Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sportswriter
Don't be put off by the title: this isn't really a book about sport or sportswriting. It's one of the greatest first-person-narrator novels of all time. The first of Richard Ford's astonishing Frank Bascombe books, this is perhaps a slightly conventional novel than its successors, Independence Day and The Lay Of The Land, but it's no less powerful.

If you are a...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by Dave Gilmour's cat

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Putdownable
Woven into events in the life of Frank Bascombe - the said sportswriter - over one Easter weekend, we have a tale of losing and then finding yourself as a nearing-middle-aged male. The language used has been carefully, even beautifully, chosen in places but clever craftsmanship is not enough.

Critics have found Ford's writing "elegaic" - but that can translate...
Published on 16 April 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tedious, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sportswriter (Paperback)
I bought this book after hearing a fairly favourable review on the radio, although, to be fair, the review panel was not unanimous in its praise. The story (if one can call it that) is about a man who has written one successful book but has given this up and become a sportwriter. He has recently lost a son and subsequently divorced. The tale all takes place over one weekend that, allegedly, changes his life (but it is difficult to see how). Although one can feel sympathy and some empathy for his situation, the central character is not at all engaging and the book largely comprises a collection of self-indulgent ramblings of someone who is neither interesting nor very intelligent. It also spends much time focussing on events, places and people with which a non-American will probably not be familiar and will not be interested. Overall, therefore, a disappointing and boring read, and certainly not great literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreary dull and HARD work, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Ronald Ellis (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sportswriter (Paperback)
Oh Dear I read a good review in the Telegraph about Richard Ford.

I had never heard of him

So I ordered this

What a disappointment The hero was rubbish and the other characters were not memorable. I read every word, but cannot see what others found in this recital of dull American landscape and people

I have just ordered Independence Day Perhqps I will see the light?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deftly writtten, 27 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Sportswriter (Paperback)
this tightly written novel holds your attention from beginning to end. A serendipidous find, (and not an arresting title for me), I was hooked from the start. Read it, it will stay with you. Oddly affecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abandoned, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sportswriter (Kindle Edition)
I am having difficulty with this book and have not read very far in to it. I am finding the story weak and have no sympathy with the main character; I shall go back to it in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Twaddle, 24 Aug 2008
By 
R. Ahmed "Raz" (Avalon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sportswriter (Paperback)
This is so badly written that I'm not even going to make the effort to adequately express how poor this book is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sportswriter
The Sportswriter by Richard Ford (Paperback - 7 Aug 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews