Customer Reviews


1,326 Reviews
5 star:
 (906)
4 star:
 (239)
3 star:
 (117)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastically thrilling book
I am 8 years old. I really love this thrilling book. Anyone aged eight and a half to thirty years who likes adventures should read it. It is full of magic and excitement. If you are worried about it being too scary, then don't - it has never given me nightmares. As soon as I got this book I could not wait to get started. I hope you enjoy it too.
Published on 5 Dec. 2010

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the weakest but still stronger than the opposition
I was disappointed at a first reading of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. Mainly because not a lot seemed to happen: the magical number of seven books had to be filled, but you got the feeling that this one had little raison d'etre. At the end of Phoenix everything seemed to be in place for a final showdown between Harry and Voldemort, but pretexts are found for...
Published on 3 Feb. 2009 by Caroline Galwey


‹ Previous | 1121 122 123133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts so well, end, oh well., 27 July 2005
Having found the fifth book badly written, with the first half over stretcher, and the second rushed, confusing and completely inappropriate for younger children, I did not have high hopes for this sixth book. However, I was happily proved wrong, considering this to be possibly the best book in the series, up until about 100 pages from the end.
The story itself is written well, flowing nicely, and with a couple of great surprises; I found this book difficult to put down. Then the end came. Not only does the book completely fall apart in terms of following the story (the general overall narrative is obvious, but there once again is confusion to the reader in at least the last few chapters), the actual story line becomes an absolute contradiction to all that has happened before.
Overall the book feels like it is merely a confused prelude to an all encompassing final story which considering the number of loose ends needing to be tied up could become a thousand word epic. This does however leave the reader feeling that maybe they have not been treated to a whole story here. This may well be a ploy by the author, leaving the ending open and thus her multitude of fans drooling at the prospect of book seven.
I hope that I can be proved wrong again by the seventh book, and by no means am saying that this book should not be read, but many I fear will be disappointed with how the story ends. I await the seventh book with bated, if not a mildly concerned breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 2 Aug. 2005
i cant beleive anyone could not love this book. its true that you get to know the characters more but i think thats a good thing. it would get really boring if jk just gave us loads of spells and no origional story.
the book was so cleverly written and i think harry needed to know about voldemort's past to kill him.
i loved it and cant wait for the next one - whether its in hogwarts or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry grows up!, 18 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The plot, characters and writing in the Half Blood Prince have definitely developed since we first met Harry: His adventures during his 6th year at Hogwarts neatly build on some of the ideas in the earlier books, & follow a similar framework. Great dramatic pace, JK Rowling's writing is to the usual high standard, with the ingenious teasers and red herrings that we have come to expect. A gripping read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing waste of time and money, 7 Aug. 2005
Before the hysteria begins, I like HP books. I wish the editor was brave enough to do their function for both JK's and the readers' benefit.
With every progression in this series after Azkaban, there are hundred of pages of filler and if you're lucky, the last fifty pages are very interesting.Goblet of Fire for example reads like a great counter -intelligence novel at the end.
In this book as in the other recent parts of the series, somebody is killed. This time, it really is somebody important and that character's death is a surprise but not a shock.
There are some interesting twists in the story but not enough to warrant the hype.Get it out the library and just read the last fifty pages. Even if you like reading for its sheer simple pleasure, this doorstep isn't worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Blood Prince, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
An absolutely rivetting read as we have come to expect lots of laughs, adventure, and sadness, cannot wait until the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST YET!!!, 24 July 2005
Great book! This is the best so far, I read it in a few days and funny enough I'm only 12 years old.
Really fascinating and as with every other book you learn more about the wizarding world and about some people (I won't spill the surprise). Truly smashing, I recommend it as a great read, don't know what you're missing.
So when is the next one coming out J.K?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just commercial junk, 21 July 2005
By 
Gunnar Kossatz "Samvado" (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rowling has definitely gone towards the commercial author who must write a contract work - inspired or not. In this case: NOT: lousy flat characters, often awfully stereotype (harry and ron and their interaction with girlfriends). Plus - guess what, the story goes on - keeps the bucks rolling too. Having been a fan from the start I decided this is my last Potter - and I could have done without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is bad bad bad bad bad, 24 July 2005
By A Customer
This book lacks any real storyline and is just a fad which i think is over rated. If u want to waste money then buy this book but you would be throwing ur money away when you could buy better things for example elektra on dvd well worth the money unlike this book. As for the ending i thought it was obvious that snape was the half blood prince and that dumbledore would die so save ur money for better things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 22 July 2005
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's a very sad point, but with all the great literally books and authors out in this world, this is a best seller.
The plot is weak, predictable and very badly written. The only use for this is as a fire lighter.
For all those childish adults out there - if you want to read a proper book that is fun, works on various levels and has good twists and turns; try Terry Prachett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mueh, its ok i guess, 17 July 2005
Having only read 2/3s of the way through the book. So far i am impressed but to such a huge extent that i would give it 4 stars. I think Rowling has lost her flair for writing. The only reason i bought this book was to fill in the missing parts of harry's life.
Read this if you have read the rest but its not amazing. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1121 122 123133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter 6): Adult audio cassette edition
Used & New from: £44.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews