Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Almanac in a Traditional Format, 26 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
An astonishing modern work of reference, Schott's Almanac has reinvented the yearbook for the 21st Century.
Gone are endless, dull pages of moons and tides (though he has a very neat section at the back all about the calendar), and included are sections about the media, science, technology, films, books, the arts, and celebrity.
So, although you can look up all about the Queen's Christmas Speech (and who has been given honours), you can also see who won I'm A Celebrity, and who was voted out of the Big Brother House (and in what order). There is also a very good news section at the front that describes all of the major news events of the year, from the London bombs to the Ashes tour.
I've always liked the idea of Almanacs, but found the reality of them stiffling and dull. Schott's Almanac breaks the mould and, just as his Miscellanies did, presents a wealth of information in a fascinating way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the miscellanies!, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
What young Ben Schott has done here is such a stoke of genius, that one wonders why no-one's throught about doing it before (and don't mention Whittaker's, which is unreadble by comparison!) Basically you have in the palms of your hands a thoroughly enjoyable and definitive guide to the last twelve months: the stuff you really ought to know in the fields of news, media, sport etc (like a run-down of the election and a day-by-day account of Ellen MacArthur's round-the-world trip) and some other info that you really don't need to know (like who sang what in Celebrity Stars in Their Eyes?!) He manages to maintain the tone and humour of the earlier books while doing something with more purpose - let's be honest the previous titles were pretty throw-away, in the best possible sense. I'm certain I'll be looking back at my copy in years to come.
And whereas the last two books were more niche, this has the wider appeal of the original miscellany and will definitely solves my worries about what Christmas presents to buy all of my male relatives this year! Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Modern Year With an Archiac Twist, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
For quite some time, I had been an annual buyer of such almanacs such as "The World Almanac", "Harris' Farmer's Almanac", and the "Farmer's Almanac" - Until I came across Schott's Almanac. The book is a wonderful compilation of the year - providing more information than the three aforementioned almanacs together. Separated into 13 sections (Chronicle, The World, Society & Health, Media & Celebrity, Music & Cinema, Books & Arts, Sci, Tech, Net, Travel & Leisure, Money, Parliament & Politics, Establishment & Faith, Sport, Ephemeridies), Scott's Alamanac presents the modern year with an archiac twist. A MUST have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - a seriously entertaining Almanac, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
SCHOTT'S ALMANAC answers a need that, while not exactly pressing, had existed for many years: namely, the need for a serious, yet entertaining almanac. For too long, yearbooks have either been dull (Whitacker's) or frivolous (Guinness) - SCHOTT's is neither. Rather it tells you everything you need to know about the year, as well as the more unusual and entertaining aspects. I have often thought, when reading old newspapers, that the adverts are just as interesting as the articles. SCHOTT's ALMANAC manages to convey the "feeling" of the year (from its curious words to its curious characters) while also presenting the key "news" facts. And, like all Ben Schott books, SCHOTT's ALMANAC is very beautiful. Lovely type, wonderful graphics, and superb little pen-portraits. It is a joy to read, and a joy to flick through. Certainly one to collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal stocking filler, 29 Nov 2005
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
Ben Schott's trivia collections lend themselves to the format of an annual almanac and the good news is that this tome is up to the same standard as his previous books, with lots of nuggets of information you didn't know you didn't know but which are strangely fascinating.
I love the mix of modern up-to-date information (such as the meanings of the different colours of wristbands) with the Victorian-style presentation and quaint illustrations (including that of Wayne Rooney). There is also a review of major news highlights of 2005.
Overall this is an ideal Christmas present, the sort of thing you can dip into again and again. It certainly beats socks anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you can read over and over again, 4 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
I've kept myself amused and friends and family bored to tears. It's a thought provoking, discussion starting adventure of a book. Full of useful and useless information, it's a book you just can't put down. You know you'll never be bored of this book because one day, you'll need some of the facts in there to catch out a knowitall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trivia goldmine, 20 Feb 2006
By 
Eagle Feather (Durham County, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
Ben Schott has excelled once again with this fantastic miscellany of useful and - dare I say it - useless trivia. The presentation is as is usual from him really easy to read and is in the style of all his other books.
This book will keep you enthralled for hours although you may not remember the vast majority of it, it is a book one can read from cover to cover or just dip into now and again.
Buy it and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handbook of knowledge, 2 Jan 2006
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
A facinating read, full of all the information you never knew you really wanted to know. The ideal resource for impressing friends and family be it in the pub or around the dinner table. Never again will you be stuck for something to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
Great - everything I wanted to know and more - all those things I've subconciously wondered about such as the meanings of all those website endings... .com, .net, .org....
And that picture of Rooney was so accurate...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 30 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Schott's Almanac 2006 (Hardcover)
Schott is back. And his Almanac rocks. Like a Miscellany for the year. With the serious and the frivolous, the dramatic and the hilarious. I look forward to getting Schott's Almanac for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schott's Almanac 2006
Schott's Almanac 2006 by Ben Schott (Hardcover - 2006)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews