Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars45
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2006
At last a "cookery" publication that isn,t all about over inflated chefs egos and how to make a meal look michelin starred. No Antony (i cant really cook) Worrall Thomson and no Gordon (my way is best or i,ll smash your face in) Ramsay. Just an honest chef with an honest knowledge and passion for food. Not just the cooking but the origins and history of the recipes and ingredients. It is this concept within it that make this one of the most readable cookery books i have ever picked up, actually quite riveting almost like a classic novel. Waiting to see where Hestons unstoppable curiosity would take him next. Although maybe some of the techniques might be a little beyond the average home cook. A Dyson hoover to make a Black Forest Gateaux ? I ask you, not every home owns a Dyson ! However Hestons tales of his travels especially make for some fantastic reading almost a culinary version of Michael Palins "Around the world in eighty days" I would without reservation recommend this book to anyone even the non budding chefs amongst us.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2006
This book is interesting and good, for the dishes covered. I would however highly recommend his previous book, Family Food, as a better, wider ranging book and introduction to his cooking.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Blumenthal re-invents the British Classics in an albeit complex manner. His descriptions of his search for perfection makes interesting reading even if you don't attempt a single time-consuming recipe...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I watched his show a couple of times and absolutely loved it. The book has really nice recipes and lots of nice facts and information about products and cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I bought this as a present so I haven't tried the recipes but I bought it on sale for £5 which is a bargain for Heston. The book is in great condition too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
A very nice product,.prompt delivery,..well made quality article..I would recommend this lovely article to family and friends..Thank you very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Like Heston, you will love this book with its insights into Heston's philosophy on foods
Thoroughly recommend it to all foody people!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Too few reciepes for such a good chef. A lot of history on each of the methods to cook, but not enough on what to cook

dissappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
This is a very good cookery book, tells you just how to do things from basics, and they come out tasting really good, would recomend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
not what I thought it would be , not a cook book it is heston telling you about places and not about the food he cooks, disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)