Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Second
In this, the second novel in the series of Larklight by Philip Reeve the heroes of the original return in an adventure of bewilderment, adventure and mystery as secrets uncovered from the first outing return to cause not only problems but require solutions. As with the original its quintessentially British in its offering with typical humour, the stiff upper lip attitude...
Published on 2 Nov 2009 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A jolly read ...
Fun but not a patch on the 'Mortal Engines' series. Tone might be off-putting if you haven't the good sense/fortune to be born British!
Published on 7 Sep 2008 by Dick Pearson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Second, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Starcross (Larklight) (Paperback)
In this, the second novel in the series of Larklight by Philip Reeve the heroes of the original return in an adventure of bewilderment, adventure and mystery as secrets uncovered from the first outing return to cause not only problems but require solutions. As with the original its quintessentially British in its offering with typical humour, the stiff upper lip attitude and above all the message that no problem is insurmountable. A great second offering from the author and one that really has made me a firm fan. I really can't wait for the third part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art & Myrtle, save the universe again!!! In a most British fashion of course., 13 Jun 2008
By 
D. Francis "viapurico" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starcross (Hardcover)
If you love J.K.Rowling you will love Philip Reeve.

A rip roaring adventure through the victorian cosmos, stopping for
afternoon tea and cakes, naturally.

Wonderfully written and illustrated. the book tells of the adventures of brother and sister, Art and Myrtle Mumby.
Set in the victorian cosmos (they thought we could breath in space) they have exciting adventures. Fighting off robots, black spectral space brain control things, mad scientists, French secret agents, all with the help of space pirates.
Its a fantastic read.
I am probably not the sort of person that this book was aimed at, No, im not a middle teen nor am i a pre-teen fan of the Harry Potter books who fancied a change of read. I am in fact a 28 year old civil engineer from kent, with a wife and a baby boy on his way.
It just goes to show that this book can appeal to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked starcross and larklight because they were exciting and interesting books that I thing any age would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the ideas behind this series. Great characters and settings. Wish i had lived in a flying house for my childhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice adventure book, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcross (Larklight) (Paperback)
an innocent action adventure book for juvenile/adult alike. Reeve has a nice way of writing a story and these books lead onto a series of books. I liked them so much I bought the whole Reeve collection of moving cities, dragons,goblins and all. very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping yarn . . . ., 27 Jan 2011
By 
Funforus (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcross (Larklight) (Paperback)
Bought originally for my 14yo for Christmas he turned up his nose and 11yo said could he have it instead! He read it in a day and obviously enjoyed it so 14yo suddenly wanted it back . . . he then read it from cover to cover in a day and a half, fast for him.

I then got to read it.

I don't think it (and its companions in the series) is / are as intrically thought out as the Mortal Engines / Hungry Cities quartet. However the empirical test is the effect they have on my boys and here the score is the same. Therefore, I have to award this book five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good sequel, 9 April 2009
By 
Simon A. Wright "simonandsuewright" (manchester;england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starcross: Larklight 2 (Paperback)
excellent sequel as good as the first book at least as good as the first one i thought.More odd aliens and more daring do-what more could we ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being an excellent antidote for boredom or melancholy, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: Starcross (Hardcover)
Starcross is a wonderful continuation of the Larklight series, following the continuing adventures of the Mumby family in their Steampunk adventures in space. In a universe wonderfully illustrated by Mr Wyatt, Mr Reeve presents deep-space fish, trains that traverse the aether between asteroids, aliens both friendly and terrible, space pirates and secret government agents, automatons and the VERY latest in Victorian-styled bathing costumes!

I found it lots of fun - and if I could I'd give it a 4.9, as it's just not quite as good as Larklight, the prequel. I'd recommend reading Larklight first, as it provides a lot of the character background. Looking forward to Mothstorm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too British - of course!!!, 9 Jan 2009
By 
James L. Munro "Jim Munro" (Farnham Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcross: Larklight 2 (Paperback)
Came across the first(Larklight)and bought it mainly because I was looking for a present - then I went out and bought another copy because I couldn't bear to give it up. So Starcross fairly leapt off the shelf at me. For me the fun of these books is precisely because they take the michael out of the British Edwardian and 1920s attitudes to the world that heavily influenced the 1960s comics and childrens books when I was growing up. I accept that to really get the joke you have to be of a certain age - yes and British as the last reviewer suggests.No doubt British readers miss a lot of the humour in the works of Robert Asprin, Robert Sheckley and all those superb US writers of comic SF. Its a pity but there it is. Even if you don't entirely get the joke its a good story (or even "a ripping yarn") and the binding, illustrations and spoof adverts alone are worth the price. A Jolly Good Read for Boys - and girls thank you Myrtle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A jolly read ..., 7 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starcross: Larklight 2 (Paperback)
Fun but not a patch on the 'Mortal Engines' series. Tone might be off-putting if you haven't the good sense/fortune to be born British!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starcross
Starcross by Philip Reeve (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews