Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joy, 19 Jun 2006
By 
J. K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bedside Book of Birds: An Avian Miscellany (Hardcover)
This is a remarkable anthology for the bedside of a bird lover. Divided into 9 sections (or 'habitats,' as the author calls them), the book is filled with a huge selections of bird-related passages found in literature, poetry and folklore. Gibson is the perfect anthologist for the material; the selections included consistently show his admiration, affection, and mystification for the feathered creatures. The hardcover edition is beautiful, heavy, and full of beautiful illustrations. The edition has a magical quality. It is a joy to open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avian Miscellany., 4 Oct 2010
By 
I bought this lovely book for my boyfriend. Since I also like birds and very much enjoy folktales, I was delighted to open it to find not only plenty of myths and legends on our feathered friends, but beautiful illustrations to compliment the text. Everything from exotic birds to the more familiar are covered here with tales from many countries and cultures. A gorgeous 'coffee table book' for bird lovers and fans of folklore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 31 Jan 2010
What a wonderful interesting,hard to put down book,full of beautiful illustrations and well worded, a treasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bedside Book of Birds - An Avian Miscellany, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Purchased this for a bird crazy friend, he loves it, we had a brief flick through & was delighted with the contents.
There is a little bit of everything bird related including facts, myths, poems & beautiful illustrations.
A perfect gift, keepsake, coffee table or bedside book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as I hoped!, 14 Aug 2013
By 
M. Wootton (Bridgnorth, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bedside Book of Birds: An Avian Miscellany (Hardcover)
Not your usual Bird Book!
This is an endless collection of excerpts from all kinds of literature where all things Avian are referred to.
Totally absorbing. Wholeheartedly recommended to anyone with a passion for birds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully informatiive, 9 May 2013
By 
penny davies "the song" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real bedside "dipper" - full of fascinating information about birds, their habitat, and the ways we humans have affected both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Bedside Book of Birds: An Avian Miscellany (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, really nice book. You don't need to be super interested in birds to enjoy this book, get it, it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An avian fascination, 9 Feb 2011
If you are remotely interested in birds, this is a wonderful anthology. The book is beautifully presented, with marvellous reproductions of bird prints together with an an intriguing selection of literature from across the centuries. I found the extracts from the medieval Peterborough Bestiary particularly fascinating. The author is Canadian, and is married to the novelist Margaret Atwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bedside Book of Birds: An Avian Miscellany
The Bedside Book of Birds: An Avian Miscellany by Graeme Gibson (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews