Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Jerusalem Memoir, 22 Jun 2006
By 
Mrs. Sarah Philps (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating account of every day life in Jerusalem written by someone who is neither Israeli or Palestinian.She is in the unique position of being able to make friends with people on both sides of the conflict.

The book grips you from the start. A doctor by training,a wife and mother she describes vividly the turmoil of life in modern Jerusalem.

There is the horror of the aftermath of a suicide bomb next to her children's school,and later the worry of whether the ceasefire will hold long enough for her to give birth safely in the maternity hospital in Bethlehem.

The book is full of historical detail,meticulously researched with excellent notes.

So Emma Williams has pulled off a rare feat; a book for the general reader as well as the student of Middle Eastern politics.The reader gets completely caught up in the narrative but also learns much about the background to the present crisis in Israel/Palestine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique inside view, 2 Aug 2006
By 
A. L. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir (Hardcover)
This is an astonishing book - it gives a meticulous over view on the Palestinian/Israeli situation which is unbiased and clearly put. A vital tool in trying to understand this complicated region, most especially at this time of enormous turmoil in the Middle East. It is compelling and at times, uncomfortable, reading as it spotlights the huge, hidden, human tragedy that is occuring everyday for millions of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 20 Sep 2008
By 
Molly (London, England) - See all my reviews
I urge anyone with a slight interest in the Arab-Israeli conflict to read this book, or anyone who just wants to know more. For students of the conflict, this book gives a rare insight to the day to day life of Jerusalem. It is candid and honest, and is beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please, please read this book, 6 April 2010
By 
Mrs. R. Eggleston "Book Worm" (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up and lived in the Middle East for my formative years; I have read extensively trying to understand "the situation", the age old conflict that so rarely gets such an honest, non-biased, humane account as this great book gives it. We should all be reading this book and reading it to our children. If you want to know what really happens there, to both Palestinians and Israelis, please read this book. It is not an easy reading book, at times harrowing, but it's a true and accurate observation of the lives of the people in the region. To be human is to put down this book and be filled with compassion for both sides of this awful war that has been going on for 60 years while the rest world watches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It should be compulsosry reading, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not always easy to read - but everyone who is interested in the intractible problem of the Middle East should read this humane book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than The End of the Street, 1 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir (Hardcover)
A very interesting and informative book. It gives a great insight into the Palestine/Israel situation
with faults on both sides without being biased. However the book does leave one with a feeling of despair of how the conflict will ever be resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Mary Holmes-Smith, 2 Mar 2007
This review is from: It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir (Hardcover)
This is a disciplined memoir with an unexpectedly vivid evocation of place and people. As much as I found it difficult to hear the stories, I was compelled by the beautiful and honest voice of the author to keep reading.

This book needs to be published in the United States NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eye-opening, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a page-turner in the traditional sense, but you can't stop reading because it gives such a vivid picture of living inside a battle region. The day-to-day life issues are surreal and one can only feel enormous pity for all involved. I can't believe the author stayed there with her growing family. I would definitely have fled. I have bought another personal account about the Palestine conflict on the back of enjoying being educated by this extraordinary book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle East Insights, 19 May 2011
By 
Prof J. Maxon (Shap, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir (Hardcover)
The book is outstanding in terms of being extremely balanced in the author's comments, views and observations pertaining to her life in Jerusalem in particular and the Middle East in general. Her insights were simply amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must, 9 Feb 2012
This is a book every one should read. A real eye opener and so well written. Thank you Emma Williams for writing the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Easier to Reach Heaven Than the End of the Street: A Jerusalem Memoir
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews