Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!
A dark and powerful picture book for older children, Jane Ray's illustrations perfectly complement Carol Ann Duffy's beautiful prose. Duffy brings a fantastic lyricism to the language that is all too often lacking in children's books. The witch has "fierce red eyes like poisonous berries" and her touch "nipped like pepper". Children's literature is much richer for this...
Published on 4 Jan 2007 by jen,

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for faint hearted children
We borrowed this book from the library this morning and I have just read it to my soon to be 5 year old (unfortunately, as a bed time story). The language used is brilliant, but the story is a bit too scary, including a pretty detailed description of how the witch burns to death, and what she looks like while on fire. Ive seen this book rated in the 0-5 age group, but...
Published on 1 Dec 2007 by doodlebug


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Hardcover)
A dark and powerful picture book for older children, Jane Ray's illustrations perfectly complement Carol Ann Duffy's beautiful prose. Duffy brings a fantastic lyricism to the language that is all too often lacking in children's books. The witch has "fierce red eyes like poisonous berries" and her touch "nipped like pepper". Children's literature is much richer for this partnership - more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Happy Endings, 14 Mar 2008
By 
J. Tregenza "Jo" (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Hardcover)
We have used this book with more than 50 schools, the language is rich, the illustrations are inspiring and when you read to the point when she finds a golden pen the children cannot help but want to write. The beautiful descriptions help children to become lost in the world and their imagination takes them into the woods where Jub lives. They love to explore her home and how she lives. Children from age 5-11 have loved to listen to us telling the story and have become spell-bound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What are some of these people on?, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
I'm a school librarian, with a deep interest in P4C (Philosophy for Children) and was looking for books to add to the stimuli bank. This seemed a likely candidate, but I was a little wary due to some of the reviews. However, I thought I'd chance it for a little over [..].

Books such as these are designed to make the reader (including young children) think. (Why IS that bit written in a different font, for example?) No doubt the people who have such negative thoughts about this are the same sort who won't read "Not Now, Bernard" because it "is about a little boy who is eaten by a monster". If the parents can't or won't think, what chance do the children have?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Happy Endings, 14 Oct 2010
By 
S. Hankinson "The Pharaohs" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
The Lost Happy Endings

Carol Ann Duffy's book is an outstanding masterpiece with beautiful illustrations and packed with powerful similes. This is the story of a six-fingered magical girl, who is the guardian of all the happy endings. Unfortunately, the happy endings are stolen by a haggard, demonic witch. After this every child in the land experiences nightmares and begins to wet the bed!!! In our opinion, this book is suitable for ages 7+.

By The Detectives
St Mary's C of E Primary School
Cadishead
Salford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Story for youngsters, 29 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
The lost happy endings' is a magical book with beautiful illustrations, My son loved it and even my daughter who is 25 was entranced by the lovely images. A short and clever story supported by fabulous pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly one for book shelf!, 27 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
It's beautifully illustrated and a very interesting story.

Some reviewers recommend this for older children because it might be a bit scary at points I suppose. What I can say is that our 4 years old loves it, reads at bedtime and has never complained about it. It comes out time after time.

Thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for faint hearted children, 1 Dec 2007
By 
doodlebug (Belfast, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Hardcover)
We borrowed this book from the library this morning and I have just read it to my soon to be 5 year old (unfortunately, as a bed time story). The language used is brilliant, but the story is a bit too scary, including a pretty detailed description of how the witch burns to death, and what she looks like while on fire. Ive seen this book rated in the 0-5 age group, but entirely disagree and think it should be 7-9 and not for faint hearted children. I definately will not be buying this book. I am on here looking for a more cheery story by same author though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
I first saw this at a literacy curriculum training event for primary school governors and was very impressed by the engaging story telling together with its combination of imaginative language and illustration. I bought it for the school with two other Carol Ann Duffy illustrated children's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
I used this with my class and they loved it. Their imaginations soared and we even put our own happy endings on a tree in the woods. Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Happy Endings (Paperback)
This is a lovely story book. Used with Year 6 for creative writing and produced some wonderful results. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Happy Endings
The Lost Happy Endings by Carol Ann Duffy (Paperback - 7 July 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews