Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What we can learn from observing cattle - seriously!
Whether or not you are familiar with Autism or Aspergers, I think it worthwhile reading Temple's earlier book first. This one is then written 10 years later, and based upon her successes and failures, she takes you through some of her thoughts and ideas.
The prevailing theme is that how she uses her experience and expertise at working with cattle (and other animals),...
Published on 10 Jan. 2005 by Keith Appleyard

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit one sided
This is mostly good, well rounded book. However, Dr. Grandin does make some glaring over generalizations, and often seems to assume all autistic people are like herself. While she admits this is not true in place, she will go to the very next paragraph and say something like, "because all autistic people are visual...," when, in fact, some autistic people...
Published on 12 Sept. 1998


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What we can learn from observing cattle - seriously!, 10 Jan. 2005
By 
Keith Appleyard "kapple999" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Whether or not you are familiar with Autism or Aspergers, I think it worthwhile reading Temple's earlier book first. This one is then written 10 years later, and based upon her successes and failures, she takes you through some of her thoughts and ideas.
The prevailing theme is that how she uses her experience and expertise at working with cattle (and other animals), understanding their basic fears, dislikes and preferences, and how this has given her an insight into the equivalent fears, dislikes and preferences of autistic people.
This animal-human empathy may seem weird to some, but it really does seem to come up with some rational ideas. For example autistic children don't like things that look out of place, just as cattle interpret a broken branch or disturbed earth as signs of a predator in the vicinity.
There is also some potentially useful discussion on the role of more modern drugs, such as clomipramine and fluoxetine.
Finally, to demonstrate that this is not just a 'light' book with a rudimentary index, we get a Bibliography, with nearly 200 references for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autism, Sensitivity, Understanding and Genius, 19 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. S. J. Wade "thebardofb6" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinking in Pictures (Paperback)
This is a book about autism and the author's struggle for acceptance, education and fulfilment, as a world authority on the humane handling of livestock. As the title suggests, the book offers a fascinating insight into Grandin's idiosyncratic way of thinking, which is both enthralling and sometimes amusing. It might offer guidance for those attempting to manage autism and explanations as to what autism is for the curious. It explains how it affects the lives of those who are identified as autistic, from Kanner's to Asperger's. And, whether from the descriptions of the physiology of the condition or the biography, there emerges important philosophical questions about different ways of being in the world. It offers inspiration in the author's description of the way she manages her condition, and might offer others encouragement and inspiration in managing their own physiological or psychological disadvantage. Autism, it seems, covers a wide spectrum and it is very amusing, as you can't help noticing autistic traits, in the personalities of many so-called 'normal' people. It seems impossible not to conclude that the existance of autism is a precious gift for the progress and creativity of mankind, and from the perspective of an autistic person, normal society shows itself to be a very cruel and rejecting entity indeed. Grandin comes across as a very likeable and compassionate person and my admiration of her is unstinting. I am very glad that she took the trouble to write this book. I liked it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography About Autism and Animals, 11 Jun. 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Temple Grandin grew up with Asperger's Syndrome before it was understood by anyone but a handful of researchers. She has turned her insights and special interest in animal science into a successful career designing livestock handling systems. She claims that the image-based thinking of the autism spectrum is similar to the language-free thought processes of animals. This insight leads to interesting conclusions about communication.

The book weaves together accounts of Grandin's life and the development of knowledge about autism. Its eleven chapters are organized by autism topics and cover visual thinking, diagnosis, sensory problems, emotion, developing talents, treatments, relationships, connecting with animals, animal thinking, autism and genius, and religion. Temple Grandin provides a clear, readable account of scientific findings supplemented by experiences from her life. This expanded version includes updated information about autism spectrum causes, diagnosis, and treatment that have become available since the book was originally published in 1996.

The author is candid about her life's hard-won lessons. She also shares the things which bring her the greatest satisfaction and what these insights may mean for others. A sample:

- Her innovative design of a "squeeze machine" to restrain cattle is based on how calming she found gentle pressure as a child.
- Temple visualized large transitions in her life as stepping through a doorway--and often found an actual doorway to step through and reduce the stress of change.
- One way to get a feel for visual, associational thinking is to play with the Google search engine for images.
- Autistic fixations are not always a problem; some people are able to channel them into successful careers.
- Early in her career, Temple often made business contacts on the phone so she didn't have to interpret and respond to complex social signals. She believes that phone and internet contact can be useful in more gradual development of social skills.

Grandin's blend of research reporting and personal reflection works well. Her book covers the basics of autism, grounded in the author's life. It is both a contrast and a complement to another excellent book, Tony Attwood's The Complete Guide to Asperger's Syndrome, which offers a drier and more exhaustive presentation of the same subject. Both are highly recommended for anyone on the autism spectrum or who wants both breadth and depth in their understanding of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinking in pictures, 29 Aug. 2002
By 
carol vincent (smethwick, west midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A really good insight into autism. This book captures you from the beginning and you feel that you can see into the world of the writer.
She helps 'normal' peolpe to understand some of the difficulties that autistic people have in communicating and understanding the world around them.
The writer proves how being autistic need not be a barrier in achieving in life.
An interesting account for all readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... many resonances ..., 10 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Thinking in Pictures (Paperback)
Having previously read Liane Holliday-Willey's "Pretending to be Normal", I bought Grandin's book when I saw it in my local bookshop. Her description of thinking in pictures has many resonances for me. I don't have AS or HFA but I do exhibit the Broad Autism Phenotype, which is enough in itself to cause some problems similar to those described by people with ASD.

Tiny things in the book were enormously helpful to me. At one point Grandin says that she finds books or films about relationships boring or confusing. In the TV documentary on her she said she would prefer to watch Wallace and Grommit. Ditto - and it was very cheering to find that I am not alone in that idiosyncrasy :-)

It's hard to convey just how helpful such biographies are to those of us who have struggled, even with the mildest manifestations of autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A God-send for Parents of Autistic Children!, 6 April 1999
By A Customer
This is the FIRST book that I have read that has given me real insight into the mind of my autistic son. I laughed, I cried, and many times I said, "Now I get it!" Temple Grandin has given parents a true gift with the writing of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS ON AUTISM EVER WRITTEN!, 4 Feb. 1997
By A Customer
Anyone connected in any way with autism or Asperger's syndrome - families, professionals, teachers, people with autism and AS themselves - should read this book. Anyone who has ever wondered what it is like to be autistic should read this book. Anyone who doesn't fall into one of the above categories should read this book anyway, and learn something about a world that "normal" people never even dream of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating view from inside autism, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One interesting thing with this aubiography is that Temple Grandin sets herself apart from most of us - in a positive way - by treating her problems as somehing she has to learn to cope with through research and investigation rather than choosing to accept defeat. Perhaps living with autism is such hard work that a little more doesn't seem to rattle her.

Grandin is at her best when writing of her personal experiences, which give an insight into autism that can probably not be reached in any way other than hearing the voice of people with this condition (or, more rightly, spectrum of condition). Similarly her capacity to understand others with autism means that she can provide insight from beyond her own direct experience, and I was enthralled by her description of one friend with autism who took years to understand that the meaningless noises his speech therapist insisted on making were in fact a way of conveying meaning to another mind.

She's less engaging when writing about the medicine behind autism and how it might be treated. Whilst a fact-based mind like hers will be drawn to this, it makes for less insightful writing and is possibly double-edged because she's not a medical professional and some of the information in the latter sections may not have the authority it appears to show. it's dIfficult to be confident on that statement because a common theme within the book is that existing medicine and psychology is at an early stage when helping people with autism, but it would probably be wise to treat this part of the book as a useful source of information rather than a definitive guide on how therapies can or should develop.

It's a fascinating book for anyone that could be hugely helpful to anyone with a family member on the autistic spectrum, but the best of it is Grandin herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating..., 30 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking in Pictures (Paperback)
I found this book really fascinating and I have also seen the Horizon documentary featuring Temple Grandin. She is very inspirational for me, particularly as I have a son who is on the autistic spectrum (asperger's/HFA). He also seems to be a visual thinker and he makes lots of pictures out of objects probably based on things he has seen that interest him. They are quite complicated (he is four and a half years old). He also makes quite complex patterns. He is also very good at making things out of lego like drills, houses, airplanes. Both my husband and I had grandfathers who were very good with their hands and could fix anything, build models etc. Yet he does not interact with children very well outside his family and is struggling at school. I think he has sensory issues similar to Temple Grandin's. Anyway, time will tell how he develops. It is a very interesting read and I would recommend it to any parent/carer of a child who is developing in a different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius of thinking in pictures, 17 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking in Pictures (Paperback)
This is a marvellous book by temple grandin that complements animals in translation. i recommend you read both to become totally immersed in her life and what it must be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thinking in Pictures
Thinking in Pictures by Temple Grandin (Paperback - 1 May 2006)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews