyond Nose to Tail: A Kind of British Cooking: Part II by Justin Piers Gellatly (Hardcover - 20 Aug 2007)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews